We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dockside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dockside Inn
Save Saved
You added The Dockside Inn to your Saves list
9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Pinehurst, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“our visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a lovely Inn!!! Only negative is not handicap accesible. Nice little breakfast area/lounge in back. GREAT downtown location. Staff very courteous and supply "list" of things to do. Walk to beach. Oldest carousel around corner and many restaurants closeby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    56
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
66
162
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this delightful hotel on the waterfront. Very well appointed and a comfortable bed and pillows. They provide complimentary breakfast, but adding toast and cereals would be a nice touch.

Room Tip: We had a water front view and it was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the boat activity any ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We really value this guest's comments and we're glad that they found so many things to appreciate about the Dockside Inn; 5 full circles on all 6 categories! It doesn't get better than that. We would like to add just a note of clarification to this review, however. We have a large and very sunny lounging room that we refer to as The Solarium that is always stocked with lots of free goodies: two Keurig coffee machines, apples, bananas, oranges, granola bars, chips, pretzels, ice cream sandwiches and popsicles, yogurt, oatmeal, and a free gumball and malted milk ball machine. And yes, we put out some cut up pastries in the morning. However, we never advertise this as "breakfast" nor "continental breakfast" and we take pains to never call ourselves a "Bed and Breakfast", We know that some guests arrive unaware that we do not offer breakfast, and fortunately for us we many restaurants, including three terrific breakfast restaurants, within a block or two of the Dockside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The service was excellent and the location was extremely convenient. We took the 10:30AM ferry from Falmouth, and left our car on the main land. The ferry docked just a few hundred yards from the Inn. We were able to leave our bags at the Inn and explore the city even though check-in time was not until mid-afternoon. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. They gave us several great dining recommendations, all of which we very good. They have free snacks, but their free breakfast was less we were looking for, so we went to Linda Jean's both mornings. There is an outdoor hot tub in the rear and one evening there were some extremely loud talking guests that were a bit annoying, but the tub closes at 10PM so no sleep was lost. We chose a room in the rear because some reviews noted noise from the street out front. I suppose in a resort area you're going to get a certain amount of noise regardless of room location. The Inn is within walking distance of most of the better restaurants in Oak Bluffs. We walked everywhere or took the island bus and had no difficultly seeing everything we wanted to see on Martha Vineyard. I enjoyed the stay at Dockside and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rear on the second floor and these seemed like the best choice for minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We really value this guest's comments and we're glad that they found so many things to appreciate about the Dockside Inn; 5 full circles on 5 of 6 categories! It doesn't get much better than that. We would like to add just a note of clarification to this review, however. We have a large and very sunny lounging room that we refer to as The Solarium that is always stocked with lots of free goodies: two Keurig coffee machines, apples, bananas, oranges, granola bars, chips, pretzels, ice cream sandwiches and popsicles, yogurt, oatmeal, and a free gumball and malted milk ball machine. And yes, we put out some cut up pastries in the morning. However, we never advertise this as "breakfast", nor "continental breakfast", and we take pains to never call ourselves a "Bed and Breakfast", We know that some guests arrive unaware that we do not offer breakfast, and fortunately for us we have many restaurants, including three terrific breakfast restaurants, within just a block or two of the Dockside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Dockside in late September 2013. Everything about the hotel was great. It is a smaller more intimate place so the guests get plenty of attention. The room was comfortable with a nice view of the harbor. Outside our room was the front porch with comfy rockers and a great view. There is a refreshment room filled with snacks and drink at no charge. Every recommendation the front desk gave me was terrific. It's a great and convenient place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

my husband and i stayed for an overnight at the dockside.. the accommodations were very clean and well presented... the staff was friendly and very helpful with suggestions..location can't be beat as it is right on the dock with a front porch that has rockers to relax on.. the tea/coffee room was well stocked and the continental breakfast more than enough to start the day.. would definitely recommend...

Room Tip: a room in the front overlooking the harbor is perfect... with chairs to enjoy the view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We really value this guest's comments and we're glad that they found so many things to appreciate about the Dockside Inn; 5 full circles on all 6 categories! It doesn't get better than that. We would like to add just a note of clarification to this review, however. We have a large and very sunny lounging room that we refer to as The Solarium that is always stocked with lots of free goodies: two Keurig coffee machines, apples, bananas, oranges, granola bars, chips, pretzels, ice cream sandwiches and popsicles, yogurt, oatmeal, and a free gumball and malted milk ball machine. And yes, we put out some cut up pastries in the morning. However, we never advertise this as "breakfast", nor "continental breakfast", and we take pains to never call ourselves a "Bed and Breakfast", We know that some guests arrive unaware that we do not offer breakfast and fortunately for us we have many restaurants, including three terrific breakfast restaurants, within just a block or two of the Dockside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The location is good, being at the end of town, yet very convenient to everything. Walk one block and you're at the ocean. The inn was recently renovated and is very clean. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. From early morning to 10PM you can help yourself to fruit, yogurt, fresh coffee, popcorn, freshly baked cookies, etc. We went in Sept., when the crowds clear off the island and the rates are very reasonable. This is an inn we would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We liked having a corner room on the first floor. We had access to chairs on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 4 days in this cosy and very friendly place. Its location is very convenient - everything is just 2 steps away. The rooms were clean and the 'all day' coffee bar is a fairly unique and wonderful idea. There is everything necessary for a beach, touring and an extremely pleasant holiday.
We will certainly consider returning both to MV and The Dockside Inn.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 21 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dockside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.