We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Male' Atoll   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Meeru Island Resort & Spa is a wonderful place to go to for your honeymoon. I think at least 75% of the guests were just married when we were there. We booked the Watervilla's with jacuzzi and really: the villa was gorgeous. We had a lot of privacy on our balcony, which was really peaceful. Also the water underneath the villa was beautiful. By day, especially early in the morning, the water was really clear and you can find a lot of big fish in there (also rays!). In the late afternoon you can find many big sharks in the water, which was really impressive to see (also a little bit frightening). By night you can see many fish and sharks from the view of your balcony, since they placed a flashlight above the water, which makes you able to see the nightlife of the fish (they hunt by night).

The jacuzzi was also really nice to have. When you sit in there you have a beautiful view on the ocean. Actually, in our opinion, the watervilla was perfect: clean, large, romantic and peaceful. The villa was cleaned twice a day, which was really nice. We also received a small bottle of champagne and fresh fruit when we arrived, combined with a personal note which welcomed us as a married couple, which was really thoughtful.

The food in the restaurant varied by day and they had a lot of different dishes. You also have your personal waiter (we had Malik, really great and hardworking guy). We loved everything about the restaurant. It also had a great view on the beach and the ocean. The restaurant is just placed on the sand, so that means you actually eat with your feet in the sand. The employees of Meeru are really helpful and very kind!!! The cocktails and wines in the bars and restaurants were also really good and extensive! We loved them. The nightprograms were OK, not that entertaining. We only liked the DJ-night, which was a lot of fun since the DJ knew what kind of music the guests liked. Most of the time all the tables were taken in the bar where the nightprograms were held.

The island was also gorgeous. A lot of beautiful trees on it, white sand, very bright water. It was a pity that there was some trash into the waters when there was a lot of wind. You can find a lot of baby sharks near the beach.

The excursions were in our opinion very expensive for what you actually get. Especially the submarine was way to expensive in compare to the other excursions. It was not that impressive, since you can also see the coral and fish when you go to the housereef, which is free when you have the all-inclusive package. We did really enjoy the Kagi-island excursion. We saw a lot of turtles, beautful fish and even dolphins!!

The only negative remark we have is about the boats you go into when you have a excursion or when they pick you up from the airport. The boats are really outdated in compare to other resorts. They make a lot of noise, have a terrible smell of gasoline and are very old and ugly.

Lastly, we would definitely recommend Meeru Island!! It was amazing.

Room Tip: The 700 serie are the most beautiful villas they have (watervillas with jacuzzi). Very peaceful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Kimberley D,

Greetings from your honeymoon destination!

Thank you for your wonderful feedbacks on your recent stay with us.

My team and I were happy to learn that the charm of your Jacuzzi Water Villa worked so beautifully on you and that you enjoyed the natural beauty of our house reef.

I would like to apologize for the points raised on our facilities and services where we failed to deliver to your expectation. I am sad to read that you found our evening entertainment not so entertaining and some of our excursions overpriced. Regarding the submarine excursion, it is in my opinion a good opportunity for the guests who are not comfortable in the water to see the wonderful life under the water.

Your kind words regarding our team was very much appreciated. I will share your feedback with my entire team.
Kimberley D, we are so pleased to hear that you definitely recommend Meeru this is for us the biggest reward. If there is anything I can do for your future stay with us please don`t hesitate to contact our Reservations team at reservations@meeru.com.


Warm regards,

Walter C. Kaufmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    511
    133
    50
    33
See reviews for
196
2,061
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

beautiful island, but very expensive although all inclusive not everything is all inclusive and extras set you back a lot, a meal in the rocks restaurant is around £400 for 3 people.
good facilities but if you can have a water villa

Room Tip: water villa all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear mtk1505,

Greetings from Meeru Island Resort and Spa! Thank you for posting the review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you liked the island itself. Naturally, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding extras price. I am sorry for that.

Please be assured that we regularly price-check comparative resorts within the Maldives to ensure that we are charging a fair price for the quality of ingredients and food that we provide. So again I'm sorry to learn that you found us to be expensive in some areas as well as the disappointment of the choices in our “All inclusive Plus”. Feedback is such a valuable source of information, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and enables us to continually strive to improve our standards. Thank you for pointing it out.

Mtk1505, thank you again for sharing your comments with us. I do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. If you need any assistance please feel free to contact us.

