We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Male' Atoll, Repulic of Maldives   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed on Meeru for 7 nights with family, was a bit worried the boys would get bored, but they loved as we did too. We all loved the snorkelling, and boat trip to the reef, kayaking around the island. Food was fantastic, service fantastic, staff cannot do enough for you. Spa was so relaxing, try a hot stones massage it was brilliant. Loved every bit of this holiday, can not fault it one bit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kazcon,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

Meeru is definitely geared for families; so happy your boys were not bored. With all the activities, snorkeling and games room we make sure there is something to do for every family.

We agree Duniye spa’s hot stone massage’s are phenomenal, when you walk out of the spa you feel much lighter and your every day stress is gone.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    495
    130
    49
    32
See reviews for
186
2,008
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Meeru resort for 10 days as part of my girlfriends 40th birthday surprise. She had no idea where she was going until we arrived at terminal 3 at Heathrow airport. I admit I was worried about booking this trip, not because of the island, accommodation or food. I knew they would be great judging from the reviews on here. It was the weather I was worried about.. I needn't of, it was fantastic. Yeah there was a few heavy downpours for 15 minutes or so and rain through the night but most days were glorious and sunny.. And very hot.
Loved it here. We had a beach villa, number 250, we loved it, the location was perfect, 10-15 yards from the sea. Most morning we would awake around 7am and take an early morning dip in the Indian Ocean. We specially liked the lagoon side of the island. Very peaceful and the waters were calm.
The food is amazing and our waiter for the duration was Ahmed. ( farivalhu restaurant ) what a lovely guy. He became a friend. Nothing was too much trouble. We even played jokes on him and he did us. We laughed so much. The guys in the Pavillion bar were great too. We had many a night in there. A remarkable holiday. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Pat Coppo,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We are happy the weather played along for your girlfriend’s 40th Birthday surprise holiday, she must have loved every minute.

Thank you for mentioning our staff by their names, it makes it easier for management to identify staff that is doing a remarkable job without going unnoticed.

We will make sure Ahmed at Farivalu Buffet Restaurant knows you enjoyed his jokes.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was booked to stay on Male, the capital island, but due to refurbishment work, Ramadan, and the lovely weather, decided to go with colleagues to Meeru resort overnight. Took advantage of a great low season promotion and it was all efficiently dealt with by email, almost instantly. Following morning, boat was sent for us ( 50 min journey ) and we arrived to what must be everyone's idea of the Maldives - picture perfect, peaceful, great food, lovely beach and warm attentive staff. The water villas are heaven, with tropical fish all around in crystal clear waters, A great respite from the city and, if you can find a good deal, then actually good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a water villa - buy your wines at happy hour (30% off) and the staff wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jon I,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

Wow, only 1 night with us, you will have to come back and experience a whole week or two on your next trip to the Maldives.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went to The Meeru Resort for 7 days in June and wished we could have stayed longer!! This island is pure paradise. It is quite a large island compared to other resorts in the Maldives which means there are better facilities and more things to do during your stay at the resort. We booked a Jacuzzi Water Villa and it was amazing and so spacious. We had a front deck and back deck where your jacuzzi is sitting. The great thing about the Jacuzzi Watervillas is you can just walk down your steps, pop on your snorkelling gear and get to witness lots of sea life from beautiful coloured and very unusual fish, black tip reef shark (very tame),stingray and lots more! The snorkelling here is amazing!!
The food at the resort is excellent and such a fantastic choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Buffet Restaurant. Our main waiter Marfaan in the buffet restaurant was very polite and friendly throughout our stay at Meeru. We also spent alot of evenings at The Pavilion Bar as it was located beside our Jacuzzi Water Villa. The staff here were very friendly,polite and great fun to be around. The barmaid Nella & barman Shareef were always smiling and were such a delight to see every morning on our way to breakfast and evening. We even nicknamed the bar Nella's Bar as Nella was always there and such great fun.
It was my Husbands birthday during our stay and we decided to book the Teppanyaki Table on the night of his birthday at the Asian Wok Restaurant. I cannot highly recommend this restaurant enough, we had such an enjoyable evening. Our Chef Trevin was a true gentleman and did an excellent job and the food was so tasty!! Well done Trevin! Our wonderful waiter Rainzy looked after us very well and finished off our night with a beautiful chocolate birthday cake and we all sang Happy Birthday to my Husband. We thoroughly enjoyed our night here!
The over-water spa is definitely a must do if you can...we booked a couples massage at the over-water spa which was very reasonable and a very relaxing experience, you can watch the fish and mini-sharks swim by as you face down looking through this amazing glass floor beneath you.
If you are thinking about going to The Maldives, Meeru is definitely the resort to go for. Meeru has so much to offer and the Staff are so friendly and happy here...we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Claire S,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We are delighted to hear your 7 days at Meeru were so memorable.

