We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pequot is a very nice place to stay on Martha's Vineyard.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pequot Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pequot Hotel to your Saves list
Pequot Hotel
19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pequot is a very nice place to stay on Martha's Vineyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have been here twice this year once in July then in October and I love every time I come here. First the location is good it is a block and half from the beach, it is walking distance from the ferry, it is a short walk to Circuit Ave., the tabernacle and the Gingerbread houses. It is affordable for the price you can't beat it. The rooms are clean. For breakfast they serve bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice, cereal with toppings for the oatmeal which is decent. In the afternoon during the summer they have cookies and iced tea in the lobby and in the fall they add the hot cider. I loved the front porch it was very relaxing you just relax with a book and a glass of wine. They even grow mint and spearmint to put in your drink/tea. This is cozy place the staff is very friendly and know the island very well. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    103
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
184
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this hotel for 3 nights, but it was advertised under B&B's so surprised a little when it turned out to be more a hotel than that what we were expecting. We were given a room up 3 flights of narrow steep steps and on the way up it looked in need of a refurbish, our hearts were sinking rapidly, the room was no better, but no television no phone no coffeemaker? Although we discovered there was 24 hour hot drinks a nd biscuits in reception. But that was 3 flights and a walk away! We looked for alternate accommodation on the Island, but for a friday and Saturday everything seemed to be full up. asked at reception for a change and they had just had a cancellation, moved to a lovely room on the ground floor (with television) and close to reception for amenities. Last 2 days were fine, and breakfast was adequate. But they really need to sort the annex out, very much in need of decoration and updating. The staff were excellent through out and a pleasant area, not too far from everything. If it was not for the first room, we would recommend this hotel. Hopefully it will be done this winter?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear bbflyer,

We're glad you asked! YES, we have improvements planned for the Pequot over the winter, as we do every winter.

In the Annex, that portion of the hotel directly across the front patio, improvements will include freshly painted walls and furniture as well as soundproofing. We have also replaced many windows. Last year, we updated the bathrooms and replaced the carpeting. At this time, we have no plans to add TVs to the Annex simply because so many guests THANK us for providing a choice to have no TV. Many guests choose the Annex specifically because they enjoy the simple "Vineyard Cottage " atmosphere (and because these rooms are our most economical).

Your note brings to mind the importance of CALLING, if possible, when making reservations. That way we can describe the various room options we have available. Believe me, when a guest is disappointed, even if it's just a "first impression",the entirety of Team Pequot is disappointed. We love nothing more than having all our guests be HAPPY.

We are so glad you ended up enjoying your stay, and if your travels ever bring you back to MV, we would love to see you again!

Warm regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Holiday
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was here with my daughter for two nights and it was a perfect place to stay. The hallways are painted with beautiful scenes from the Island. The rooms were painted as well and were clean. The breakfast is one of the best I've had for a bed and breakfast. Will definitely go back here again some day! Highly recommended. Jana Harrison

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Jana,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Pequot. It sounds like The Annex suited your needs well, and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it's traditional Vineyard Cottage charm. Many of our guests return annually and request The Annex specifically for just that reason!

I will pass on your compliments about breakfast to Nadir and Nicky. Both take great pride in preparing our expanded continental breakfast in the morning for the satisfaction of our guests. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our freshly baked muffins, steel cut oatmeal with all the toppings, hardboiled eggs, yogurt , assorted cereals, fruit and bagels and English muffins. (And heads up! Watch for some new additions next season.)
Hopefully we will see you back then!

With warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I spent six days at the Pequot Hotel and were thrilled with the accommodations. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful that we felt like they were family when we left. Our check-in and check-out went without a hitch. Our room was so comfortable and charming. The complimentary breakfast was a step above usual offerings with yummy homemade muffins every morning. When we returned to the hotel in the afternoon, there was complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and hot apple cider as well as homemade chocolate chip cookies and homemade ginger bread available. There is no restaurant on site but a wide choice of restaurants are within a block. We highly recommend a stay at the Pequot Hotel. You won't want to go home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chatham, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Pequot is a wonderful little gem on MV. Everything was cozy and clean. Lisa and her staff are very friendly and go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need - and then some! Thank you for the lovely experience, Lisa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Simoh-no,

Thank YOU for staying with us here at The Pequot! Just so happy you enjoyed yourself! Hope to see you right back here next season.

Warm regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pequot for four wonderful nights in early October. Lisa and her hard working staff made our stay an extremely enjoyable one. The room was very clean and well maintained. Having a small, room refrigerator was also a help. Each day, on our return from exploring the island, we were greeted with a beverage, warm chocolate chip cookies and a "welcome back!".
For me personally, the aroma of freshly brewed coffee wafting under my door in the morning was heavenly. I loved getting dressed, grabbing a cup and sitting in a rocking chair on the porch to watch the sunrise over Oak Bluffs. Lisa and her staff were very helpful in their suggestions for restaurants, directions and things to do.
We loved our stay, and look forward to getting back to that porch very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Crownvicnick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Pequot. I'm so pleased that you were able to enjoy relaxing moments rocking and enjoying life on the porch! I think our porch is one of the things that makes The Pequot unique...it enables guests to make new friends, renew old friendships, and enjoy yummy treats such as our freshly baked cookies and our seasonal gingerbread and cidar!

I'm pleased you were happy with the dining options we suggested, Oak Bluffs is fortunate to have a wide variety of cuisines in it's many great restaurants. Glad you took advantage of them. And heads up...many new ones slated to open next season! Hopefully we will see you then.

With warm regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is my second stay @ The Pequot Hotel, last Columbus Day 2011 I stayed with one other friend, we had so much fun we brought two more friends this year! The location is the best, just a short walk from the RI Fast Ferry. The annex rooms are great (just wish they had mini fridges)
The Continential breakfast are awsome, hard boiled eggs, cold and hot cereals, yogurts, fruits, breads, coffee,teas and juices. Afternoon teas with gingerbread, and chocolate cookies to die for. We didn't bring our car and used the Island bus ($15 for a 3 day pass), it took us everywhere we wanted to go...Menemsha, Aquinna, Vineyard Haven, Edgartown.
This is going to be a yearly trip for all of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pequot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pequot Hotel

Address: 19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pequot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pequot Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pequot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.