We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top Mast Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Mast Resort
Save
You added Top Mast Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 44, 217 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in North Truro
MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great short stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our stay was for four nights in a beachfront efficiency room on the second level of building two. I had not stayed on the Cape since I was a kid so we wanted to check the place out with a short stay. Myself, my husband and our two year old stayed in our room and another couple that came with us and their two year old stayed in the room next door (we booked early & together so we could be next to each other). It was perfect for the kids, they were able to go out on the deck and the railings were high enough that we had no worries with them coming in and out. If they were older we would have wanted to be downstairs, but, this year upstairs was perfect. I had a few issues when I went to make breakfast for the first time, the toaster had obviously had a fire in it previously and did not work and the can opener was so bent it did not work. I talked to the housekeeping staff and had new items when I returned form the beach. The bathroom is small and the shower is small which made it a challenge for giving the little ones a shower, but, we managed.
I was nervous when I noticed a few days before we traveled that there was no air conditioning, especially because I am always hot. We brought an extra fan with us, left the sliders open, and the room was not bad at night for sleeping...plus you got to listen to the surf. The beach was perfect for families, especially with little kids. The water is fairly calm because you are on the bay side, and a little warmer. The beach was small which makes it easy to have your chairs set up and the kids play in sand, but, still be close to the water. And as it is said in other reviews, this is a family resort.
I do have one suggestion to make to management....maybe the availability of a hose or outdoor shower for people to rinse the sand off before you go up to your room, might help for housekeeping also.
Overall, the trip was great and we are thinking about returning next year for a week...would love to see some pictures of the new house that they built! That might be a good option for us for next year.

Room Tip: Can't beat the waterfront view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    48
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
68
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a quick weekend get-away.  He wanted an indoor pool and I wanted a place overlooking the beach, or at least with an ocean view.  This place certainly fits the bill.  Overlooking Cape Cod Bay with a view of Provincetown in the distance, the location is perfect.  The ground level steps right out onto the beach and is very popular with families, as there were many on the weekend we came.  Across the street is the health club, free for hotel guests, including pool, exercise room, sauna, jacuzzi and changing facilities.  We were very impressed! The decor was modern and attractive with lots of live plants and artwork.  Beverages and snacks are available for purchase.  Next door is the Top Mast Restaurant, open for breakfast, as well as a fish fry on Friday.   Adjacent to the restaurant are a very pretty garden with trellis and surrounding accommodations.  There are also tennis courts on the property.  

Our room was on the second floor of Building 2, beachside.  The room was clean and comfortable, with a deck overlooking the water and beach. Deck dividers between the rooms were nice, preventing people walking or running back and forth.  The bathroom was small, but manageable for the two of us. Included are a kitchenette for cooking - a definite money saver and convenience for families, as the restaurant on sight is good, but a little pricey. As an added bonus, on our first night we were treated to a gorgeous sunset right from our balcony!

One suggestion: This resort seems to be very popular with families who come for the week.  If you are looking for a quick summer weekend get-away and hoping for some quiet time, come on a Friday.  Saturday is the turn-around day for weekly stays.  Because people are packing up and heading out Saturday morning, both the beach and the pool are much quieter at that time, and until early afternoon, you will have the beach and facilities pretty much to yourself before the new batch of weekly guests arrive. When we arrived on Friday, the pool was full of little kids.  Saturday morning, the parking lot cleared out by 11:00, and when my husband went to the pool for a swim, it was just him and one other adult, and very peaceful!

