We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isabelle's Beach House

Save Saved
You added Isabelle's Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isabelle's Beach House
83 Seaview Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We just got back from staying at Isabelle's for my birthday and it was everything we hoped for. Clean, comfortable, beach themed rooms. Great front porch for enjoying the ocean and beach right across the street. They had beach towels and chairs available for us to enjoy the beach with. Waffles and chocolate cookies were awesome! Isabelle and her staff are eager to help with any questions you may have. Only thing they cannot help with is the weather - if only they could! Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
134
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This place was great & staff were very kind & helpful! Clean, affordable & we especially liked the quick, beautiful drive into Edgartown right along Seaview where the house was located. Stunning sunsets, waterfront homes & liked that u can walk or park your car at different points. Oak Bluffs Park & town r close & are also a must see! Great breakfast & good restaurants but ask before trying bc pricey! Upon arrival, I forgot my iphone charger 4 my phone 2 help us navigate. Isabelle was kind enough 2 allow me 2 borrow hers vs buying a brand new 1! Nice surprise & very accommodating! Thanks! STAY HERE! :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Friendly hosts and a comfortable B&B, convenient to restaurants, shopping, attractions and bus transportation, great views of the water.
Isabelle personally serves a wonderful breakfast each morning and bakes fresh cookies every afternoon.
We enjoyed our stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We decided at the spur of the moment to head to Martha's Vineyard for our anniversary this past October. Isabelle's seemed like a good B&B so we booked a room and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The setting was beautiful, with an expansive porch overlooking the ocean, and our room also overlooked the ocean as well. Isabelle herself was delightful and the breakfast was great! It was very easy to walk into Oak Bluffs from there. I guess we were there during the normal off-season for Martha's Vineyard but we were very glad that Isabelle's was open and available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked a night at Isabelle's after reading great reviews on tripadvisor. It did not disappoint. Friendly service, clean and comfortable with a stunning setting. We were able to stroll into Oaks Bluff for dinner and drinks and then watched the sun come up. Breakfast was wonderful and our stay here was the highlight of our holiday. Perfect for a relaxing night or three!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My friend and I stayed in the twin room, with a side sea view in mid March 2014. With it being off-season, we pretty much had the entire place to ourselves, and at times, it felt like the entire island to ourselves - but I digress...

Firstly, the view from the porch is wonderful - the wide expanse of sea ahead of you (across the road) was beautiful and incredibly relaxing. The entrance into the dining area and living space is welcoming, and due to the weather, there was a roaring fire to welcome us. The whole house seems incredibly well designed - lovely pictures and objects adorn the surfaces. Isabelle herself was very welcoming with cookies and muffins and a wonderful breakfast, and fantastic advice and sites for us to go and see.

Alas, we had to cut our trip short due to a storm coming in that would have prevented us from leaving the following day - but our one night was wonderful and I cant wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabellesBeachHouse, Owner at Isabelle's Beach House, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank You, Melanie. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. So sorry the snow storm cut your stay short...Hopefully you can come back and visit again soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

For 11 years I've been going to MV on St Patty's day weekend to play in a discgolf tournament. Many of us have stayed in the past at the hotel that is open all year in Oak Bluffs. It was a decent place to stay but we've had some challenges there in the past. I believe there are only 3 places open all year round on the Vineyard. One thing it was lacking at the hotel was a common place for us to socialize in.

This year we stumbled upon Isabelle's Beach house. We rented out the entire place. Without a doubt we will be back. For less money you get a nicer room (it is smaller), breakfast each morning and a common area for all of us to eat and socialize. You walk out the front door to a porch that faces directly East and has only the road between you and the beach. On Sunday morning, I watched the sun come over the horizon from one of the many chairs provided. It's still within walking distance to all the main stores and restaurants in Oak Bluffs. At most it's a little over a quarter mile.

Most importantly, what you get here is Isabelle!! She cares!! She wants to be sure you have a good time and want to come back. Can things go wrong in the hospitality business? Yes they can, and many times they do. Isabelle and her staff were OVERLY apologetic to even the smallest issue like running out of Strawberries during off season for waffles. Big Deal,.I'll have blueberries. We told her that everybody had to leave around 8:15 on Saturday and 8:00AM would be too late for breakfast what did she do? She offered to come in at 7:30 instead. We had an engagement on the boat on the way over. Isabelle was right there with the champagne. Yup she cares!!

If you want total peace and quiet then know what you are coming into and go somewhere else. I read some reviews complaining about the fact it not quiet enough in the rooms. This is not the Ritz Carlton. This is a 100 year old house with small close together rooms. Most reviews seem like they really enjoyed it. For us,..we couldn't say enough nice things about it. Only thing missing was we left on Sunday when Isabelle was gone so we couldn't say goodbye! Be ready for us Isabelle,..we are coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabellesBeachHouse, Owner at Isabelle's Beach House, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I just wanted to say thank you for your lovely comment. I am very happy you and your group enjoyed your stay. Thank you for teaching me about Disc Golf.....I already have your rooms reserved for you for 2015!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isabelle's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabelle's Beach House

Address: 83 Seaview Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Isabelle's Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabelle`s Beach House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Isabelle's Beach House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabelle's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.