We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Northampton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Northampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Northampton
36 King Street, Northampton, MA 01060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Northampton
Pemberton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We found this hotel on our way to New Hampshire. This hotel is on the historical hotel list. Although an older building it is very well kept and maintained. The rooms were very nice, the beds were very comfortable. We only stayed there one night but enjoyed the stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was in the perfect location, easy to get on and off the highway. We would definitely stay here again if in that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know that you, like many others, had a pleasant experience and enjoyable stay with us. We here at Hotel Northampton take a great deal of pride in our quality of product and service and every satisfied guest like yourself reinforces that pride. We look forward to the opportunity to serve as your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    41
    22
    28
See reviews for
49
88
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during a recent cycling trip. My husband has stayed here at least 10 times over the past dozen years. Our original room (218) was generally fine . It's an older hotel, so expectations were set accordingly. The room was clean, the bathroom small. Our room had a shared balcony along the front of the hotel over the ballroom. It was next to a conference room, and I asked about what events were scheduled during our stay. The meetings that took place were not disruptive.

And then came Saturday night and the wedding that was taking place. I realize they must rake in a lot of revenue from weddings, but it appears to be to the detriment of other paying customers. First, we had to step around people sitting on the stairs up to our room from the lobby, since the lobby served as the pre-dinner bar location, No biggie. This was nothing compared to the noise from the wedding reception itself. The music was loud, but it was the MC on the PA system that shook our walls. It was like the wedding was happening in our room. I went to the front desk--the ballroom doors were open, the noise was beyond belief, and there was some wedding activity going on in the (small) lobby--and requested the noise be lessened. I was told the event manager would speak to the MC. This didn't help so I requested the manager come to our room.

The manager came promptly and offered a change to the last room available, which we eventually took. It was lovely-a 1BR suite--but moving all of our stuff at 10 pm after a tough day of cycling was no fun.

If I had walked into this hotel off the street to check it out, I would have walked right back out and not returned. Not what I would expect from a place that plays up the historic hotel (and expected ambiance) angle. I did email the manager and got a fairly innocuous response.

Would I stay here again? Possibly--but only if there was no wedding or I had a room that was nowhere near the ballroom.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the ballroom if there is anything going on.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to critique your stay with us.

As we responded to your email, we greatly respect and appreciate the opinions of our guests. On many occasions these opinions and perspectives have helped us to improve our service and presentation.

It is truly unfortunate, however, that your stay with us was less than ideal. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed and discussed with the staff of the hotel.

We hope that you will see your way clear to allow us the opportunity to show you that the problems you have encountered are the exception, not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was clean, with historic architecture. The room was a bit small with dated decor. The complimentary breakfast was just fine. Convenient location if you are in town for a show at the Iron Horse. We didn't have any problems but the walls do seem a bit thin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest reviews very seriously, as they help us better our service. As a historic property, we do aim to maintain the historic charm while providing modern amenities and service. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Best location if you want to park your car and be able to walk to restaurants, bars, coffee shops, street music and just a good time. A very nice small college town with ambience. Nice old historic hotel with good rooms and service. You can just go downstairs to the bar/restaurant and have a snack, dinner or drink or sit on the nice sunny porch and read.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review – we value our guest comments. With guest satisfaction in mind we work very hard to provide the highest level of service to all our guest and we are glad to hear we have succeeded and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

When travelling for business I usually stay at a Hilton affiliate hotel , but the closest one to my meeting was booked up . The travel agent had said this looked quite nice , and I booked it . The hotel is a refurbished historic hotel located in the Center of town . The hotel , exceeded my expectations with the workmanship being very thorough and expertly done . The restaurant and bar were tastefully designed and decorated . I unfortunately only got to enjoy breakfast in the hotel . There were lots of common areas with comfortable chairs and big windows to enjoy the view . There was complimentary wifi in all areas . There was also a patio overlooking the street . The room was bigger than I expected for an older hotel , and the washrooms were updated to modern standards . This would be a great place for a couple to have a getaway weekend .

Room Tip: Try and get a room that has a view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Although we are a Historic Hotel, we strive to keep our services and amenities modern. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a large family attending graduation at Smith and had several rooms. Had several rooms on the balcony and were able to gather there. Had a party in one of the conference rooms and the staff was amazing. We couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are good size but the beds are queens which is not a problem for us. Not sound proof between rooms but this is an old hotel with charm. They have two phone booths (for those of you who know what that is). Only complaint was the slow, slow service in the dining room at breakfast. After the first day, we just did the buffet. They seemed to need more help keeping the setup stocked. Selection on buffet was limited but tasty.
Walk to Smith College and the downtown area. Free parking.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the balcony but know that you share it with other rooms and they can wander over to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We here at the Hotel Northampton take a great deal of pride in our establishment. And every satisfied guest serves to reinforce that pride. We hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After booking our reservation, we saw some negative reviews on TripAdvisor. We were disappointed but decided to forge ahead for what was only a one night stay. Our experience bore no resemblance to the positive experience we had -- courteous and competent service, a lovely and spacious room in keeping with the character of a historic inn, ample parking, plenty of hot water, complete quiet as we had requested and very good value for the money we pait. We would (and probably will) do iot again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Standard king in the back of the hotel for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Address: 36 King Street, Northampton, MA 01060
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.