Next time I come back in summer, it will be for a week, with the entire family in multiple units or, better yet, one of the cottages. Having stayed in weekly cottage rentals in the past, I would find one of these units to be cramped for more than two people for a week. Then again, my favorite time at the Cape is off season, and I would love to visit this resort again in the future in the fall when the crowds are gone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful property and great location. We stayed in a garden view room that was completly brand new. The room was small but had everything we needed. Ate breakfast in the resturant and wish it was open for lunch and dinner as well. Bus stop right outside office very handy for Provincetown shopping and sight seeng. The indoor pool and bar area was very nice and the outside deck was just beautiful with a large gas fire pit that was absolutly wonderfull at night time!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland County, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Top Mast for four nights in an upper level efficiency. The room was spacious - a double bed, pull out couch and a complete kitchen area with table and chairs. The bathroom was clean and spacious enough. We loved the terrace with the beautiful view of the bay. If we had been there with small children, we definitely would have wanted to be downstairs, but upstairs afforded the two of us more privacy. The on site restaurant was okay for breakfast; we preferred going into Wellfleet to the Lighthouse or the Wicked Oyster. The owners were lovely and knowledgeable about places to go. Oh, and they have a garage with keypad access for bicycles which made storage at night so easy. Our only complaint was the lack of a/c. Even with the beachfront breeze, we found our room to be very stuffy at night.

Room Tip: Take a downstairs efficiency if you have small kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The efficiency rooms on the lower level are the way to go. But I do like to get a workout in on my vacations and their advertised fitness facility is less than average. Their machines are old and don't work right. Their a/c has been broken for months. The locals that pay $125 a month said that the owners are not interested in any upgrades because they are building a house for rental purposes. For the rates they charge their members and their guests they can afford a new a/c and some newer machines.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Top Mast Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are pleased that you found your room acceptable and we are sorry that you you were not satisfied with the fitness room at the indoor pool complex. We are aware that the a/c is broken, however this is a situation that just happened and a new circuit board is on order, and we have since posted a sign which explains this and we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. The humidity level in the indoor complex is above average and it is aging the equipment. We are working on a more advanced dehumidification system for this room in order to keep the equipment in better shape, and we will be purchasing more new equipment, but with that being said we have not received any other complaints about equipment not working properly. We have a variety of memberships available for locals and visitors and the $125 plan is for a month unlimited which includes the indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, steam room, fitness room, tennis and basketball, free wi-fi, etc. The fitness room was added after swimmers requested a place to stretch and have a simple work out either before or after their swim, it was never meant to be a gym and we try to make sure people are aware that it isn't a gym, that is why we chose to call it a "fitness room", we are sorry if this mis-led you. The week you were here was the week that we were opening our Brand New Beach House for the first time, so although we were busy with that for the moment, we certainly are interested in all aspects of our business, including the indoor complex. We are sorry that things fell below your level of expectations, and if you ever decide to come back we are sure you will find the fitness room to be acceptable! Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed one night at the Top Mast and could not have been more pleased! We stayed in a beachfront efficiency room, which had 2 double beds, a small bathroom and a kitchenette. The kitchenette included a stove top, microwave and a large refrigerator. They also supplied all types of dishes and silverware, including lobster crackers and a corkscrew (very important!) Beyond a small dining area was a sliding door that lead to a patio/balcony area. From there were a few steps down into the sand, a picnic table and small stand for a grill. Just beyond that is the water and a beautiful view of Provincetown. Everything in the room was impeccably clean and fresh smelling, and pretty well updated too.

The man who checked us in was incredibly friendly and helpful and even provided us with coupons for a whale watch on the Dolphin Fleet out of Provincetown (we loved it.) The hotel is located on Rte 6A which is a small and scenic road that will lead you straight into the downtown area of Provincetown. Rte 6 is also easily accessible and using Rte 6 will take less time to get to Provincetown, but I found 6A to be a nicer drive.

I hope I can return here someday when I can spend more time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our second visit in the past year - love it. Clean, reasonably priced and convenient to Provincetown - love to shop and people watch! This time we lucked out and got one of their two 2 bedroom cottages. Across the street from the beach but still a water view and about 100 steps gets you onto the beach! Full kitchen, good size bath, small TV, beds are only full size - we are used to a king at home. But - you are here for the beach and that is gorgeous. For a change of pace they have a beautiful indoor pool with a huge outside deck and lounge chairs. Delicious breakfast available at restaurant on site. You can't go wrong. Great front desk service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Address: P.O. Box 44, 217 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Truro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, cottages and a new 3 bedroom beach house. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit and outdoor tennis/basketball court area. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 42 years! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Mast Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.