We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Dockside Inn to your Saves list
The Dockside Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights Oct 4 and 5 2013..
Everything was great.
Location - no more than 100 yards from the ferry terminals to Hyanis and Quonset so lugging heavy luggage was no problem and no transport (transfer) costs.
From the moment we arrived until the time we departed the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room (ground floor at rear) was not large but very adequate. The bathroom was large enough for us to store of large suit cases which left the bedroom free of luggage.
The serve yourself breakfast room was good and accessible 24 hours a day for that 'midnight' snack (yes even chocolate ball dispensers and coffee making).
Very close to many restaurants and also the main shopping street.
Will definitely stay here again if we travel to these parts (we are from Australia).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    57
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
66
166
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Having known John for a few years, it did not surprise me for one second how amazing The Dockside Inn has become. The staff and management are very accommodating, friendly, and attentive. The place is pristine and the location is unbeatable. We will definitely return as soon as we can! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

By far the best hotel on the island. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Loomis the virtual concierge is very helpful. The hotels location to all the sites is perfect and the harbor views are amazing. The hotel is a small walk to all the night life in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and wonderful staff. I would recommend to stay whenever you visit the area. Our family has already talked about coming back for the spring and this will be our place to stay. Nice view of the island and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a perfect space to park ourselves for a two-day visit to Martha's Vineyard. We did not have a car and never ventured out of the Oaks Bluffs area because the walking, dining and shopping were all easily-accessible and very satisfying. The Dockside Inn was charming and comfortable -- they had a nice outdoor hot tub and a wonderful snack room with brew-it-yourself coffees and yummy snacks for all hours of the day or evening. The two young ladies who staffed the front desk couldn't have been sweeter or more helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room facing the harbor -- you are on the end and have a bay window with a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with our toddler. Everything was above and beyond. Wonderful staff, great complimentary snack bar, beach equipment room loaded with towels, chairs, coolers, sand toys and the like. Bonus - our room's kitchenette had a huge bottle of Bacardi!! If we find ourselves back on the Vineyard, we'll be sure to stay at the Dockside!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having read the good reviews we were rather disappointed with this inn. The bathroom in our first room was sub standard: the basin was not correctly fixed onto its pedestal or to the wall which meant it moved whenever used and it leaked leaving the floor wet and dangerous. The toilet was not fixed to the floor so had moved from its original position. A light fitting in the room was also broken. Having pointed out the deficiencies we were moved to another room for our second night which was in better condition. However, we found both rooms very noisy due to the the design of the inn with all the rooms leading onto wooden decking with wooden stairs. Any movement on these could be clearly heard. We loved Martha's Vineyard and cannot wait to return but will not be booking into The Dockside Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We checked this room immediately after this guest requested a room change. The toilet had an almost imperceptible ability to wobble, which we remedied in 60 seconds by tightening the hold down bolts. The bathroom sink seemed to be perfectly secure, and the bathroom was otherwise spotlessly clean, as they always are. This room has been rented almost every night since we opened for the season in mid-April and we have not had a single previous guest complain to us about either the toilet or the sink. As noted by countless other Trip Advisor reviewers, the Dockside Inn is a really nice hotel operated very conscientiously by two great owners and a very caring staff. We all care ultimately about our guest's comfort and we strive to maintain our property to the highest standard.

As for the complaint about noise, I'm not sure what this guest expected but yes, there is a common outside hallway that runs along the front of all of our rooms on every floor just like in every hotel. This exterior hallway is not carpeted as it is an exterior walkway and it is exposed to the weather. Other guests who are walking along the walkway may be able to be heard from inside any particular guest room. This guest might have been more comfortable had they booked our room #35, which is a stand-alone room on the second floor of our carriage house. It has a private entrance and no adjoining walls or walkways to any other room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dockside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 21 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Expedia so you can book your The Dockside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dockside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.