We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight at Hotel Northampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Northampton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Northampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Northampton
36 King Street, Northampton, MA 01060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Northampton
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice overnight at Hotel Northampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Didn't have super high expectations, but was pleasantly surprised on my recent 1
night stay at Hotel Northampton. Clean & comfortable room (#402) on corner with lots of light and views of downtown and hills in the distance. As mentioned in a few other reviews, walls are thin, so turn on the fan for white noise. Bathroom was clean (hairdryer is one of those
wall units that seems to shut off after 30 seconds - bring your own if you need one!). Bed was super comfortable. Drinks with friends before dinner in cozy Wiggins Tavern. All in all a nice stay. Conveniently located right in downtown Northampton where you can talk to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    81
    37
    20
    27
See reviews for
40
80
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Decent enough place, but room was very noisy --thin walls mean you hear everything in the surrounding rooms -- and presumably they hear you. Price is steep for what you get -- no pool, no workout room, average-sized rooms, furnishings so-so -- and they jack it up considerably when it starts getting full, such as during family weekend at Smith or when they have a wedding. Weddings take over the entire lobby, by the way, so be aware that you will be walking through the festivities to enter and leave. Can't beat the location, though -- everything in town, including Smith, is a 5-10 minute walk away. There are scores of great shops, bookstores and restaurants nearby -- Northampton is a really wonderful, friendly and comfortable town.

Room Tip: The further from the lobby and elevators the better -- you'll hear any noises in the hall, and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel itself is a very nice quaint and historic hotel. If you are looking for a large modern luxurious room, then this isn’t your place. However, the hotel does have a lot of character. Wiggins Tavern is really good and you feel like you are in an old and historic tavern. I highly recommend.

The city is full of shops and restaurants. While the hotel is historic and quaint, the city is more young and trendy. That could be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Great restaurants, but not so great at midnight when the drunks leave the bar and start making noise.

I was unfortunate to stay on the street-side of the hotel and this really was a deal breaker for me. It’s a busy street and you could hear every car go by. Every truck. Every bus. You get a little break, then the busses and garbage trucks start going in the morning.

One night there was a concert across the street. The music was loud. It ended at midnight and a drunken couple starts a screaming match where the police had to show up. I got a couple hours of rest and then another drunk fight outside around 3:00 am…a couple of hours of rest until the busses, street sweepers and garbage trucks start up around 5:00 am.

They need to figure out how to put in some soundproofing. The walls are paper thin. The windows are no better. So you hear everything going on outside. If they want you to stay on the street side of the hotel, just walk away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot to avoid street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights and expected much more for the price(very costly for the area). The area is nice, shopping restaurants and sites were outstanding as are the Colleges in the area. THe service was average and the rooms were not cleaned until well into the late afternoon . The room would not have been cleaned until even later, except I pulled a cleaner into the room and strongly requested it be cleaned before out wedding event 1 hour later.The rooms are small and lack enough towels for two people. The bathroom in the lobby was dirty after an evening event and the breakfast bar was not fully set up when they opened @ 7 AM.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

4歳と0歳連れで新館に泊まりました。格式ありながらも堅苦しくなくキレイで清潔でした。街一番のホテルらしく、披露宴にをしていていい雰囲気でした。
We stayed in the newer suite, which was clean and decent, though not too formal. I brought my kids, who're four years and a toddler. The hotel employees were all kind and friendly.
We'd definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled you were able to experience all that the Hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed overnight with my elderly mother who used to stop on occasion years ago to eat in Wiggins Tavern. Overall we had a nice evening. The room was beautifully clean and comfortable. Food in Wiggins was very good. Two negative comments to share. One, my mother felt the bathroom was not friendly to older people. In order to shower, you had to step over the bathtub, which is fine, but there was no type of rail or bar to grasp. Second, there was a wedding going on. The pre-reception cocktail hour was held in the lobby. Step off the elevator and bam, you are at the party. I think this is odd. While we were not dressed like bums, we obviously were not dressed up for a wedding. Some of the guests just continued to carry on their conversations and didn't even try to step aside to let us by. I Saw several people on the street look inside and move on instead of coming inside. So, business is gained for the wedding but also lost on those who would have come in for a drink or dinner. Would I stay again? Not if there was an event going on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. We do offer rooms which are equipped with grab bars and other safety features to accommodate guests that might need more assistance. During your next stay, please ask Reservations for one of this rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

the building is historically old, so the rooms are small. But the staff is phenomenal. The location is spot on. And everything you need is readily available and within walking distance. We were there for a wedding. Awesome facility. Enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch. If get an opportunity, have a piece of Red Velvet Cake at Wiggins Tavern in the hotel.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding gong on and you are not a guest of the wedding it can be pretty loud and crazy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Address: 36 King Street, Northampton, MA 01060
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.