We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ignore the negative reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ignore the negative reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

this was our 9th trip to the maldives ( 1st to Meeru ) and it was better than expected, we had read some reviews on here about overbooking, rats, transfer delays, etc etc, we took some advice from Adrian at Seven Holidays ( great site for reviews on the Maldives ) Adrian had helped us before with Island choices and he is always spot on, sadly the flight was rubbish, looked like an old BA plane, was nice to see the improvements at the airport since last year, no delay on the speedboat transfer, spotted lots of Dolphins on the way, check in was quick and smooth, we got the room we requested ( JBV IN THE 600'S ) had a nice view of the sea from the bed, lovely bathroom and outside area, room was very nice, we ate at the Maalan which has a great location, food was very good, lots of variety,Tracy has an allergy to eggs but Sumit gave her a list every meal time to show her what she could eat which was great, the bars were all very good, Kakuni is lively, Dhoni is Cool and the Uthuru is very quiet and relaxed, both the swimming pools were good.
an afternoon drink at the Asian Wok is a must, just sit on the edge on the cushions and take in the beautiful views.

NO RATS
NO OVERBOOKING
NO DELAYS

We were also lucky with the weather, we have tried all different times of the year and it is always good, bit of rain doesn't normally last too long.
the gym was basic but ok.
overwater spa was lovely ( bit too strong for Tracy and she asked for it gentle )
everything on Meeru was great, mainly because the staff are brilliant, everybody is happy and smiling and happy to help you.
staff that I have to mention as they were SO good

Sumit the chef in the Maalan as he helped tracy 3 times a day with the menu.

Sasi on the cooking station, great pasta and noodles and a really nice guy.

my favourite was Shiyam our waiter, he was very chatty and knew lots about Maldive history and Islands etc ( and always seemed to know when my glass was getting low )

only negative was the snorkeling around the island wasn't all that but the do provide a trip to the local house reef everyday.

we had a great time on Meeru and can understand why people return time and time again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Geezerl,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a extensive review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

Wow your 9th trip to the Maldives, we hope to see you back for your 10th stay.

We appreciate you personally mentioning our staff by name for their amazing service. It is important to us to ensure our staff our recognized for their great service and professionalism. Your feedback has assisted us in doing so.

We agree about the old gym being basic, we have just opened the new gym a week go that has new state of the art equipment. You can now run/walk and watch television at the same time.

At Meeru we want to exceed our guest expectations. We are happy to know we achieved this and hope to see you back soon on our tranquil shores.


Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,620
    440
    116
    45
    31
See reviews for
155
1758
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with First Choice/Thomson 2 week stay for our honeymoon in June/July 2013.

Stayed in a jacuzzi beach villa number 119 on an all inclusive plus package. We were allocated the central restaurant (starts with an F).

Transfer to the Island was very efficient and quick. Rooms 119 and surrounding are very close to the beach and you have private sun loungers. The island was very quiet and you would often find yourselves being one of few at the pool. No getting up at stupid o'clock to get a lounger.

Food was great and varied. Not just fish as is often mentioned. The Asian Wok if a little pricey is very tasty.

There are various bars dotted around the edge of the island. We spent most evenings in the Dhoni Bar which is next to the pool. Saeed the supervisor at the Dhoni is a great man. Very funny and intelligent. Meeru should identify his potential further!

The AIP plan includes the usual and around 8 cocktails, iced coffees, toasted sandwiches if you can't be bothered with lunch at the restaurant. The plan also stretches to the mini bar with most drinks within part of the deal however there is a list showing what is AIP and what is not. No wrist bands are worn. You regularly have to sign for what is eaten or drunk and its checked over by Meeru.

The sunset punch cruise was great. Saw dolphins and the weather was good. Unlike the second week which often rained and blew a gale. It is rainy season though.

Meeru is a larger than normal island, very clean with modern features. I suspect some of these aspects take away slightly from what the Maldives is all about however I would return.

I was somewhat disappointed with the prices of the excursions put on by Meeru. Fishing for 2 at $ 220 and 8 for around $1000! Why so much? We were looking forward to some excursions but the prices put us off.

Would not have minded playing on the pitch and putt in the second week when the weather was a bit off. Again a bit pricey for what it is and probably should be AI. The driving range is AI but you don't get the 100 balls advertised.

In short we loved our honeymoon. There are one or two things we would have liked different. From what we saw and from talking to staff such as Saeed, Meeru appears to be a very well run ship which also looks after its staff. A top end island for its price range. Lots of happy memories and pals made.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Fat60,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We honored to have you spend your honeymoon with us.

We appreciate your special Mention on Saeed, it is so important to us that we make sure our staff our recognized for their great service and professionalism. Your feedback has assisted us in doing so.

