We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must tick this box!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You must tick this box!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We wanted an island that could offer us all a totally relaxing holiday but with plenty of activities for my son (15) and I who wanted just a little more than chilling the complete time. My wife and daughter ( 18 ) just indulged themselves to strolls around the island or just laying on there sunbeds.
I read lots of reviews on this resort and contacted one reviewer Chris asking him lots of questions. He obliged with answers and more, basically went out of his way in offering advice as he and his wife Sharon are regular visitors. He organised through his friend Noora - Supervisor at the Asian Wok ( go there!) to have beach villas 251 and 252. Thanks Noora for all your help. Great location on the east side of the island, we virtually had our own private beach. Thanks mate it was as good as you said it was and more. If I can now do the same for another family or couple, will only be too pleased to do so, you cant beat recommendations from people who have experienced the island and its wonderful people.
I like so many others have to say ignore the 'moaners' with there negative reviews ( not that there are many which speaks volumes doesn't it?) You can always find faults if its in your mind set!
Flew direct with BA from Gatwick - good flight, plenty of entertainment. 10mins wait for transfer speedboat.
1 hr later met with wonderful reception and coconut milk drink. 10 mins to fill in forms and straight to villas ( slick).
Would recommend All inclusive if you can, as this covers the majority of the activities as well as the drinks and food. Food really is amazing, the variety is exceptional. If you go ask for Mustafa ( farivalhu restaurant ) he was very attentive. Plenty of bars to choose from, we spent the majority of our time at the Dhoni bar due to its location and more importantly our new friend Saheed ( AKA Mr Puzzle!) this guy knows a thing or to about customer service let me tell you. He was fantastic with my kids and was very personable with my wife and I. Nearly everyday he challenged us to a puzzle, often bring out his box of matches and creating a brain teaser! Top man Saheed- thanks buddy! Please go out your way to look him out, nothing is ever too much trouble for him. Another special mention to our room boy Mohammed, great job, asked me everyday if everything was ok, If I needed anything he stopped what he was doing and went and got it for us.
We have just returned 11th July to 22nd July 2013) weather was fantastic, couple of half days cloudy and a couple of showers at night, other than that wall to wall sun and very hot.
Go on the sunset cruise to see the dolphins, go and have the back massage at the spa ( go for the strong massage)............
Just go and book it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear PRN63,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear Chris one of our return guests was more than happy to answer your questions and that Noora was able to assist at Meeru.

Thank you for mentioning our staff by their names, it makes it easier for management to identify staff that is doing a remarkable job without going unnoticed.

We always striving to exceed guest expectations and we glad we were able to exceed yours.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,620
    440
    116
    45
    31
See reviews for
155
1758
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The island is beautiful, water and beaches are fantastic. The Jacuzzi Beach Vila that we stayed was very nice too, although you would find it a little uncomfortable because of the small ants appearing everywhere.

The buffets were not great however, both in quality and variety. Even though the foods offered in the expensive a-la-carte restaurants of Asian Wok and Hot Rock still have a big room for improvement.

The staff in general are friendly and helpful. If being asked what we expect further, we would say we like to see more smiles from the receptionists (both from the Main and the North receptions).

In overall, regardless of what is not great, with the price level Meeru is currently offering it's a good value for the money, in overall.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Beach Villas near the North cape (Uthuru bar) are good for couples who want quietness an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Cuong_V_Nguyen,

Thank you for your review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa

We thank you for advising us of your experience, your input is valued and is being addressed with Management who will make sure that our standards stay of the highest quality our guests are accustomed to.

We are always striving to be the best. Please email us directly with suggestions on what sort of variety of food you would like to see offered in our restaurants.

We happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay at Meeru.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a long overdue review. Whenever someone asks what is the best vacation I ever had.. its a no brainer response.. definitely Maldives! Meeru Island was the perfect choice! We availed of the all inclusive package and it was truly worth it as you don't have to think about what and where to eat. Plus the package includes alcoholic beverage so its pretty much worth every cent.

We get to stay in the water villa which is truly fantastic! I love that you have your private sun beds to soak up all the sun and you wake up to this magnificent view of the ocean. I would definitely recommend Meeru for being an affordable luxury ;)

Don't wait any longer, just book now and see the bluest of the blue waters and the finest of the fine sands of Maldives. Its truly Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Lynnel_13,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa after nearly a year.

Your feedback on the rooms and the Island’s natural beauty is much appreciated.

We are truly happy your stay at Meeru was a magical one.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed on Meeru for 7 nights with family, was a bit worried the boys would get bored, but they loved as we did too. We all loved the snorkelling, and boat trip to the reef, kayaking around the island. Food was fantastic, service fantastic, staff cannot do enough for you. Spa was so relaxing, try a hot stones massage it was brilliant. Loved every bit of this holiday, can not fault it one bit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kazcon,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

Meeru is definitely geared for families; so happy your boys were not bored. With all the activities, snorkeling and games room we make sure there is something to do for every family.