Warm regards,

Walter C. Kaufmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Wow! What a resort! Absolutely breathtaking location. The resort was beautiful. We were given an over the water jacuzzi villa upgrade compliments of Meeru for our honeymoon stay. The view from our balcony was spectacular! In the evening a halogen light lit up the sea under our villa and we sat and watched the fish and sharks for hours, transfixed. It was awesome! We returned one evening to a bed decorated with petals, fruit bowl & champagne which we enjoyed in our private jacuzzi. The food was brilliant with a wide variety & high standard. Staff were friendly & helpful. Meeru is a beautiful island. We we're go smacked at the seas colour, turquoise & as clear as glass. Snorkelling was amazing with such a variety of fish! We had a sunset cruise & watched dolphins as the sun went down on the horizon... Beautiful. We also snorkelled off the house reef & saw some awesome sights! I want to go back! I want to live there!! If you ever get the chance to visit Meeru then go because you won't regret it.....Simply stunning x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Alana G,

Sunny greetings from your Honeymoon destination!

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay here in Meeru.
I am glad to read that you appreciated your upgrade in our Jacuzzi Water Villas.
We are also so happy to know that you had a wonderful time whilst on your vacation. I will be sharing your appreciation with the rest of the management and staff.

I could not thank you enough for recommending Meeru here on Trip Advisor.

We hope to welcome you as a repeat guest soon. My team and I will be happy to assist you on your next holiday here in Meeru.

Warm regards,

Walter C. Kaufmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I was here last summer for three days with my family. It was amazing. We unfortunately did not get to visit any of the other islands within the Maldives though there was much to do where we were. The food was great too. Every day we went for breakfast, lunch and dinner and all the meals were different. The only problem we experienced were the bugs. Every night when we were asleep, our outdoor bathroom was invaded by huge beetles!! This only meant we had to brush our teeth in the restaurant bathrooms. Apart from that, our trip was PARADISE!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Aisling F,

Thank you for leaving a feedback following your stay and it gives me the great pleasure to know that you found the food and excursions brilliant.

However I am disappointed to read you had some issues during your stay with your open bathroom. We have read your review carefully and taken your constructive feedback seriously and we aim to improve in the areas where necessary.

Aisling F, we will be looking forward to hopefully welcome you as a repeat guest. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need assistance in planning your next visit.

Warm regards,

Walter C. Kaufmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

This resort is really a paradise on earth. Starting from our day 1 up to our last day, we really felt home in there. Very accommodating staffs, nice rooms ( we are upgraded to Jacuzzi Beach Villa) and the most unforgettable part is the buffet! I will really go back here!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear vulnerableeea,

Greetings from Meeru Island Resort and Spa!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about your recent holiday with us.

Your compliments about the buffet will be shared to the Executive Chef and his team.

vulnerableeea, we cannot wait to welcome you back as our repeat guest. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservations@meeru.com if you need any assistance regarding your return visit to Meeru.

Warm regards,

Walter C. Kaufmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I spent 1 night here. Was impressed by the size of the island by Maldivian standards. It offers all the usual water sports, plus bikes, short driving range, 9 hole (par 3) golf course, tennis, football pitch. I stayed in a water villa, which was spacious. It had an outdoor spa, and steps into the aqua marine water. Beautiful. Eating is in a central dining area, where the food was plentiful and good standard. The island is in Male atoll so a speed launch trip from the air port.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear holdreamerbrissie,

Sunny greetings from Meeru Island Resort & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your short stay at Meeru Island Resort & Spa and I am happy we could exceed your expectations. As you mentioned our island offers plenty activities to do such as kayaking, windsurfing, catamaran, golf, badminton, tennis and many more.

Holdreamerbrissie, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit for more days and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Walter C. Kaufmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We choose this beautifull hotel-island for our honeymoon vacations!
It was paradise on earth! Everything was great, the flight, the vacations, the food, the water sports and of course, the spa. Most of all, the view from our room was breathless!
Our room was a water villa and was big enouph and romantically traditional with all the comforts. The Jacuzzi at the bathroom was an experience for us, also the bathroom in the garden!
We have enjoyed our honeymoon with relaxation.
The stuff was very kind to us and the variety of asian-european food and deserts was also good enough.
It was really worth it and will be always in my mind as the perfect place to enjoy the relaxation at the nature..!
What about the price? I think it's normal as a full packet, but the courses and the massage were a little bit expensive that we expected.
After all, someday, i will do it again!

Room Tip: The water villas includes a jacuzzi and the view is beautiful. Also, you can enjoy the beach and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear olgamattrips,

Sunny greetings from Meeru.

Thank you so much for your lovely review and it is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful honeymoon at Meeru Island Resort & Spa.

I am pleased to read that you and your partner liked all the facilities and service at the Resort. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the food, the watersports and you found the view of your room breathless. I agree only a honeymoon in the Maldives will give you that opportunity to make the best of every second of this valuable and romantic time with each other in total privacy with your own private bungalow. I am really happy you felt so relaxed after your holiday with us and we hope your memories will last long of your perfect place to enjoy the relaxation.

olgamattrips, we would be more than happy to welcome you back as a repeat guest in the near future. Please contact us directly if you need any assistance with your booking.

Warm regards,

Walter C. Kaufmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address: North Male' Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male' Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.