We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed, Expensive for Portions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Les Gras

Bistro Les Gras
25 West Street, Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 320-4666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 126 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Western MA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not Impressed, Expensive for Portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I thought the food here was bland and not what I was expecting. The portions were small for the price. I wanted to like this place as I like the ideals og grass feed meats but the preperation was pleasing. There are much better choices in Northampton.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Where's the rest of my tough duck?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was brought here for an anniversary after wanting to come for a long time. The service was outstanding, but thats where the good times end. I ordered the duck and was extremely disappointed. Not only was it three small pieces of breast for $27, but the pieces were cut uneven, almost hacked- a tragic way to treat duck. Once i cut into it i could see why. It was overdone and tough on one end and raw on the other. The spiced squash it sat in was very over seasoned with 5 spice powder and had the consistency of babyfood.I had to really put some elbow grease into cutting the duck into bite size pieces. The veggies were also overdone. Texturally, this dish was a mess. My significant other got scallops which were prepared perfectly on the other hand, but were very bland, and unexciting to eat. A very expensive mistake. Fortunately being in love and celebrating with wonderful company made this a much better meal than it actually was...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“romantic little bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

my boyfriend and i happened to stop into this bistro as we had about 1/2 hour to kill before our appointment next door (whirlpool & massages). in that small time frame we were greeted and given menus as we sat at the bar. the waitress made some suggestions given our taste in wine that were excellent. we ordered two small bite appetizers. talk about the perfect ambiance! all the elements were there...soothing sounds, perfect lighting, excellent food bites....love, love....LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewanee, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Pleasant Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can't say enough good about this place. The food was outstanding. The service was great. Atmosphere is somewhat plain, but very comfortable - no criticism here. I'll go back again and again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This quiet little restaurant has some of the best food in a city known for its restaurants. All fresh, local, handmade - in other words, starting with the best possible ingredients - combined in ways that make your heart sing.

I visited with my (chef) daughter, and we marveled together at everything we tried. The wine list is excellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Les Gras also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Bistro Les Gras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Les Gras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.