We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalmar Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalmar Village to your Saves list
Kalmar Village
674 Shore Rd, North Truro, MA 02652   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in North Truro
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I spent a week iin September in efficiency unit no. 5 at «Trade Winds» which is managed by «Kalmar Village». Not roomy but since I was alone it was perfect & 2 people could certainly get around fine. Basic accomodation but comfy, quiet, clean & very reasonable price. A/C installed but I did'nt need it. Friendly & helpful personnel *. Great location: you walk out of the unit and you are steps away from the beach on the bay side. P-Town and the beaches on the National Seahore are a 10 /15 min. ride by car or bike.

* P.S. Thanks to Dave who lent me a small beach chair which I enjoyed a lot ;)) & printed for me infos to go to Boston.

Room Tip: Go for it but do reserve in high season !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We knew that the cabins were older so we were not expecting five star! They were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.... The "bus" stopped out in front and took us to p-town... The grounds of the hotel were excellent.... someone was always working on the units.. We had a two bedroom ,,, kitchen,, living room .one bath.. the beach was right there,,, we all had grills and picnic tables... too cold for the pool ! I was not disappointed at all. I may look into a newer place but the price was right and it was clean. I would stay again as would the three other couples we were with

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This summer marks our 16th summer in a row returning to Kalmar Village. This is the real Cape Cod but with WiFi. We love it here so much and can't wait to return next summer. We started coming here when our boys were only 5 weeks old and one year old and now are teenegers and they love it! Its so close to Provincetown and their private huge beach is spectacular. We love thier cottages and the service is wonderful. All of the staff go out of teir way to help you. This is the best place for a Cape Cod Vacation.

Room Tip: Choose any cottage. They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you want to stay on the beach, in an old school, modest, clean, simple cottage, at a reasonable Cape Cod price, Kalmar might be your place. We stayed one night here this week. It is very close to Provincetown which is an absolute must see if you are going to visit the Cape. We stayed in one of their top cottages right on the beach, with unbelievable views, central pool, and family atmosphere. The facility is a bit shabby, but Mark and David were friendly and helpful. My only real beef was that although the wifi signal was strong, I couldn't get the username and password to work. My parting advice is simple, the location, the beach and the views are great.

Room Tip: Pay the extra an get one of the top cottages. The views are amazing. Walk out the door onto the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We knew that we made a late reservation and from the other reviews weren't expecting much and we didn't get much. We stayed 4 days in mid July during the heatwave. The efficiency we got was in the main building. The living room overlooked the parking lot, the bedroom overlooked the pool. The exhaust from everyone's cars came in the window. The workers would clean the pool and do whatever they were doing in the area very early so sleeping past 7am on vacation was not an option. The pool was to close at 7:30PM but that was not adhered too nor enforced. There was no AC or fans and it was a heatwave so we had to keep the windows open. However, having the bedroom right by the pool and people constantly walking back and forth meant we had to keep the shades down for privacy which kept the heat in, no brreze for us. The bathroom window did not open so trying to get ready was unbearable with the heat. The pool was always full of screaming kids. The one time we went to sit by it, we couldn't swim because a bunch of kids were playing skip ball across the pool and the mother had no sense of decency to say hey kids let others enjoy the pool too. There was a brave woman who went in the shallow end with her little daughter and basically cowered in a corner b/c of these kids. At one point they actually hit her with the ball but the mom just laughed and said be careful. We basically avoided being in the room except to sleep. The room itself was I guess bearable as far as decor. But the couch covers were really old and smelled musty. We used our beach blanket to cover the one we sat on. Everything in the room felt damp being so close to the water. The one positive was that the bed was comfy, not that I got to sleep in it much. The kitchen was more like a hallway between the LR and BR and the door wouldn't close b/c the floor was buckled. Everything in the fridge froze on us so all the veggies/fruits we packed for beach lunches got ruined. One night when we got back to the room, at midnight, the fire alarms were going off in the building. We could hear them as we pulled in. Dave was there at first to fix one. They went off. Shortly after they went back on again and Dave wasn't around, everyone was looking for him and no one could find him. People were walking around in the parking lot. The alarms went off for over an hour, from around midnight to 1am. I don't know what made them stop eventually but we took out the alarms in our unit and the hallway so we could sleep. Put them back in the morning.
I think this place is too much for him, he can't do it alone and the staff is limited. Whoever "owns" this place is really wringing every last penny out of it. I wasn't expecting much but I got even less. I don't understand those people who say they go every year and how great it is. Must be just that they've become accustomed to the place and its more about their family memories than it is a quality place. Or maybe it just shows the caliper of clients that frequent the place judging from the mom who didnt discipline her kids in the pool. Other people seemed nice as we walked by to get to the beach. Maybe the separate cottages give a different experience. All I know is never again will we stay at Kalmar Village. Too many other places to stay.

Room Tip: Try a cottage or go elsewhere. Avoid the motel rooms and efficiencies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in a 2 room efficiency for $260 / night! The day bed / couch covers were from '80s and had a bad smell. The carpet was decades old and stained. The old-style roll-up blind in the bathroom was broken and would not roll back up. Some tiles were missing. The TV was a late '80s model and the picture was poor. The remote control was sticky. The mini-fridge was rusty in places. The early 1970's lamps were cracked. No A/C, no clock, no phone, no iron, no ironing board in the room. We just could not feel comfortable.
From the beginning we kindly explained our feeling and asked if we could leave and get our money back or at leave a reasonable portion of it. No deal. Had to wait to see if Dave could rent it out and then give a portion. We stuck it out for 2 night of our planned 5 night stay. Then after much negotiation (begging), Dave finally agreed to give us half of the remaining 3 nights rent. Even with the lost $$$ we were happy to find a nice place to lay our heads at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just a couple of minutes walk from the Provincetown border and 10 mins drive ,non peak, from the town square. Situated on a long stretch of beach, sandwiched between Pilgrim lake and the bay. Rooms aRe nice and airy, beds are pretty comfortable. Bathrooms are a bit cramped , with fittings from another century! We had gone with extended family and we had taken up 1 efficiency, and 2 twin bedroom cottages. Managing front desk staff is very helpful. Cleaning staff was a bit dodgy and tried to scam their way around cleaning, with respect to the timings. Once we clarified with the front desk, we faced no further problems. DVD player ( movies for the kids) was broken in one of the cottages, they replaced it the next day.parking is ample, though a bit far from the beachfront cottages. They do give you carts to lug your bags in and out.there is no food service.the beach front is very good, especially with kids. The tide rolls over at least half a kilometre , so at low tide you can go very far out. It's close enough to town for supplies, far enough to beat the crowd.we went there for a week, one week before the 4th of July weekend. Beat the crowds, both on the roads and the cape, by a week. On our way out we saw the incoming traffic backed up for at least 5 kms , getting onto the bridge.

Room Tip: The beachfront cottage on the extreme left is very nice and quiet, but last 100 meter access is thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalmar Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalmar Village

Address: 674 Shore Rd, North Truro, MA 02652
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kalmar Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalmar Village North Truro, MA, North America
Kalmar Village Hotel North Truro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalmar Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.