We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for Smith (w/ a car or bike); plain motel; good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Conz Street, Northampton, MA 01060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Northampton
san francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good location for Smith (w/ a car or bike); plain motel; good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I got a low-season deal for just $60 per night, and feel I received exactly what I paid for.

Room was clean, but a bit musty from years of poor ventilation. Basic cheap motel amenities; perhaps a bit more choice for hot breakfast than usual at such a price point.

Very friendly staff throughout the hotel.

I'll stay again when visiting Smith, which is just down the road 1 mile -- if I come alone. If with my wife, I'll choose a more romantic location at one of the quaint area B&Bs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA181, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear c1scottc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that we were unable to exceed your expectations. If you do decide to stay with us again, please contact me directly the next time you are in the area. I would like the opportunity to personally assist you with your accomidations.

Thank You,
Nicole Zavecz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    34
    18
    12
See reviews for
58
34
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beltsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Big, well-furnished rooms, but the whole building and the rooms are showing their age, with lots of wear and tear. Reasonably clean. Beds are comfortable and it's nice having the sink and vanity area separate from the toilet and tub/shower in its own room. Decently large selection of hot and cold entries for breakfast. In-room amenities like refrigerator and microwave and large-screen TV, but free Wi-Fi is a joke. Couldn't get the Wi-Fi to connect to my laptop with a valid IP address for any of the 4 nights we were in our room, despite a long time on the phone with tech support and repeated pleas with front desk staff to do something to fix it. Could connect from lobby area, but not from the room. They did at least reduce our bill for the trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA181, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear hbavguy,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear we were not able to exceed your expectations. I would like to take this opportunity to say we take all guest comments very seriously and have passed along your comments in regard to the internet so we can hopefully get the problem resolved.

Sincerely,
Shane Mcguire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I hesitate to post this because the woman at the front desk was so nice and helpful. And the service at breakfast was outstanding. So the people were great. But the room was disappointing at the price---more like an old red roof inn. The worst part was how damp the room was. Everything was moist and it never dried out. I don't know if the air conditioner wasn't working (it was cooler weather so we didn't need it much) or what. (We got home and unpacked and our clothes were still damp!) Also, the toilet kept running. It's just an old place--I agree with previous guests that a makeover is sorely needed. The bed was comfortable, though. That was good. :-)

Room Tip: Not sure--maybe refer to this review. Maybe it was just this one room that had the "damp"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent one night here and have no complaints. The room was spacious and the 2 x queen beds comfortable. The rooms and reception and breakfast areas were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of power points and usb connectors which was great to find. There is also a printer on offer at reception if needed. Rooms are equipped with a fridge and a microwave; there is an ice machine and a laundry as well. There is also a charity bin on site which I always find difficult to find when travelling (being the sort of person who always finds the need to replace clothes as I go!!).
Breakfast was sufficient and better than a lot of other places. We had no trouble securing a table and the breakfast supplies kept being replenished.
There is no highway noise, so a good night's sleep is ensured.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA181, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear DiR46,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear when a guest enjoys our accommodations. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area!

Sincerely,
Shane McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for just one night and were very pleased with our room. Although we wre right next to thevending and ice machines, we did not hear anything through the wall. It was relatively quiet and the room was very clean. We attempted to go to breakfast in the morning, at about 8:00 a.m. The place was packed! Not eanough seating for all the guests who were trying to eat. The food trays were empty and it didn't look like they were going to be refilled any time soon. We decided to go out for breakfast and pass on the offerings at the hotel.

Room Tip: They have both inside rooms and ones exiting to the outside. Choose an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA181, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Garen-Shub,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, though I apologize you did not have the opportunity to take advantage of the breakfast we offer. I will be passing along your comments to our staff so we can improve on our service for breakfast. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Shane McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Aug 16, 2013 we stayed 2 nights with one daughter to attend graduation of other daughter at Smith. This was our first here and turned out to be as good as a Hampton Inn in terms of the beds, linens, bathroom fixtures, shower etc and breakfast. In fact it is a motel version of a Hampton Inn Hotel. It is convenient for parking, distance to the campus and eateries. It is by itself so you have to drive to eat but this is a lot cheaper than the intown hotel. The staff are terrific, eager to be helpful and well trained. No highway noise but it is very near route 91 (2 tenths of a mile).

Room Tip: First floor rooms have parking right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA181, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear WoodsHoleJim,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy to read your comments. I is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay pleasant. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Shane McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

At this hotel I felt like staying in a motel, where you park right in front of the room doors and people walk past your room window. This was kind of disappointing considering the rates of this hotel. Well, the room I had (on the second floor) was a bit run-down and felt like it needs some renovation somehow. The coffee machine wasn't working after I checked in which fit into this picture, but that was taken care of the next day while I was not there. The swimming pool is really a joke. One stroke and you're through. The same goes for the "fitness room". I think these are just alibis so that the hotel can say "we have a pool and fitness room". Both are way too small to be really useful and the three (or was it four?) fitness devices were totally outdated and not good. When I saw this I thought that this money should rather have been spent to beautify the rooms. Breakfast on the other hand was really good, with a modest selection of food, and staff was very friendly and welcoming. All in all however, also in light of the rates of this hotel and the feeling that I had just checked in a motel on the road, I found this hotel only average. For one or two nights it is OK but I didn't want to stay longer and actually moved to a different hotel in Amherst. I was here on leisure to visit different places in the area. Had lived here 20 years ago.

Room Tip: Maybe the "Suites" are better and you can feel more like in a hotel and not like in a run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 117 Conz Street, Northampton, MA 01060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites of Northampton, where your comfort is our top priority.The Quality Inn & Suites™ hotel is conveniently located in Northampton's arts and entertainment district. Smith College is less than one mile away, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst (UMass Amherst), Hampshire College and Amherst College are all less than 10 minutes from us. With a short walk to downtown Northampton you will find a wide variety of locally owned and operated restaurants and eclectic shops. Our recently upgraded property offers a wide variety of amenities to please both leisure and business travelers. All registered guests have access to our Indoor Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center, Complimentary Wireless Internet and a delicious Hot Breakfast including Eggs, Sausage, Bacon and Waffles! In addition all of our rooms are equipped with microwave and refrigerators, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards and flat screen televisions. Some of our rooms are also equipped with fireplaces, 2 bathrooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Northampton
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Northampton
Best Western Northampton
Northampton Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.