We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Webster"s Fish Hook Restaurant

Webster"s Fish Hook Restaurant
391 Damon Rd., Northampton, MA 01060
413-586-3190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 127 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Salad bar was very limited and not fresh. Quality seems to have decreased compared to previous visits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athol, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“my new favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This just might be my new favorite seafood place. That is without driving to the ocean. I went there on a recomendation found here at Trip Advisor. We had the lunch platters. Mine was fried whole clams with the roasted potatos and slaw. The food was excellent. The place seemed clean and the prices were very reasonable ($23 for two). Considerably higher though for the dinner menu. The only slight drawback is that it is self serve. My mom had the fried bay scallop and shrimp combo and she liked it very much. The parking is easy and the ladies room was clean and neat. What more could you ask for. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Almost like being on the Cape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband wanted a lobster for his birthday, and we didn't want a lot of fuss,so we thought we'd go to the Fish Hook. It was a winter Tuesday evening and I wasn't really sure if things would be up to their summer standards. When I realized we were one of only three tables, i thought "uh oh."

Shouldn't have worried.

The lobster was great; I had grilled shrimp scallops and chicken Cajun style.
The main dishes were great: They do seafood.

BUT: the sides?

What a treat! My husband had roasted potatoes and they were roasted [ you'd be surprised how many places microwave them]. Small round, in the skin and so tasty we actually put 2 of them in the doggy bag to take home and eat later. The coleslaw was fresh and had a hint of horseradish, even the fries were wonderful.

They've redone the booths and now use real plates and silverware, but they haven't lost that casual, coming in from a hard day at the beach feel. Difficult to pull off as they are on a very busy corner just outside Northampton.

Good simple food, well prepared, casual comfortable atmosphere.

Go. Pretend it's summer on the Cape.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh fish fast...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Websters has been a staple in Northampton for decades. Known to locals as a fresh fish fast restaurant, their menu hasnt changed for ever. Decor and layout is old. Food is so ewhat pricy for the style of reataurant, but the taste and portions of the food more then make up for the downfalls. Do i recommend this restaurant right off of exit 18 on RT91? You bet cha. Next door to the tail trail for biking, ice cream in the summer...country garden center. Lots to do in a short amount of time...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, MA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Craved good fish and stopped for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were hungry and wanted seafood for lunch. I got the baked stuffed cod, salad bar and roasted potatoes. Fish was good. Stuffing part was ok, very buttery. Potatoes were good. Salad bar was fresh and cucumber in dill dressing was really good. Macaroni salad was good. Veggies for the green salad were all very fresh and delish. Good choices for dressings for your salad. Hubs had the catfish. It was good. Clam chowder was thick and creamy. Definitely left full and happy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Webster"s Fish Hook Restaurant also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Webster"s Fish Hook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Webster"s Fish Hook Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.