We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, convenient, pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dockside Inn to your Saves list
The Dockside Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Natal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great staff, convenient, pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Right on the harbor, walking distance to the Oak Bluffs beach, steps away from Nancys. The solarium with food all day long plus the beach gear room, where you can find everything you need for a relaxing day on the beach are definitely a plus. The best cost benefit in Oak Bluffs for sure!

Room Tip: I stayed on room 28 at the back of the building. Better price, silent, good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    57
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
167
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

John and his staff are welcoming and do all they can to help. The rooms are a good size, our bed was comfortable and it was nice having a table and chairs out on the deck. The inn is right opposite the best eating places and bars in oak bluffs and is just a few steps from the ferries. We took our car and the inn has about 6 parking spaces: when these are full they give a permit which enables the car to be placed over night along the ocean front. The car is useful if trying to visit the whole island quickly but the town bus in fact covers most of the island (except chappaquidick). A definite bonus is the provision of cool box, beach chairs, parasol and beach towels for guests. The breakfast room is open all day for complimentary coffee, muffins, ice creams and cold drinks. My wife spent her 60th birthday here and the staff arranged for a wonderful cake to be delivered to our room. John is a mine of information about the Martha's Vineyard and I would certainly recommend this as a good place tostay in oak bluffs. The Inn was totally redesigned 2 years ago and is a very good example of contemporary hotel design with some eye-catching wall coverings in the reception area and very nice furnishings throughout.

Room Tip: our corner room had nice view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a great experience at the dockside: the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the bed comfortable, the location was perfect for our pre- season vacation. Although not a bnb, a light breakfast of coffee, tea, yogurt, oatmeal and fresh donuts was provided daily as we're snacks throughout the day.

Room Tip: Upstairs end units have beautiful view of the harbor. Highly recommend a pre or post season stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Close to ferry dock, harbor, and all the shops and restaurants. Can't ask for more. Very clean and modern decor. Staff was very friendly. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and a "baby moon" and they gave us a bottle of sparkling cider. An unexpected treat! Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for warmth, hospitality and a terrific location, along with a great room, this is the place. Thoughtful amenities range from a beach gear room, fresh pastries, to a snack/coffee room. Staff and proprietor go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This Inn was great. Very clean and well maintained. We stayed in room 5 and it was a handicapped room and the bathroom was very clean and roomy. The place has a nice solarium with snacks at all times and free malted milk balls. I would highly recommend staying there and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Right outside of room 5 there is a place to grab towels for the beach, which is within walking dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the dockside inn in June 2014 for our honeymoon and we had no complaints. The room was clean and had a good view of the marina. The inn is in such a convenient location to shopping and food, but overall we loved the staff! They were all so nice and helpful . We are so happy we chose the dockside for our special trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dockside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 21 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Dockside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dockside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.