Your feedback on our facilities, service, staff and outlets has been appreciated.
Thank you for your suggestions this will be discussed with our Management team and taken into consideration.

At Meeru we want to exceed our guest expectations. We are happy to know we achieved this and you had a romantic sunny Maldives holiday.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Meeru and fourth holiday in the Maldives. I thought it was a really lovely island - well run, clean, great room (Beach Villa 207), great food. Can't fault anything really except my tiny gripe that Meeru's house reef is only accessible by boat (free trips every day) and as someone who loves to snorkel I do prefer it if you can swim out from the beach without relying on boats, that said it would probably suit people who are not that confident snorkeling as one of the water sport staff leads the trips and we did see a pod of dolphins one day, also saw turtles, morays. I loved that the island has a lot of vegetation and lots of wildlife (bats, lizards, gekkos) yes we saw a couple of rats in the bushes and there were a few ants in our outside bathroom (but what do you expect in the tropics?) Lovely infinity pool where you can have cocktails & iced coffee. Fantastic over water spa - treatments similar to UK prices. All staff polite and efficient. So apart from the reef thing I'd say my favourite island so far and I would definitely return! Flew with Qatar Airways, changed at Doha and found it much better than flying direct as you get a bit of a breather half way. Take insect repellant as lots of Mozzies! (probably because it's quite a green island).

Room Tip: I prefer beach villas to over water villas as the latter can be a bit like sleeping above a washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Claire-Stevie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

Wow, to be your favorite Island in the Maldives is an honor.

The accessibility to the house reef is via a complimentary snorkel definitely adds another element to the experience i.e. getting to experience a school of dolphins; breath taking and spotting turtles is always a bonus.

Your feedback on our facilities, service, staff and outlets has been appreciated.

At Meeru we want to exceed our guest expectations. We are happy to know we achieved this and you had a fabulous sunny Maldives holiday.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Well, having been to the Maldives before, staying at the Filhalhohi resort, we thought it would be hard to match, we couldn't have been more wrong. Meeru just blew away our expectations.

Firstly, its fair to say we did book at the last minute saving £2k.

Everything about the island is excellent, well managed & a friendly atmosphere.
The food was just superb, we ate in the north restaurant and took great pleasure in seeing what Sasi the live chef was making for the day. More often then not, eating what he was cooking. Thats not to say the buffet food wasn't good, it was amazing.

Our Waiter, Ali was mad as a hatter, funny and friendly, the stories he told, he could write a book with.

The rooms were very nice indeed, we had the Beach Jacuzzi Villa, though the jacuzzi didnt work very well, we spend all of our time snorkelling and didn't want to jacuzzi much anyway.

The beaches were beautiful, however something which is out of the islands control was the amount of rubbish that appeared on the west beaches, in the 2nd week left a bit to be desired. I have to say that the island did control this very well and had regular beach cleaning patrols.

Plenty to do on the island from Canoeing, wind surfing, driving range, snooker, pool & cycling, though you had to hire the bikes which I found odd as you could cycle around the island in less than 10 mins. Surely this would have been better to be free...

The snorkelling on the island wasn't too bad, we found 2 main reefs on the island, a long 100m reef just west of the north restaurant and a smaller reef just east of the north Spa villa. Snorkelling under the water huts was best on the island. The north water villas had many Rays and some sharks, the East water villas had an abundance of smaller fish along with some sharks and hugh 3ft fish. The best was on the house reef, which you could take a twice daily boat to, free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Chrisbrocklebank,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We delighted your second holiday to the Maldives was a success.

We agree Maalan Restaurant has an extraordinary beach views with quality staff. Thank you for mentioning our staff by name; it assists us in making sure that they are recognized for their quality service.

Your feedback on our facilities, service, staff and outlets has been appreciated.

At Meeru we want to exceed our guest expectations. We are happy to know we achieved this and you had a fabulous sunny Maldives holiday.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Amazing place - blue skies white sand, clear blue seas with fish swimming in them!!

On top of this the rooms were amazing and the food brilliant. The staff were friendly and helpful and had an attitude that is hard to beat

Best holiday I have ever had!!

Room Tip: Ours was a Jacuzzi Villa - 121 - on the south eats side. This gave us shade on the balcony in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mike P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meeru Island Resort and Spa for the best holiday ever.

Your f positive feedback on our staff, facilities and food is appreciated. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and offer a variety of delicious food daily, and are so happy you got to experience it first hand.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our tranquil shores.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went there for our honeymoon and totally recomend!

The staff was very nice and heplfull. Our room was cleanned at least 3 times a day :O We booked a JWV and got to be in the 700's that for me were the best ones, deck facing the sunset and in the calm part of the island.

On All inclusive, we had a good choice of food in the restaurant buffet, some drinks and snacks 24h, some minibar options, water sports material, free use of some facilities and a sunset cruise!

