We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise to unwind in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Male' Atoll   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate & AIP
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Paradise to unwind in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Meeru resort for a week this January, and it was the most relaxing holiday we have had in years. The amenities are outstanding, with five restaurants, several pools, bars aplenty and outstanding accommodation. The food at the resort (and we tried ALL of the restaurants) was of very high quality, with the best fine dining experience at the Asian Wok restaurant. The thing that really made this an exceptional stay was the quality of the staff. Our waiter (Hassan) must have spent hours remembering where we liked to sit, how we had our coffee, and was always ready with a welcoming smile. We enjoyed a romantic dinner on the beach (highly recommended) for our 25th anniversary, for a sumptuous 7 course meal with Moet champagne and quality wines. Our waiter here also managed to get us booked in for a private teppanyaki meal the next day (and I mean private, as we were the only people in the restaurant!).
The snorkelling was excellent, given that the reefs of the island have seen better days, and we had many experiences with large colourful fish, the many reef sharks, and even a large moray eel. There is also some significant work going on to maintain and replenish the reef system, and sustainability is high on the agenda. The General Manager (Walter), the Guest Relations Manager (Marlene), and the Operations Manager were all the most wonderful and helpful people who made our stay more than pleasurable. We tried the island Spa, and have now become addicted to massage therapies (and that wonderful ginger and lemongrass tea). Both the Asian Wok and the Spa have glass floors, so the view around and under the water is fantastic. Whilst there are many activities on the island (including a scenic flight in a sea plane which I highly recommend, and a sunset cruise with time to watch the dolphins play), the layout makes you feel that you are on a private property. By this I mean that, with some 600 guests present, we rarely saw more than a dozen people whilst walking around during the day or night. We have never experienced this kind of careful planning before and it enabled total relaxation in a peaceful and beautiful environment.
I should confess that my wife won this trip in a raffle, so I cannot really comment on the price (other than to say that the value for us was outstanding). My heartfelt thanks and best wishes to our host, resort owner Ibrahim Noordin, for supplying the prize and meeting us for drinks one evening at the resort. He is a warm and welcoming man, whose interests clearly lie in providing the hotel guests with a high quality experience, whilst also very passionate about sustainability and environmental care of his beautiful home country.
As a busy person who enjoys travelling as a means of experiencing life, I found this trip to be perfect in enabling us to opt out of society for a week to recharge the batteries. As a final point, I left my laptop at home to avoid working through on this trip, and in hindsight feel that taking it might have been beneficial as I found myself inspired by the environment and the peaceful surrounds.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the rooms over the water with a Jacuzzi. Either the 300 or 700 designations, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear D0ra_The_Expl0rer,

Sunny greetings from Meeru Island Resort & Spa!

We were blown away from your wonderful review which you have shared with us. We were so pleased to hear that you had the most relaxing holiday after 5 years with us in Meeru Island resort & Spa.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the unique experience of our sea plane flight across the north male atoll, to experience our spa with our well skilled team and our Sunset Punch Cruise while watching dozen of dolphins.

But most of all I am pleased to learn you had the opportunity to dine in our Asian Wok restaurant for A la carte and our Japanese style of show cooking, Teppanyaki, and not to forget to mention your romantic Candle Light Dinner on the beach for your 25th Anniversary. It certainly gives different feelings for the guests to dine out from main restaurants. I will share your comments with our Executive Chef and his Team who will be most appreciative that their efforts were recognized.

I have passed on your kind words to Hassan, your waiter, Marlene, our Guest Service Manager and Areef, Director of Operations and our resort owner Ibrahim Noordin. I am glad to see that we met your expectation and could make your stay even more pleasurable.

And I am sure your detailed review of everything will help our future guests!

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to our island paradise, and assure you that we are ready to create many more relaxing memories and hope you won`t wait 5 years again for that!

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,064
    548
    137
    52
    33
See reviews for
218
2,199
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a special holiday for our 25th Anniversary also my husbands 50th birthday, It was the most amazing place ,stayed for 2 weeks in Jacuzzi water villa, we also went on the 3 day Cruise that was offered which if anyone does have the chance its a Must!!! food was fabulous too, we went Oct 21st and wasn't sure about the weather but a couple of showers was needed as very hot. Halloween party they put on was brilliant , staff can't do enough for you , will be making another trip .

Room Tip: I would advise on the jacuzzi water villa for that extra special touch , sitting on the balcony on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear jackrussellwendy,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and for spending your special occasions with Meeru Island Resort & Spa. I was thrilled to read that you truly enjoyed every activity especially our 3 days Cruise which I totally agree is a MUST to join. It is the best opportunity to cruise through the whole North Male Atoll and see the most wonderful places to snorkel, get experience in traditional Maldives night fishing and having a big barbeque on our local Kagi Island. It is an adventure for life, thanks to the wonderful crew.

We are glad you enjoyed our Halloween party and appreciate your wonderful praise.

We hope to welcome you soon again and if you need any assistance on your booking please don`t hesitate to contact us via e-mail address: reservations@meeru.com.

Best regards,
Management Team of Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked this last minute. Wow is all I can stay, when you step off the boat its like a dream! What an idyllic setting! & refreshing cocktail on arrival!