We agree Duniye spa’s hot stone massage’s are phenomenal, when you walk out of the spa you feel much lighter and your every day stress is gone.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Meeru resort for 10 days as part of my girlfriends 40th birthday surprise. She had no idea where she was going until we arrived at terminal 3 at Heathrow airport. I admit I was worried about booking this trip, not because of the island, accommodation or food. I knew they would be great judging from the reviews on here. It was the weather I was worried about.. I needn't of, it was fantastic. Yeah there was a few heavy downpours for 15 minutes or so and rain through the night but most days were glorious and sunny.. And very hot.
Loved it here. We had a beach villa, number 250, we loved it, the location was perfect, 10-15 yards from the sea. Most morning we would awake around 7am and take an early morning dip in the Indian Ocean. We specially liked the lagoon side of the island. Very peaceful and the waters were calm.
The food is amazing and our waiter for the duration was Ahmed. ( farivalhu restaurant ) what a lovely guy. He became a friend. Nothing was too much trouble. We even played jokes on him and he did us. We laughed so much. The guys in the Pavillion bar were great too. We had many a night in there. A remarkable holiday. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Pat Coppo,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We are happy the weather played along for your girlfriend’s 40th Birthday surprise holiday, she must have loved every minute.

Thank you for mentioning our staff by their names, it makes it easier for management to identify staff that is doing a remarkable job without going unnoticed.

We will make sure Ahmed at Farivalu Buffet Restaurant knows you enjoyed his jokes.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was booked to stay on Male, the capital island, but due to refurbishment work, Ramadan, and the lovely weather, decided to go with colleagues to Meeru resort overnight. Took advantage of a great low season promotion and it was all efficiently dealt with by email, almost instantly. Following morning, boat was sent for us ( 50 min journey ) and we arrived to what must be everyone's idea of the Maldives - picture perfect, peaceful, great food, lovely beach and warm attentive staff. The water villas are heaven, with tropical fish all around in crystal clear waters, A great respite from the city and, if you can find a good deal, then actually good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a water villa - buy your wines at happy hour (30% off) and the staff wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jon I,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

Wow, only 1 night with us, you will have to come back and experience a whole week or two on your next trip to the Maldives.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went to The Meeru Resort for 7 days in June and wished we could have stayed longer!! This island is pure paradise. It is quite a large island compared to other resorts in the Maldives which means there are better facilities and more things to do during your stay at the resort. We booked a Jacuzzi Water Villa and it was amazing and so spacious. We had a front deck and back deck where your jacuzzi is sitting. The great thing about the Jacuzzi Watervillas is you can just walk down your steps, pop on your snorkelling gear and get to witness lots of sea life from beautiful coloured and very unusual fish, black tip reef shark (very tame),stingray and lots more! The snorkelling here is amazing!!
The food at the resort is excellent and such a fantastic choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Buffet Restaurant. Our main waiter Marfaan in the buffet restaurant was very polite and friendly throughout our stay at Meeru. We also spent alot of evenings at The Pavilion Bar as it was located beside our Jacuzzi Water Villa. The staff here were very friendly,polite and great fun to be around. The barmaid Nella & barman Shareef were always smiling and were such a delight to see every morning on our way to breakfast and evening. We even nicknamed the bar Nella's Bar as Nella was always there and such great fun.
It was my Husbands birthday during our stay and we decided to book the Teppanyaki Table on the night of his birthday at the Asian Wok Restaurant. I cannot highly recommend this restaurant enough, we had such an enjoyable evening. Our Chef Trevin was a true gentleman and did an excellent job and the food was so tasty!! Well done Trevin! Our wonderful waiter Rainzy looked after us very well and finished off our night with a beautiful chocolate birthday cake and we all sang Happy Birthday to my Husband. We thoroughly enjoyed our night here!
The over-water spa is definitely a must do if you can...we booked a couples massage at the over-water spa which was very reasonable and a very relaxing experience, you can watch the fish and mini-sharks swim by as you face down looking through this amazing glass floor beneath you.
If you are thinking about going to The Maldives, Meeru is definitely the resort to go for. Meeru has so much to offer and the Staff are so friendly and happy here...we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Claire S,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We are delighted to hear your 7 days at Meeru were so memorable.

Thank you for mentioning our staff by their names, it makes it easier for management to identify staff that is doing a remarkable job without going unnoticed.

Your experience at Pavilion Bar (Adults only bar), which is tranquil and has a breathtaking setting sounds lovely . We will make sure Nelly gets told it is now Nelly’s bar.

The Teppenyaki at Asian Wok is great for special occasions. We delighted your husband enjoyed his birthday and his birthday cake.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Hotel
Meeru Island Resort
Meeru Island
Meeru
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island
Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male’ Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.