We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every year, when the snow melts, I start my coutndown to this vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizons Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horizons Beach Resort
190 Shore Rd, PO Box 146, North Truro, MA 02652   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in North Truro
Boston
1 review
“Every year, when the snow melts, I start my coutndown to this vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This hotel is the perfect location for our host of family and friends. I have never been more impressed with the cleanliness of rooms or the convenience of location. You are able to catch the shuttle directly in front of the office into Provincetown or head inland and catch a great movie at the drive-in. The staff and owners are extremely accomodating and have treated my family well (as with other families of whom we have had the pleasure of getting to know) for many years. Falling asleep on the oceanside to the waves at night couldn't be more theraputic and if, by chance you were unable to secure a room early enough (because they go quickly), and you are on the roadside, don't worry. You can still hear the ocean at night and it's a short walk across the street to the beach. With a family growing bigger every year I should also note it's a great place to bring your younger children because of the convenience of having them on the beach for play and then when naptime rolls around your room is right there waiting. This hotel is a wonderful Cape Cod experience and as soon as March (or April because let's face it, this is New England) rolls around, I will start my countdown again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
endicott, new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Horizons is a good place to stay but you do have to know what to ask for as far as room location and proximity to the beach. The newly remodeled "apartments" are nice and roomy buy too far from waters edge for my taste and the view left a lot to be desired because of that. Clean enough though and service was good. I would recommend this place to others but with caveats.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Just returned from our 3rd stay at Horizons Beach. I grew up on the lower Cape and now live on the mid Cape. When you live in such a beautiful place it only makes sense to vacation there as well. Horizons Beach is what the real Cape is all about. A simple, peaceful place to let go of all your day to day stresses. Nice people, friendly staff, clean rooms. You can spend your days with sand on your feet, salt on your skin, and the only real decision is ocean or pool! You can step out your door and walk miles of beautiful beach, or hop the flex bus into Ptown. We stay across the street from the beach and sit on our small deck each night and watch the light change as the sun goes down. The past two years we have been treated to amazing thunder and lightening storms at night.
And if the mood takes you- run down for a late night swim in ocean. If you are looking for a luxury vacation this is not the spot for you, but if you seek quiet, beauty, rest and a chance to unplug from life for awhile this is a wonderful place to be. I know we'll be back next year and hopefully for many years to come. It is really a great place to heal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Ma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed in a room on the top floor of one of the pagodas and were surprised to find that the only entrance to our room was a glass sliding door that hardly locked. The room was very stuffy and smelly and we couldn’t air it out because there were only two tiny windows that opened a foot off the floor, and the sliding door didn’t have a screen to keep mosquitoes and bugs out so we couldn’t keep it open for long. While the view was very nice the windows were too dirty to enjoy it, and it did not make up for the condition of the room. The furniture and carpet were very dated and stained; there was rust on the table and chairs and on the only two lamps in the room. The bathroom was so tiny that the only place they could fit the sink was next to the microwave in the kitchen; the cabinet and sink were very old and dirty. We were excited that our room had a kitchen and planned on making our dinners but because the room felt so dirty we were afraid to use any of their dishes and cooking utensils. We wouldn’t have minded the small size so much if the room was clean. We felt very uncomfortable for our entire stay and tried to stay out of the room as much as possible.

We chose this hotel because of its low price and based on the reviews we read on this site. We did not have very high expectations to begin with and planned on spending most of our week long trip at the beach so we weren’t that worried about the hotel room. However, after our experience with Horizons we will definitely not make that mistake again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

I was so excited to visit the Cape but this place let it down. All the other reviews are great so I was looking forward to our accommodation but was very disappointed. The room we got was not on the water, but across the road, which was fine but seemed as though it had not been cleaned since last summer! it was dusty there were small bugs on the bed and hairs. we got a cheap rate but now I know why. If you are staying here make sure you pay the extra for a front room. amazing spot though!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Horizons Beach Resort is a nice outer cape spot tucked right on the bay which makes it optimal for children as opposed to the ocean which can get rough and is colder. While the rooms are nothing fancy, they are clean and the shower is powerful and hot if desired (always a good thing). The staff at the desk is courteous and gets it done when needed. You also can avoid all the hustle and bustle of say Yarmouth and the restof the upper cape.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Just returned from a weekend stay at Horizons. We stayed in one of the newer 2 bedroom cottages facing the pool and bay. It was very clean, bright, and the common area was quite spacious. Furnishing are a mish mash, but all in good condition. The price was right for a 2-bedroom in the shoulder season. A few things to consider when booking: we entered the cottage to find that the second bedroom was the size of a closet, with bunk beds (obviously geared toward families), but as we were 4 adults, this wasn't ideal. The manager quickly moved us to another cottage with twin beds in a slightly larger room. In the busy season, this probably wouldn't have been possible, so be sure to ask when booking. Second, the twin beds are ROCK HARD and the pillows are thin and insubstantial... bring your own or ask for extras. Finally, if you're hoping for quiet, the cottages probably won't provide it in-season. Our cottage was tucked between the pool and route 6A, and while quiet enough in early May, will almost certainly not be in the summer. All in all, though, we were happy with our stay, and would come back again now that we know what to ask for when booking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizons Beach Resort

Address: 190 Shore Rd, PO Box 146, North Truro, MA 02652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in North Truro
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizons Beach Resort offers enjoyment and tranquility for your Cape Cod vacation. All accommodations feature kitchens, air conditioning and cable televisions. Select from units with sliders opening to sun decks overlooking Cape Cod Bay, or corner rooms with picture windows and spectacular water views. Relax on 500 feet of private beach or swim in the bayside outdoor pool. Rates for every budget! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horizons Beach Hotel North Truro
Horizons Beach Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizons Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Horizons Beach Resort to your Saves list