Overall the resort was amazing. Its so nice that the whole island is the hotel, so you can walk around at ease even at midnight! Some great spots for snorkeling at the resort... plus we did the snorkeling trip which we enjoyed and saw some amazing fish.

The only slightly negetive points were that we had to move rooms half way through our stay and also due to this had to move restaurants. The service in the first restaurant was fantastic, however it wasn't quite as good in the second (the one in the middle of the island). Both of these didnt spoil the experience though.

The spa was nice being able to see the sea whilst having a massage. Bars where all very nice too. Overall a fantastic trip, I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Emma,

Sunny greetings to you from Meeru Island Resort and Spa!

First of all, on behalf of the resort, I would like to thank you for sharing your precious feedback with us which provides us a chance to improve the services.

It is delightful to know that you and your boyfriend love the natural environment of the island, and received a ‘WOW’ feeling right after getting off the boat. In Maldives, approximately 200 islands are designed and built into resorts, and here is a concept called “one island, one resort.”

Besides, we provide complimentary House Reef Snorkeling for all in-house guests. In House Reef, corals and marine lives are resourceful and colorful, and it will be a marvelous and unforgettable experience for the snorkeling lovers!

Speaking of restaurants, there are 2 main restaurants in the resort. The Farivalhu Restaurant is located in the south and guests who stay in the southern part of island dine in this restaurant, and likewise, the other main restaurant called Maalan Restaurant is situated in the north, and guests who stay nearby that area are arranged to dine in this restaurant. In a word, it is mainly designed for the convenience of our guests.

We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience regarding the room and restaurant relocation, and glad to know that it does not influence your stay as a whole.

Last but not least, we are immensely satisfied to read that you would like to return and we certainly will do our best to exceed your expectation for your next coming visit!

We are looking forward to seeing you and your boyfriend as a Repeater Guests in Meeru Island Resort & Spa!

Warmest regards,

Walter Kaufmann
General Manager of Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We travelled to meeru over Christmas and new year 2013 which was our second visit to this wonderful island.We upgraded this time to a Jacuzzi water villa which was a real treat well worth doing. The island is lovely, and the wildlife fab my husband spent most days in the ocean doing his nemo impression. Know onto the christmas and new year gala diners what can I say truly amazing the different foods on over were really good lots and lots of choice. The new years eve dinner and beach party were fabulous the effort that the staff and management put into everybody having a good time is unbelievable and again amazing.The staff and management go out of there way to help you.We will definitely be back already looking for Christmas 2014 if you are considering this island do not hesitate just book it you wont be disappointed. See you soon meeru xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sharon,

Warm greetings to you from Meeru Island Resort & Spa!

First of all, I would like to thank you for your generous feedback.

I am very glad to know that you had a great stay with us during your holidays.

As you mentioned, during the festive season, the resort put a lot of effort on the entertainment programs as to provide our dear Guests a fabulous and impressive experience. This 2014 New Year, for instance, we invited a famous DJ from Australia for the party, and as well our Management Team produced several video clips consisting of warm and sweet New Year’s wishes to families and friends by interviewing guests coming from the different part of the world.

All of the effort we have made is to illustrate our Management Team and staff‘s determination of reaching the guests’ satisfaction and exceeding guests’ expectation.

We are happy to know that you are planning to visit us again, and please kindly let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you planning the future visit. Please feel free to contact us via e-mail address: reservations@meeru.com.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Meeru Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you & best regards,

Walter Kaufmann
General Manager
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Meeru from 2nd Dec to 7th December and our stay was magnificent!!
We got upgraded to the honeymoon Suite on arrival for the first 2 days of our stay, the villa was in the middle of the ocean and was breathtaking.the island was in itself very clean and well managed. We took bicycles and used them to explore the island. The activities were great, food was delicious and the staff was extremely helpful. We considered a lot of resorts before finalising meeru and do not regret the decision. Would definitely return to Meeru and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Pick a jacuzzi beach villa on the adult side.they are spacious and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear RohanM626,

Sunny Greetings from your holiday destination!

Thank you for choosing Meeru Island Resort and Spa for your special occasion. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us.

Indeed, it is a unique experience to stay in on of our- Honeymoon Suites which we totally agree are breathtaking and makes your Honeymoon even more special to enjoy the privacy and togetherness with the perfect view of the Indian Ocean with crystal clear water surrounded. We are glad it works so well on you.

Also, we would like to thank you for your positive commentsabout the delicious food and the helpful staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back for your first Wedding Anniversary!

