We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outer Reach - Outer Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Reach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Outer Reach Resort to your Saves list
Outer Reach Resort
535 Route 6, North Truro, MA 02652   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in North Truro
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Outer Reach - Outer Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We come back year after year and find the location, staff, and rooms perfect. Sits high on a bluff with breezes, and great views. Rooms are spacious and clean. If you want outer cape... this is the place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    82
    28
    18
    21
See reviews for
56
97
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I wouldn't stay at any other place on the Outer Cape. Been four years in a row and have reservations made for 2014! Bonnie, the manager, is a delight. My room had a double and a twin, with a deck (good for me as I'm a smoker). It is an older facility, but it is kept up nicely. Just a short drive to Provincetown, Herring Cove and Race Point beaches.
I'd highly recommend it. It is pet friendly also, for those with pets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Outer Reach may look dated, however do not let this discourage you. The rooms are clean & well maintained. The view is excellent from the deck! The staff is very accommodating to yuor schedule & your needs. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I loved the location of the Outer Reach - on the Dunes overlooking the Bay, within the Cape Cod National Seashore. Besides being part of the seashore, North Truro is completely residential, so it was a nice place to escape to from the bustle of Provincetown and is only a stone's throw away;
it was the best of both worlds. In addition, because there was no pool at the Outer Reach, they had full privileges for their guests to use the facilities at the Provincetown Inn, superbly located on the Bay in Provincetown and it was a great place to park all day for free while touring Provinceton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Out Reach's best assets are dog related. They do allow dogs with a fee. The dog park is large but the small stones made it hard for my dog to walk around the park. The walls & floors are paper thin. You can hear your neighbors walking around. The floor boards are warped which make it hard on someone with poor balance. Continental breakfast was minimal. No available dining on site. Housekeeping was friendly & the room & bedding was clean & comfortable. Overall great view but too far from Ptown. Probably won't stay here again if another pet friendly resort is available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else while at the Cape as I've come to know this place as my second "home away from home"...that being, it is quiet and secluded and so typical of the sand dunes found at 'ole Cape Cod! Quite close to the adjacent towns, including Provincetown and Whale Watching, and of course the quaint town of Wellfleet--one of my favorites. The natural beauty of the seashores is reminiscent in the hotel and their great views off their decks overlooking either the water or the rustling of the plants and trees with birds chirping everywhere. A great getaway!

Room Tip: Corner suites are great but any room with a deck is worth the stay. New pool will be put in for 201...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband I stayed at the Outer Reach Resort for two days during Fourth of July weekend, usually thought of as the busiest week of the summer. While it is a self-described "aging lady of the sea," we found it a perfectly sufficient base for exploring Provincetown and Truro for a couple of days. Our room was the most expensive at $204 for 2 double beds and a water view deck. The view, from what is said to be the highest spot on CC, looks out over the water to Provincetown and the very tip of the Cape. We loved sitting out there in the breeze with a glass of wine, especially watching the distant fireworks without the crowds. Our room was very clean and basic but perfectly serviceable, with a well appreciated micro fridge to cool our wine and heat our leftovers. Two sinks were handy too. Towels were a cut above what you might expect. Free wifi, yay. A basic continental breakfast is included, with bagels, muffins and cereal plus juice and coffee, nicely tended, and you can eat on a deck outside if you like. Dogs are very welcome here; the pool was filled in for a fenced-in dog park with several pieces of agility equipment. There is plenty of space to walk Fido on the expansive grounds, which are naturally landscaped, plus some pretty flowers. There are plenty of places to walk and bike from here. If you cross Route 6 to the water, youre on Route 6A which is a lot safer to bike the 3/4 miles to Ptown. You can also walk about 20 or so minutes to the ocean on the hotel side; there's a 2-mile bike trail not too far away that leads to the incredibly beautiful Truro Town Beach. If you drive into Ptown, you can park for free at the Outer ReAch's sister hotel, the Provincetown Inn, which is at the very west end of town with a huge parking lot. You can also use the pool and beach there, they said, tho we didn't look for those. It's a scenic 20 minute walk into downtown, past some gorgeous architecture (we ended up eating at The Red Inn next door, lovely and on the water). The shuttle from the town pier ($2 a person) in the center of town runs every half hour and will bring you right back to your car at the Provincetown Inn. We spent most of our time biking and exploring Ptown, and this hotel served us just fine; we are do-ers rather than luxuriators! The manager gave us a late checkout when we asked if we could do the 2-mile trail round trip and be back by checkout time. All in all, very nice folks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outer Reach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Reach Resort

Address: 535 Route 6, North Truro, MA 02652
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Outer Reach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Reach Hotel North Truro
Outer Reach Motel
Outer Reach Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Reach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.