We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to finally try it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Restaurant

Jake's Restaurant
17 King Streeet, Northampton, MA 01060
413-584-9613
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in Northampton
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Amherst, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Glad to finally try it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We live in the area and like going out to breakfast. This is what liked about Jake's. Coffee refills came often. Coffee was really good. The cornbread on the Rancheros were dense, creamy, specked with jalopenos. With the beans on the bottom and the eggs on the top every mouthful was good, especially with a little extra hot sauce. The "hashbrowns are more like pan roasted potatoes, so they were crispy, but not greasy.

The menu is very flexible with many side selections and omlet filling choices. For a little extra you can get real maple syrup and local fresh eggs. They have a :hash of the day: and I think they also have an "eggs benedict of the day."

I like the idea of going to this place that have the atmosphere of the 30's Depression era and eat really good food prepared with imagination and care.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off the highway on a trip to Boston. (Northampton is a short trip up I-91.) Service was superb, food was excellent, the prices were moderate, and we will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Well, everybody is thrilled that Jake's has re-opened. Try the homemade sausage, omelets, sandwiches. It's always good.

A new plus is opening for dinner on nights that there's a show at the Calvin, next door.

You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Interesting menu, good value , friendly staff,convenient location.

Something for everyone.
Serving breakfast and lunch. Dinner on nights there is a show next door at The Calvin.
Average breakfast or lunch price ,$10-13

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts and the best homefries ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We’ve traveled the I-91 so many times, but had never driven into the heart of Northampton, MA. What a gorgeous New England town! Right downtown, almost across the street from the historic Hotel Northampton, is the gem of a restaurant called Jakes. We dropped in for a late breakfast/lunch, and were greeted with a smile, had our choice of tables and had our coffee/tea in hand before we could open a menu. The nicest thing is that my tea came with an extra pot of hot water ready and waiting – and I didn’t even have to ask!

Luckily we came early – just before the lunch crowd arrived! The restaurant filled up quickly, but the kitchen seemed to keep up with the orders. Our meals – we opted for breakfast – the Downtown: an omelette with caramelized onions, mushrooms, bacon and cheddar cheese, and the Coolidge: an omelette with tomatoes, kale, roasted garlic and goat cheese arrived in no time. They both came with a side of toast and the yummiest homefries we’ve ever had (still can’t find an equal!) They were herbed and browned to perfection!

All the staff is very friendly and took the time to answer questions. One of them was: are you open for dinner? The answer is yes IF there is a show scheduled for the theatre (Calvin) next door. Otherwise the restaurant is open every day from 7 AM to 3 PM. ...And their meals are very reasonably priced.

Next time we’ll stop there to try their lunches! And…with fall approaching… it’s a great place to drop in for a bite while roaming around enjoying the gorgeous autumn hues of New England. Recommend it highly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Restaurant also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Jake's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.