We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Maple Trailside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Maple Trailside Inn
62 Chestnut Street, Northampton, MA 01062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This B&B is right next to the first "Rails-to-Trails" path in Massachusetts; the host also works to promote "Rails-to-Trails" development around the US. My room was comfortable, clean and cozy, the breakfast was great, and I could have talked to the hosts all day long! I was only able to stay one night, but I'm looking forward to my next visit, and plan to bring my bike to enjoy cycling opportunities in Northampton. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The location is perfect if you come to bike. The room was very small and the bathroom needs a thorough cleaning, perhaps a renovations in the shower. Lighting is quite poor up to the second floor, as you cannot turn on a light from the bottom to the top floor. Not really the type of house for a b and b, as one needs to walk through the family room and dining room every time you enter or depart. One of the hosts could not read cues that we simply were not interested in all the intimate details he was willing to share. Breakfasts were perfunctory. If you are a biker, this space in right on the trail. Given the modest accommodations, the price should be significantly reduced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
railtrail, Owner at Sugar Maple Trailside Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I’m sorry you were disappointed. The floor plan for the house is prominently displayed on the website and the light switches for the staircase are do glow in the dark as an indicator that they are there. We’ll be upgrading though to an automatic sensor system to come on when people are present. Once again, sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

While the room was fine (if a trifle "cozy"), we were disappointed in the lack of anything resembling the usual B&B services and amenities. When we returned from a day in Northampton, the hosts were in their living room awaiting the delivery of the pizza they had ordered for dinner; meanwhile our bed had not been made, and the wet towels had not been removed. There was no shampoo. The bathroom was tiny; barely enough room to move around. The host talked about himself too much, and barely asked about our reasons for visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

In the past, I've been disappointed to book a stay at a hospitable-sounding B&B lovingly created by a fascinating individual or couple--only to arrive and discover that individual or couple is rarely (or never) on the premises. Imagine you are invited for a weekend at the White House, only to arrive and learn that the First Family is off at Camp David. It's nice, but... something's missing.

Such is not the case at the Sugar Maple Trailside Inn. Craig and Kathy (you'll soon be on a first-name basis, too) are the Inn and the Inn is Craig and Kathy. With only two guest rooms, a stay at the Inn feels much more like visiting your friends, Craig and Kathy, in their home. Make sure you get them to relate the history of the house and it's restoration. Kathy combines the renovator's vision with the innkeeper's charm. Craig is a font of information on the history of the house; of Florence, Mass (who knew?); of local railroads; and of the conversion of abandoned railroads into bike/ped trails all over New England. If you're into biking, Craig can give you some great suggestions for your next trip.

My wife and I have stayed here on several occasions, in different seasons, over the years and find it a perfect "base camp" for accessing the Pioneer Valley's combination of recreation, culture, dining and history. After tanking up on Kathy's breakfast, we grab our bikes or our boots and explore the ever-expanding network of bike/ped trails in the region. (It's all of 8 feet from the Inn to the trail.) If it rains, there's always some museum, performance or event at one of the nearby Five Colleges to substitute pedagogy for pedaling.

Late afternoon finds us relaxing back at the Inn. In the summer, we gravitate toward the patio; in the fall, to the sun porch; and at night or in the winter to the cozy living room.

While the gustatory charms of Northampton are a scant two miles away and Amherst is not much farther, try to have at least one meal at the nearby (two blocks) Miss Florence Diner. "Miss Flo's" as she is known, is a classic institution that has been slingin' hash at the same location for decades. (Don't miss the pies.)

Now, a couple of caveats: the Inn was built as a house in the 1850s and reflects the smaller scale of that era. As other reviewers have noted, the guest rooms are not huge. One person's "cozy" could well be another person's "cramped." Since my wife and I do little more than sleep and shower in the guest rooms, it's never been an issue for us. Second, since Smith College is quite close, the Inn is often sold out. If your stay is in conjunction with some event at Smith, book well in advance.

  • Liked — Craig and Cathy, Location, History
  • Disliked — No full breakfast (but a good one at Miss Flo's is 2 blocks away).
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

The bedrooms are really small. The queen bed has a mattress pad that has a plastic backing. I took it off because of the noise it made and discovered it was not very clean and had hair all over it. Bad lighting in Queen bedrom. The baths were redone in 2001 but have a very unclean feeling in stall shower. The bathroom rug hadn't been washed in a while.
The owner Craig is overbearing and actually took my bagel from my plate to cut it and place it in the toaster. I don't like people touching my food. He talks too much.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable pillows and dirty bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2004

My Partner and son stayed here and the hospitality was great as well as the bike trail. I highly recommend it for a local getaway. Craig and Kathleen are great hosts and you can ride on nostalgic style bikes if you prefer. The surroundings are beautiful and quiet. Enjoy and tell them Wayne, Carol & Sammy sent you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Maple Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Maple Trailside Inn

Address: 62 Chestnut Street, Northampton, MA 01062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Maple Trailside Inn, a bed and breakfast near Smith College approximately 2 miles west of downtown Northampton. Renovated to offer modern comforts, our two air-conditioned guest rooms feature, private bathrooms with showers, quiet surroundings, antique furnishings, large closets, and pleasant views of the adjacent bike path. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Maple Trailside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sugar Maple Trailside Inn to your Saves list