We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Japanese Restaurant

Osaka Japanese Restaurant
7 Old South St, Ste 401, Northampton, MA 01060-3834
413-587-9548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 126 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dover, NH
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went here while visiting my Sister for the weekend and thought the food was very good. Nice little place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best rolls in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love rolls. And since I discovered this place I love Osaka too. One comment for all: fish quality and freshness is exceptional. Staff is friendly and sushi masters very skilled. I've been there probably 15-20 times since I moved here and I've never been disappointed. I tried Hibachi once and it is also superb. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best sushi I have ever had. We went on a Saturday and the place was crowed with maybe a 45 minute wait. Lucky we called the day before and made a reservation and waited maybe ten minutes. We had sushi appetizers, wife and I each had shrimp pineapple fired rice served in half of pineapple and my daughter had more sushi. L

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good quality food with excellent services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The combination of hibachi tables and a balcony made this a unique downtown place for a nice dinner, and a great lunch place for that matter. The menu is quite complete for a restaurant, especially in such a small town, only complaint would be the lack of a proper unaju don in its proper box, but the fusion chilean sea bass dish made up for that. Ask them to cook the chilean sea bass in their original way though, with soy based sauce, as the changed the way it was cooked recently and become too sweet.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“best sushi in Northampton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Osaka's sushi is consistently fresh and creative. They have a classic sushi menu but their fusion rolls are to die for. They also have an extensive menu with of rice and noodle bowls and a hibachi grill tons of meat and cooked fish dishes. There really is something for everything, a fantastic option if you're dining out with vegetarians or sushi-haters.

Osaka is pricier than the other sushi places but it's worth it for a nice night out. The lunch deals are also more affordable.

Last time I was there I tried the American Tango roll. It sounded kind of crazy but it was *heavenly* and the presentation was gorgeous. It's a pan seared tuna roll with goat cheese, avocado, cucumber, topped wtih shitaki mushroom tempura, with a strawberry balsamic sauce.

I just found out they have a branch in Brookline too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Osaka Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.