We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on Martha's Vineyard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dockside Inn to your Saves list
The Dockside Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Valley Cottage, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Martha's Vineyard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at several places on the Vineyard throughout the years and the Dockside was the best place so far.

The owner, John, and his staff were great, personable and very helpful.

The rooms were great, modern and didn't have that beach musty smell.

The extras you get are great! Coffee, cookies, ice cream, chips. Etc etc. and the beach chairs and coolers. What a great idea and a huge bonus for us.

Five stars!!!! For sure!!!! Will be back.

Ernie
New York

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    57
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
167
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in late April. Lovely area with a lot of walking opportunities. Our roon was very nice, queen bed, small bathroom. We never did get an internet connection on our laptop but our phones connected after a bit, The bed was fine, a little soft for old bones. They have a great area for for coffee and other sundries that is supposed to be open 7-10 but they were at least a half hour late opening our second day, Tough when you want coffee since that isn't in the room. They have limited parking spaces and we had to park two blocks away our second night. For what we had to pay in the off season, this really was a stretch. They did give our daughter, who was staying in the inn with us, a bottle of wine for a birthday present, which was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Overall, it sounds as if these guests had a pretty nice time with us, so their 3-circle rating has us confused. We thought the gift bottle of wine for the birthday daughter was a nice touch and we're glad that they mentioned it. Our wi-fi service was never unavailable while they were our guests and if they had ever made us aware of their difficulty we could certainly have helped them get connected. We did open up our coffee area (the Solarium) a little late on one of their mornings with us; no excuses for that. The morning front desk person arrived late for work. As for parking, we have six on-site parking spaces available on a first-come basis, and plenty of on-street parking all around our building. We always encourage our guests to leave their car on the mainland if at all possible. It is easy to get around Martha's Vineyard without a car, and on a busy weekend (they were with us on a Thursday through Saturday) parking can be scarce. These guests had two of our best water-view rooms and at $119 on Thursday and $129 on Friday they paid less than half what the same room would cost during the summer. They may not realize it but they got extremely good value at the Dockside Inn relative to the other hotels in town, and they enjoyed a very competitive early season rate. Our beds are all Serta Presidential Plush, which is a very good commercial grade mattress used by many of the best hotel brands in the country, and we rarely hear that a guest did not sleep well. However, there will of course be the occasional guest who is used to something firmer or softer at home, and I believe that most travelers would agree that that possibility is part and parcel of the travel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Cottage, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This inn is lovely. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff are welcoming and accommodating. We loved the little things they offered like the snacks in the pretty solarium and the beach chairs and coolers for beach excursions. We will go back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We came to Martha's Vineyard one cold spring weekend in April and enjoyed the quiet of the island, before the rush of the tourists. Dockside Inn was a wonderful home base, with a warm solarium with complimentary drinks and snacks throughout the day, which were a welcome treat. We also were pleasantly surprised by the hot tub in the garden, which provided a well appreciated warm outdoor activity. The inn provides daily recommendations on events going on in town, which are literally right around the corner -- great location by the water! The hosts provide great food recommendations and even offered us a ride in their Rolls Royce back to Vineyard Haven.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very relaxing location, yet convenient to everything. The rooms were very clean and fresh. The amenities were more than we could have thought to ask for. We stayed in the suite which overlooked the harbor. The suite was exactly like the photo on the web site! We will definitely come here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fantastic place. Very convenient location. Rooms are extremely clean. Good-quality linens and toiletries. There is a nice snack room open all day with free yogurt, cookies, ice cream, coffee, chips-- the kids loved it. They even have a beach room with free beach towels/coolers/chairs for guests to borrow. Downtown Oak Bluffs is only a block away. The property seems extremely well-run. Note that parking is tight in the neighborhood but the management does their best to find you a free parking spot. Also, like most hotels in the area, no elevator, so the upper floors would not be ideal for anyone with a physical disability. Don't hesitate, just stay here!

Room Tip: FYI that the suites are on the third floor and run the entire front-to-back length of the hotel. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was very impressed not only with the friendly staff but with the accomondations. You are greeted as soon as you enter the Inn and are brought for a tour of the surroundings. They offer complimentary drinks and food. I received a water bottle as a token of appreciation from them which I will enjoy. The room was very clean and well equipped. They are centrally located and walking distance to many areas.This was my first stay but will not be my last. I would highly recommend the Dockside Inn to all travelers!

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room which was located on the main floor level but outside at a corner. It had a pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dockside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 21 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Dockside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dockside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.