Some advises:

Don´t pack shoes, you will only use slippers!
Take your on snorkeling material.
Book every activities you wich to do in advance, sometimes they get fully booked very quickly...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear TaGuedes,

Thank you for your review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear your honeymoon in the Maldives was a memorable one.

The feedback on our staff and service are always welcome, as it makes the staff very proud to be part of making your stay spectacular.

Maalan Restuarant has breath taking beach views with quality staff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the buffet.

We agree no shoes needed on this Island! The beautiful beaches with white soft sand makes honeymoon sunset walks a must.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Meeru.

Warm regards
Meeru Manaagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is longer than my average review, bear with it, I hope it will help you when you make decisions to visit. I recommend this resort for a chilled out week perhaps with a two centre holiday and I guess a lot of people go here to get away from hustle bustle or for romantic honeymoons, if that's what you want, this resort is perfect for it. Meeru is an island resort of around 260 rooms but these are spread around the coast of an island which takes perhaps 1 hour to stroll round and so there is plenty of space and private beach for everyone. We stayed in one of the Jacuzzi Water Villas, on a pier of perhaps 40 Villas and due to the angle they are set at you have a lot of privacy and everyone has their own view of the ocean and steps from the back deck straight down to the sea. This is the height of luxury with a private screened jacuzzi deck where you can watch the stars at night sipping a drink whilst bubbling away. It probably ranks in our top three 'styles' of rooms we have ever stayed in for 'wow' factor. The villa itself has a large high ceiling bedorrom area, all the mod cons, good air con (you will be grateful!), a dressing area with tea/coffee facilities and mini bar (charged for), the bed was very firm, I don't mind this. The bathroom is large and pretty unigue in that it does not have a back wall at all, opening on to the jacuzzi deck! Lovely rain shower and it feels open air. I was worried about mosquitos as we went in very humid conditions but I only got a few bites and considering we sat on the deck for an hour each night watching tha waves and the stars I don't think they are a problem. We were about the 6th villa on the pier, be aware that the furthest ones out are quite some walk, you wouldn't want to get to the end and realise you had left your sunglasses! The room was in first class condition, nothing tatty at all.The other villas along the shoreline had their own frontage, some set back into the trees so if you want a proper sea view directly from the room better to check with the hotel before arrival. More practical stuff - there are two main buffet restaurants, to split guests at different ends of the island, think they are identical, the food was varied and excellent, we were on full board, you can also be fully inclusive. There are also two a la cartes, chargeable for us, may be allowed on the inclusive plus option? The drinks were pricey but not out of reach, french wine $22 (US), beer $6, cocktails £10 and 30% off these at happy hour 6pm-7pm where we bought a bottle of wine and took this to dinner with us and bought a spare for the fridge in the room for star gazing.... You pay for bottled water on the island but there was 1.5l per guest per day in the room and lots of people took this to lunch/dinner - in the restaurant this was $4.50. Getting to the island is by their own fast motor cruisers and takes 1 hour from Mali airport island (45km). There is wifi on the island but this is expensive at $10 for 1 hour, $15 for two seperate hours or $20 per day and just one device at a time per voucher - we did not bother and had a facebook free stay! The staff were friendly and attentive although a few of the restaurant staff could have smiled more. There is not much to do on the island itself but the resort have several trips to their 'house' reef each day and you can book one every day for free - take snorkels with you as you can snorkel from the shore also and they are $9 per day to hire. The snorkelling here is as good as we experienced on the barrier reef - lots of variety of fish, octopus, urchins, sting rays etc and we saw dolphins on the way to the reef. On the shore of the island there are baby black tipped reef sharks that swim in the shallows and fascinate tourists, we met their 1.5m mum or dad one day snorkeling off the back of our villa, probably harmless but we still got out pretty quick :) Remember that the Maldives are in the monsoon area and check the season you are travelling in, we had a mix of glorious sunshine and overcast humid moments and occasional heavy rain to clear the air. Peak monsoon is end June and July. Hope you enjoy your stay there as much as we did ours.

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa up to half way along the pier unless you want a long walk or to feel you are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Smaske,

Wow, thank you for taking the time out to write such an in-depth review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa. I am sure all travellers searching for the perfect Island getaway will appreciate it as much as we do.

We agree the Jacuzzi Water Villas are perfect for all holidaymakers, but to make your top 3 for best style is quite an honor. The benefit of having an outdoor Jacuzzi and Shower definitely adds to the experience especially for star lovers and those who love being by the ocean. The easy access into the water is a treat for all snorkelers and swimmers.

So glad to hear you made use of our complimentary snorkeling excursions to our house reef and got to experience an octopus and stingray.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Hotel
Meeru Island Resort
Meeru Island
Meeru
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island
Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male’ Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.