We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the NY Times for a reason.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herrell's Ice Cream

Herrell's Ice Cream
8 Old South Street, Northampton, MA 01060
413-586-9700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 125 restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: American
Description: Ice Cream Shop
Restaurant details
Description: Ice Cream Shop
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“in the NY Times for a reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Herrell's is by far the best option for ice cream in the pioneer valley. Nothing compares. First off the prices are extremely affordable, costing less than $5 for a sundae with two large scoops and toppings.

Although the inside is small it is cute and right off the main street of Northampton. When the inside fills up people sit outside and across the street on a large ledge that serves as a bench. There are some sketchy parts in Northampton and Herrells is one of the few places I have never felt uncomfortable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    62
    14
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fact of the matter is that here is no better ice cream to be found anywhere in the world. I highly suggest the chocolate pudding and vanilla malted. Service is quick, even when there is a crowd.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Banana Ice Cream! Chocolate Waffle Cone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After walking off some calories through Northampton, we decided to replenish with a sweet treat. Upon entering, the first thing we noticed was a narrow pathway to the back of a long line. You can't see the large menu if you are waiting in line and you are blocking foot traffic if you try to view it before getting in line. This aside, we got in line and watched what those ahead of us were purchasing.

I saw a member of their staff making chocolate-dipped waffle cones on our way in, so I was already sold. Once I could see the menu, I decided on a two scoop cone (considered a medium). I went with a banana scoop and a scoop of coffee ice cream. The banana ice cream was excellent. The coffee ice cream was average. The medium was more than plenty for a treat. Pricing was right in line with what was expected. My wife had a hot fudge sundae. She said it was good, but from a visual perspective, it seemed a rather small portion for the cost.

On a Saturday afternoon, we waited just over 5 minutes before our order was taken. As we were leaving, we could not see the end of the line. Be prepared to wait a short time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Alway so sweet...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

When we want an ice cream treat we head to Herrell's. They provide locally produced ice cream in a many many flavors. They are famous for their smooshins...folding toppings into your choice of ice cream. It is a consistently sweet experience not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy staff and great icecream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The icecream here is great, make the effort to visit here if you have the chance. The choice is fantastic. The staff are very efficient and smiling all day long. 10/10

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herrell's Ice Cream also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Herrell's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herrell's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.