Management of Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visited Meeru over the Christmas and New Year Period and both my wife and I were very impressed. This was our second visit to the Maldives, our first in 2009 to Kuredu, so we knew how tranquil these islands are. Firstly Meeru met all of our expectations, this resort had been recommended and I had read the differing trip advisor reviews. We stayed in the Beach Villas (400's). The beauty about this side of the island is that there is a constant wind coming in off the ocean whereas on the other side there is no breeze and it is blistering hot. We were also very near to the Adults infinity pool. You can do as little or as much as you wish on this island. We went snorkelling most days, even Christmas day, there was always something new to see, amazing. The beach also had its fair share of wildlife with the Hermit and Ghost crabs scuttling about. All of the bars have their own individual ambience but our favourite was the Asian Wok with the sunset cocktails. The order of the day would be to sit on the ledge overlooking the sea, observe the small reef sharks and watch the sun go down. The cocktails aren't included in the all inclusive package, but at $5 each it's hardly going to break the bank. This is without doubt one of the the highlights and one of the most relaxing ways to end a day. Christmas Eve was fantastic with a reception on the beach and carol singers. The Food was amazing and just too much to choose from. New Years Eve was also amazing, great food (too much again) great service and a disco on the beach which really made us realise how lucky we were to be able to do this. The cleanliness on the island is remarkable, together with the service and staff friendliness. We had one minor issue whilst we were there which was dealt with promptly and efficiently by the management team. I would highly reccomend Meeru, it was a great experience and I came away totally relaxed at the end of it. Would I return? definitely.

Room Tip: If you want the constant breeze then go to side of the island with the 400 beach villas and 700 wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear maldav50,

Sunny Greetings from your holiday destination!

Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking the time to share your experience with us. It was truly a joy to read your fantastic feedback and we are more than happy to meet your expectations.

We were very excited to read that your holiday experience was so amazing and that you enjoyed going snorkeling every day to see the variety of special fishes, to experience the Asian Wok restaurant for a nice sunset cocktail. As you mentioned, those cocktails are not part of our All Inclusive Package as they are part of daily Special Offer in the bars. Thank you for sharing your lovely relaxing highlight and to show us the way how to end a day in paradise!

It is a pleasure to learn that you appreciate particularly Christmas Eve and New Year`s Eve. Our chef and his Team worked hard to create memorable dining experiences during the festive season and also our Service Team who prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every possible way. We are proud to learn that you impressed by it.

Thank you so much for your strong recommendation and we are sure your experience with us and your review will help our future guests.

Thank you again for selecting us and on behalf of the entire Team, we are looking forward welcoming you and your wife back very soon!

Best Regards,
Management of Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Meeru from 23rd Dec to 6th January 2014 in 2 Beach Villa's in the 400's, with our 2 children age 12 and 15. The Beach Villa's were spacious, in a lovely position and had an open-air wet room which we loved. The Room Boy cleaned twice a day, the turndown service was good with new beach towels delivered and minibar and toiletries replenished.
The Christmas and New Year program at Meeru was incredible. The staff worked tirelessly, even through the night, to present the Christmas Eve cocktail party on the beach followed by Gala dinner and the spectacular NYE dinner and party. It was an experience we will never forget, ice sculptures, sumptuous food displays, Santa arriving by boat on Christmas Eve, Kayak racing on Christmas Day and the countdown to 2014 with light display over the sea and beach disco.
Although the resort was full, the beaches appeared almost empty. We enjoyed snorkelling all round the island, the current can be strong especially in the afternoon. We saw hundreds of fish, reef sharks, rays and a turtle on the house reef boat trip.
We recommend taking lots of sun cream (expensive in the gift shop), a good underwater camera, reef shoes (some parts of the beach and seabed are sharp) and snorkel and mask.
We did the sea plane photography trip which was expensive for only 20 minutes but a good experience. Trips are easy to book, on iPads in the hotel reception. There are also activities to sign up for, we did the Nature Walk, New Years Day Olympics, Staff vs Guest football match (staff won). Walking round the island takes about 40 minutes, a bit of exercise much needed between the magnificent buffets! We could not fault the food, it was varied, well presented, very tasty and plentiful. The cooking stations were especially good with roasts, marinated meats and fish. The dessert, bread, cheese and fruit displays were lovely.
The evening entertainment was good, the enjoyed the Glow Party and Crab Racing. We found the staff to be very friendly and will always happy to say hello when you pass them, from the man who sweeps leaves every day to the general manager.
We would love to return to Meeru one day. Its been 3 days since we felt the sand in our toes and the sun on our face. Thank you for the most wonderful Christmas and New Year Meeru.

Room Tip: We liked 400's and 500's, this side is more breezy with shade on the beach if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalterKaufmann, General Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear JulieMc2014,

Sunny Greetings from your holiday Destination!

It is an honor for us to read that you and the rest of your family truly enjoyed every aspect of your vacations with us!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed daily snorkeling trip to our housereef, our famous photo-flight excursion on the Seaplane across the North male atoll.
We are delighted to learn that you enlarge your knowledge base about the uniqueness of the environment during the Nature Walk excursion. And as well we are glad that you took part in the winning football match, glow party and crab races.

Moreover, we are happy that you impressed by the work of our Executive Chef and his Team who do their best to provide plenty of choice of international and local cuisine each day.

We really appreciate your wonderful comments on our Management and Staff team who worked very hard to create unforgettable moments to our dear guests during the festive season. Thank you for the motivating feedback. It does mean a lot to us!

Once again, thank you so much for visiting us and we would be more than happy to welcome you back as a Repeater guest at Meeru Island Resort & Spa in the near future.

Best Regards,

Management
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address: North Male' Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male' Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.