We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple setting, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Cafe

Mosaic Cafe
78 Masonic St, Northampton, MA 01060-3026
413-585-1155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 126 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Simple setting, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

On a back street in Northampton, the Mosaic Cafe is a plain, simple place. You order your meal at the counter, pick up your utensils from a serving station, and find a table. We did not expect too much. But each of our dishes was fantastic. I ordered the Moroccan fish stew. It was packed with salmon, veggies, and subtle spices. My wife ordered the beef equivalent. Both provided very generous portions and were truly delicious. The meal came out fairly quickly, it we were very early and the place was almost empty. It might take the kitchen somewhat longer when it fills up.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whiting, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Spanish Omelette!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My daughter and I had brunch here, each a Spanish Omelette, the Salsa was fresh, homemade, and all the ingredients were top notch! The omelette came topped with lovely, fresh, thin slices of avacado making a colorful presentation, the baguette was fresh, and the coffee delicious. I will definitely eat at Mosiac Cafe again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food at an excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This food was amazing and at a good price. The soup in a crepe bowl is AMAZING and their meats are extremely delicious... especially in crepe rolls. the Turkish tea is mint and sweet but really awesome too. I honestly can't think of a bad thing to say about them. Is it the best food i've ever eaten? no... but its excellent for the price and excellent for the food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, atrocious service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The food was tasty, but took more than a hour and 20 minutes to arrive due to an error the restaurant admitted. I understand that mistakes happen, and I also feel that a restaurant can be judged by how it handles its mistakes. This one was handled terribly.

When we inquired about our food after about a 50 minute wait, they at first gave an excuse, then a few minutes later came over to explain that the delay was because they had lost our order slip. Once they finally realized their error, we received part of our order (soup and one crepe) but we still had to wait another 25 minutes for some pretty simple and quick-to-prepare food (one crepe with mushrooms and chevre, and a piece of flatbread with cucumbers, feta and olives on it).

Once the restaurant recognized the error, they should have rushed our food. Clearly that was not done.

Once the error was recognized, perhaps a good manager would have brought some bread to the table for the hungry kids to eat. That didn't happen.

It would have been nice to have an apology from the manager, or perhaps an offer of a complimentary dessert. We waited nearly an hour and a half with two hungry kids, and an exceptionally good manager might have even comped the whole meal. Instead, we got somewhat of an apology from the woman who took our order, blaming the error on the other woman who was taking orders that day (the one who who finally dumped the food on our table without so much as an "enjoy your lunch").

Yes, the food was good. But there is no food good enough for me to want to risk such terrible service again. I won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Friends who live in the area took us to Mosaic for a quick supper. Food was wonderful and there was a great variety on the menu. Good for vegetarians and meat eaters. I enjoyed a salad and a wonderful eggplant sandwich. Crepes looked great, but I did not have a chance to eat one. We sat outside on the little patio in the back. Very enjoyable and quite reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Cafe also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Mosaic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.