Thank you for mentioning our staff by their names, it makes it easier for management to identify staff that is doing a remarkable job without going unnoticed.

Your experience at Pavilion Bar (Adults only bar), which is tranquil and has a breathtaking setting sounds lovely . We will make sure Nelly gets told it is now Nelly’s bar.

The Teppenyaki at Asian Wok is great for special occasions. We delighted your husband enjoyed his birthday and his birthday cake.

We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are happy we have exceeded yours.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Our honeymoon was September 2012 - October 2012 and we had an amazing time.

We were thrilled to be offered the 3 day cruise upon arrival and to be honest it was probably the best part of the honeymoon. The food on the boat was incredible and the opportunity to fish for our own food for the next days lunch was brilliant. The fish and sea life on the sand bank snorkelling were one of my favourite memories ever. Swimming around holding hands with my husband and admiring our wedding rings twinkling in the sun under the Indian Ocean. Can't think of anything better really.

We were then upgraded to 'all inclusive plus' on return to the resort which basically meant we
got free drinks in the room which we were v pleased with as would have been v annoying to have to have taken them from the restaurant with us.

Other than at dinner we barely saw other guests which suited us perfectly. We just squirrelled ourselves away in our brilliant love compound - a.k.a our jacuzzi beach villa - the way it is set out makes it very private and we had our own portion of the beach once we'd dragged our loungers out on day 1.

Our waiter was Shyam and he was very friendly and a great guy.

Loved cocktails of the day in the beach bar before dinner. The food was pretty good. We agree that the snack bar system left a little to be desired though and some more all inclusive drinks options would have been nice.

Towards the end of our stay reception was shut for refurbishment. One of the pools was also shut and the renovations were quite noisy and included power tools. I would have been very annoyed to have a room near the works but thankfully ours was at the other end of the island.

If we hadn't have been on the 3 day cruise I think I might have got a bit ready for somewhere else if we had ten whole nights at meeru but the combination of boat and a week on the island was perfect for us.

To be honest we were soooooo impressed with our free 15 minute massage that we booked a couples massage for a few days later over the over water spa. My second masseuse was not as good as the first though so I wish I had Booked the second one with the lady who did my first.

I'd go back to meeru in a heartbeat. We went with kuoni and got free lounge access on the way home. Unfortunately our flight was cancelled on the way home. Overnight stay at airport then followed. BA were a shambles in getting it sorted out but we did then get a compensation cheque a few weeks later after we had claimed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Littlemissj,

Thank you for your generous review and for taking the time out to write a review over a year after your honeymoon at Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We are pleased to hear you honeymoon was more than you expected and that you enjoyed the 3-day cruise.

You will have to come back for your one-year anniversary as we have implemented a lot of new changes since your last stay.

Café Meeru is our latest addition to our various restaurants and bars on Meeru. Café Meeru is a 24-hour outlet that offers delicious light meals and snacks and is situated next to the Dhoni Bar pool.
Dhoni Bar and the reception have also had a refurbishment since your honeymoon. The gym has also been extended and has brand new equipment. Our Jacuzzi Beach Villa’s and Beach Villa’s have been given a facelift.

So now just to persuade you husband.

We hope to welcome you back to our tranquil shores.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Meeru for our Honeymoon June 24th to July 5th.

We were choosing place thoroughly and decided to go here. So based on others' reviews we were expecting to come to absolute paradise.

And that is exactly what we got. Great service, fantastic food, huge choice of activities (snorkelling, diving, wind surfing, canoes, a very good football pitch and of course beautiful sea).

The island itself is big enough comparing to other Maldives islands, so we nearly never met anyone otherwise than in the restaurant, which was great for us since we were on our honeymoon and quite tired of all the hustle and bustle back at home.

Service is just sky high in ebery bit, waiter Hassan in the restaurant was really nice and it was a real pleasure to have a small chat during the dinner. The villa was always kept in perfect condition with cleaning twice a day.

There are enough reefs around the island, so you can spend time looking at beautiful nature in the water. Twice a day there is a free trip to the house reef (about 10 minutes on the speed-boat), which is quite big and there lives a turtle, so don't miss it! The ship stands there for about 1 hour.

There is also a great SPA on the island. There are two of them, Overwater and in the middle of the island. Activities in overwater one cost a bit more, but it is definitely better: you have massage and look at the fish through the glass in the floor at the same time!

We booked a photographer (not the ceremony, just photos), who was really nice and made great photos. We also went for candle light dinner, which is a bit overpriced probably, but you still get a great experience of dinner in dark on the sand.

If you want to look for usual Maldivian life take the "Island Hoping" excursion (full day spent on four different islands) rather than go to capital Male. Still Male is also quite interesting, local market offers some local fruits, nuts and sweets.

About the souvenirs: souvenir shop has normal prices comparing with the ones on other islands (except for cigarettes: prices in hotel are around $6.50 a pack and in Male we bought $2 a pack). But the cheapest prices for souvenirs are in the airport in Duty Free, when leaving. We were a bit surprised to see the same stuff much cheaper.

