We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Autumn Inn to your Saves list
Autumn Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   259 Elm Street, Northampton, MA 01060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Northampton B&B and Inns
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Autumn Inn the first weekend in October, 2013, for a wedding. We arrived early and couldn't check in, which we assumed would be the case. We were able to have some coffee and breakfast in their cozy dining area, which enabled us to meet up with friends that had already arrived. Upon returning from sightseeing, we checked into the room, which was cozy, clean and yes, a little dated, but it was very nice. We had many events planned for the weekend and weren't in our rooms all that much, but enjoyed our stay along with the lovely breakfast provided. This place has a lovely, homey feel to it. We had no wifi problems at all during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
34
25
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

i am reliant on internet access. During a business trip, staying here, the wifi was great for the first two days, fast and functional. Arriving back on the third day, the wireless interenet access, provided by a company called BluePort, was unfunctional. I got new logins, called tech support and the front desk, and no joy. Finally ended up using my phone as access point. In my view, if you advertise free wifi, you should provide it, or be willing to refund customers some portion of the room price (which was dismissed without even considering, as if it were ridiculous of me to even ask). Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We get to Northampton often and the Inn is near our Granddaughter's house. It is convenient, neat , clean and a very decent place to spend a night or two. They service abreakfast as well included in the charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Autumn Inn was a very clean and comfortable place to stay while visiting Northampton. Close to our destination, (the Calvin Theater). Also there are plenty of restaurant's within walking distance. Also plenty of shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in Northamptopn, MA. We booked it because some of the more well known "brand-name" places on the highway in Hadley were booked out for an athletic event more than a month ahead of our visit.

We had a 1 bedroom suite which was large, even for 2 parents, 2 teenagers, and grandma. In the living area, in addition to the fold-out couch there was an arm chair and a rocking chair.

It's a little old fashioned, we took photos of our room keys, because it was the first time in over a decade we had room keys that were physical, actual keys, rather than key-cards.

Wifi services were limited to 3 devices per room.

The kitchinette was adequate, but hand-wash only (no dishwaher). The bathroom was also OK. House-keeping also fine, giving us extra towels as we asked for, but the cups in the room were styrofoam. The kitchenware (plates, etc.) minimal - but better than some other places we have stayed on this trip.

The pool and its area are lovely & peaceful, with some good shade from trees nearby, so even in 90+ F temperatures, the water was refreshing.

There are no laundry facilties, so we drove to a laundromat on Pleasant St, downtown.

The breakfast was OK: cereal, toast, muffins, boiled eggs & a waffle station - but my son was disappointed by no bacon, sausage, or ham at breakfast.

We enjoyed our stay & if we return to the Northampton area, I will try and get my family to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, our room was massive and kept nice and clean by the maids! There was a lovely pool too which we used that was great as it was so hot! The breakfast was good too, a good selection of cereals, cakes, muffins, toasts, juices, eggs, teas, coffee and a waffle station! Yum! The inn also has a lovely New England charm to it and the staff were so friendly and helpful! We didn't do this but there is a rent a bike service too which is a great idea, there's a lovely path over the river that connects Amherst to Northampton! The room was well air conditioned, however it did have an air scent added in to it, that was a little over powering when we first walked in our room, we hasn't experienced this kind of air scent added to air containing before. But we kept the air con on and soon got used to it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in town for a wedding, which was wonderful! The area was experiencing higher than normal temperatures for June (around 95 degrees) and we were looking forward to enjoying the pool. Unfortunately, they were having some sort of problem (got three different explanations from three different staff members) and the pool had no water and was out of order. Disappointment No. 1: No Pool. After breakfast, we decided to sit outside for a while on the wrought iron chairs provided; but staff asked us to relocate because those were only for the people in the room directly adjacent - although there was nothing to indicate this. Disappointment No. 2: No Patio. Rooms were large and clean. Breakfast was adequate. Location near Smith College is excellent. Don't stay here if you want to swim.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Address: 259 Elm Street, Northampton, MA 01060
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Autumn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autumn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.