We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Northampton to your Saves list
Hotel Northampton
36 King Street, Northampton, MA 01060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

When travelling for business I usually stay at a Hilton affiliate hotel , but the closest one to my meeting was booked up . The travel agent had said this looked quite nice , and I booked it . The hotel is a refurbished historic hotel located in the Center of town . The hotel , exceeded my expectations with the workmanship being very thorough and expertly done . The restaurant and bar were tastefully designed and decorated . I unfortunately only got to enjoy breakfast in the hotel . There were lots of common areas with comfortable chairs and big windows to enjoy the view . There was complimentary wifi in all areas . There was also a patio overlooking the street . The room was bigger than I expected for an older hotel , and the washrooms were updated to modern standards . This would be a great place for a couple to have a getaway weekend .

Room Tip: Try and get a room that has a view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Although we are a Historic Hotel, we strive to keep our services and amenities modern. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    99
    47
    23
    29
See reviews for
57
96
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a large family attending graduation at Smith and had several rooms. Had several rooms on the balcony and were able to gather there. Had a party in one of the conference rooms and the staff was amazing. We couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are good size but the beds are queens which is not a problem for us. Not sound proof between rooms but this is an old hotel with charm. They have two phone booths (for those of you who know what that is). Only complaint was the slow, slow service in the dining room at breakfast. After the first day, we just did the buffet. They seemed to need more help keeping the setup stocked. Selection on buffet was limited but tasty.
Walk to Smith College and the downtown area. Free parking.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the balcony but know that you share it with other rooms and they can wander over to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We here at the Hotel Northampton take a great deal of pride in our establishment. And every satisfied guest serves to reinforce that pride. We hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After booking our reservation, we saw some negative reviews on TripAdvisor. We were disappointed but decided to forge ahead for what was only a one night stay. Our experience bore no resemblance to the positive experience we had -- courteous and competent service, a lovely and spacious room in keeping with the character of a historic inn, ample parking, plenty of hot water, complete quiet as we had requested and very good value for the money we pait. We would (and probably will) do iot again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Standard king in the back of the hotel for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You can't beat the location (smack dab in the center of Northampton). The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly. This is a great choice for those visiting the area who want to explore on foot or by bike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write a review. Our mission is and always has been to provide an excellent experience to all our guests and glad to hear that yours was not an exception. We look forward to seeing you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful room, good food and great service. Location is convenient to everything. No pool is the only minus. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable,everything from fixing a finicky TV to arranging a parking spot when the lot was full so I could be on time for the event .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to know that your experience with us was enjoyable and nothing but satisfactory. We always strive to provide a high level of service to all our guests and glad to hear that we achieved that goal. We hope you come back and visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel has lots of charm. It is in the middle of the city, in the middle of everything. Free parking. Banquet food was good. The check in staff was good, the checkout staff, a little less good. The rooms were small yet very comfortable.

Room Tip: I requested one of the balcony rooms (there were only a couple) and I actually got two balconies. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. We here at Hotel Northampton take great pride in our establishment, and every satisfied guest serves to enforce that pride. We are gratified that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to the opportunity to serve as your host in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Spent 1 Night at hotel Northhampton for UMass graduation last weekend. The Courtyard and Holiday Inn required 2 night's stay at the same cost per night as hotel Northhampton. So Glad we chose Hotel Northampton! We had low expectations due to some of the reviews on trip advisor. We were pleasantly surprised! Yes, the rooms are small and the beds are Queen versus King. Single occupancy had the same beds, with smaller rooms. However, it is much nicer than being in a generic low-level chain. Bathrooms are also small. We found the beds comfortable. Our room had a door to a shared balcony overlooking the street in the front of the hotel with tables and chairs. Would have loved to utilized it, if weather had cooperated. There was a coffee pot in the room, but no coffee in the lobby until 7 AM. Lobby and halls seemed in good shape with a historic atmosphere. We had a late check-in for 4 separate rooms and all were fine and not too far apart. Continental breakfast was included and quite satisfactory. The dining area was lovely, with a beautiful patio that would be great to sit on and enjoy breakfast if we had been lucky enough to have better weather. Breakfast included coffee, juice, homemade brand and corn muffins, some other glazed pastry, toast and jelly, granola, sugary frosted packaged cereal, fresh pineapple, cantaloupe, and Honey-do. All in a self service buffet. We had an early graduation to catch, so it hit the spot. If we wanted to be picky, it would've been nice if it opened before seven, and had some plain yogurt and plain cereals. Wish we had more time to walk around downtown North Hampton and explore the area more. It was costly for what you get, however , on graduation weekend all the prices are out-of-control everywhere. Definitely recommend hotel Northhampton if you are in the Amherst, Hadley, North Hampton area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah M, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled you were able to experience all that the Hotel has to offer. We always strive to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Address: 36 King Street, Northampton, MA 01060
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.