Overall we got an experience to remember for the whole life, so thanks a lot for our great honeymoon.

Room Tip: If you are going for Jacuzzi Beach Villa - 660 has the best possible view, although jacuzzi is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Anton A,

Thank you for your generous review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We appreciate your mention of Hassan by name, it makes it easier for management to identify that he is doing a remarkable job without going unnoticed.

We glad to see you managed to try out a lot of our excursions on offer; our complimentary boat to house reef, Male sighting seeing excursion and our popular Island Hopping excursion. You will have to come back to experience the rest.

Duniye Spa is a must for Honeymooners; we hope you got to try out the couples massage. The team at Duniye is experts in their fields and you always leave feeling revitalized and relaxed.

We hope to welcome you back for your one year anniversary.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Firstly, just wanted to let anyone know who has read any bad reviews that they have nothing to worry about !
Our BA flight was as usual pretty uncomfortable and tiring but its direct and you are in heaven in just ten hours. So we didn't have to wait long for our speedboat transfer which I was a little concerned about (incase we got sea sickness) but I have to say it was really nice. It was very relaxing and most people went to sleep. We saw loads of dolphins, what a great start to our holiday.
We arrived on Meeru Island and we were greeted with a drink (as always in the Maldives) we waited in the bar area whilst filling out our forms. This didn't take long and we were off to our room. We had requested a jacuzzi beach villa in the 600's one which is nearest to the Maalan restaurant not too far back from the sea with a view of the sea. I am very pleased to say that this is exactly what we got. Our room had a lovely view (room 657) waking up to the turquoise sea was excellent. So the rooms are very nice and clean with everything you would need. Great outdoor shower. The jacuzzi was a little out of date but served the purpose and to be honest we didnt actually use it very much. However the location of this rooms are good so I would recommend them.
Restaurant - The Maalan was lovely very much like Vilamendhoo, you could sit where ever you liked and it was particularly nice to sit outside for breakfast with views over the sea.
Our waiter was Shiyam who was excellent. He kept our drinks coming and looked after us really well. He was a very nice friendly guy who had a laugh with us and chatted. I do hope the management will recognise his efforts as he really deserves it.
Also I have allergies so I would like to thank Sumit who really looked after me and gave a highlighted sheet every meal time showing which food I could eat. The food was very good, loved the peppered beef and the roast chicken was really good too. The best night was definately Maldivian night. They had prepared lots of different curries which were fabulous. Overall the food was very good lots of fish but also pork,lamb,chicken,beef etc. The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to see curry on offer more often. I think I ate curry every day at Vilamendhoo !(which was fabulous) Every Island we have been to has always had curries most days (alongside the other dishes) so I was quite surprised to not see much curry. However Sumit did actually make me some curry on a few occasions so it was really nice to see such good service. Also just wanted to mention Sasi, as he really looked after my husband making his stir fries extra spicy, very impressed.
The bars - They were all very good, good service, drinks, atmosphere. The main bar had something going on most nights which was good, you could take it or leave it. There are other quiet bars if you don't want entertainment.
Sadly there was much snorkelling on this Island but to be honest I didnt mind because the lagoon was lovely for swimming and we have been to the Maldives so many times it wasn't at the top of the list. You do need to do your research before coming to the Maldives to make sure you get what you are expecting.
Swimming pools - two pools both lovely. The adult only is an infinity pool and the other is set back from the beach. Both very clean, good service when you want a drink. (Dont even need to get off your sunbed)
The Island itself was very good, always people sweeping up, well kept and very friendly happy staff. Nice to see the staff have their own swimming pool too.
We have visited 9 times, to Meedhupparu, Sun Island, Taj Coral Reef (now Vivanta), Laguna Beach (now Velassaru), Kuredu, Kuramathi, Mirihi, Vilamendhoo and now Meeru of course which we really enjoyed.
I wouldn't change much at all, just maybe the doors to the rooms but just to say to all those people who may have been concerned about rats and other outrageous ridiculous reviews - its all nonsense!!! I did not see one single rat or spider or anything else like that. Meeru is a really good resort and I would recommend it and I would definately go back.
Great holiday, missing Meeru already ! Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi beach villas in the 600's towards the Maalan restaurant end are closer to the sea on a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear TracyL,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

I see you have been to Maldives 9 times, wow, we happy to see Kuredu and Vilamendhoo as Island’s you have visited, as they are our Sister Island’s.

We hope you got to see the newest extension to the airport, they have added 2 new restaurants and a coffee shop.

Thank you for mentioning our staff by their names, it makes it easier for management to identify staff that is doing a remarkable job without going unnoticed. Our staff is an extension of Meeru a very important extension.

Your feedback on our restaurants, food, resort facilities and staff facilities is appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back soon.


Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address: North Male' Atoll, Repulic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male' Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.