We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst "all inclusive" plan ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
Maia, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst "all inclusive" plan ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've been in Meeru for one week on honeymoon and we never felt that customers are important to the resort.

The all inclusive plan is a joke:
- You can have breakfast, lunch and dinner
- 24 hours you can get the cake of the day, or tuna/cheese/chicken sandwich. Any other food, like ice creams, paninis, hamburgers, etc you pay (4 dollars and up)
- No natural juices are included (only the synthetic ones)
- No expresso (costs 4 dollars)
- Only 2 non-alcoholic cocktails are included
- Around 7/8 alcoholic cocktails of a list of 25/30 are included

The resort tries all the ways to get the extra dollars out of your pocket. If you go to their website they say that there's a boat to take you to/from the airport every hour... well, there probably is, if you pay. We had our flight back home at 23:50 and they kicked us out of the island at 14:30!!! There was a boat at 19:30 (that was taking people only to our plane), but we had to pay 50 dollars per person if we wanted to go on this latter boat!!! That is in my opinion not taking care of the customers.

There's a welcome massage at the spa of 15 minutes, and when you arrive there they try to make you upgrade. We didn't upgrade, and our massage was done in less then 10 minutes! We complained at the reception, they apologized, but they didn't seemed very interested.

The island have 4 restaurants, 2 buffet and 2 "à lá carte". Depending on your room, you are told that you can only go to 1 of the buffet restaurants and not the other. The first time we went to the restaurant our waitress told us that we had to stick the entire week with his area of the restaurant. We latter learned that the other buffet restaurant is even worse because you have to sit on the same table the entire time!!! Ridiculous

The good side is that you are actually on the paradise, the island is very clean and enjoyable, the rooms and the common areas are always very cleaned and beautiful.
We had mixed feelings about the staff has we get nice and polite ones and not very friendly ones either.

As a global appreciation, i would return for the beach/island/accommodations but i won't because of the general experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear GoncaloQueiros,

We thank you for your report and your feedback. We are sorry that your holiday was not as you wished, but pleased to hear that Meeru Luxury Island Resort and Spa is truly Paradise.

We have forwarded all your comments to the relevant Department heads.
All feedback is appreciated as this helps us improve our standards and guest service, which we always strive to exceed.

With regards to our buffet restaurants, this policy is implemented to assist in giving the client the best and more personalized customer service. This also ensures all guests have a seat during their holiday. We will make sure that this explained to guest when queried.

Hope you still had a little fun and a relaxing time in Meeru. Thank you again for your review.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,732
    464
    119
    45
    32
See reviews for
172
1867
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I Just came back from Meeru, i was there for 4 nights, here is a detailed Review.
Transfers: on Arrival we had to wait around an hour and a half, i would suggest Meeru to provide some lounge or a place for their customers to wait, the journey took around 45 mins.

Arrival at the Resort, we were greeted by the staff and a cold drink and towel were provided to us, which was a great thought, we filled some papers and got the room keys.

Room: I have booked a beach Villa, but got upgraded to JWV in the 300, which was amazing since it was our first wedding anniversary.

Room Service: the room was cleaned twice a day, and also the towels are changed, and if needed you can call them and they will send some one to change also, Amazing service

Food: all kind of food which suits all tastes, it was different every day, i took the all inclusive package and it was worth it, if you drink go for it.

I was happy with the total experience i had at Meeru, and would advise everyone to go there, I would definitely come back Again, Thanks Meeru and Staff for making my vacation unforgettable.

Room Tip: JWV are amazing, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Wael A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa and choosing us to celebrate your 1st Wedding Anniversary.

We are happy to have made your stay with us unforgettable. The feedback on our guest service and professional staff is appreciated. At Meeru we want to exceed our guest expectations. We are happy to know we achieved this and you had a fabulous sunny Maldives holiday.

Nothing makes us happier to hear you will be returning to our beautiful sandy shores shortly.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our family holiday at meeru. . It was absolutely beautiful with stunning clear water and great facilities. .

We stayed at the beach villas which were spacious and comfortable. The food was a buffet spread which was quite limited for us being vegetarian but the live counter for pasta/noodles/rice was great.. and the fruits/dessert selection was extensive. . Could think of having a bit of choice for the snacks (other than just sandwich) in the all inclusive

The ocean pro dive centre facilities was excellent. .Thank you Holger for accommodating us for our squba dive and helping our daughter get her PADI certificate..

Special thanks to the weather gods who ensured that we had 5 days of gorgeous sunshine. .

We certainly had a great time and hope to return some time soon. ..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bashwin,

Thank you for choosing Meeru Island Resort and Spa to have your family holiday.

We agree the Beach Villa’s are very spacious and comfortable, perfect for 5 days or 2 weeks.

We are always looking to improve on our selection in the restaurants, thank you for your suggestion to add more vegetarian dishes. We glad you enjoyed the variety at the live counter and dessert/fruit counter. We always strive to have fruit for all tastes; breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Ocean Pro is delighted that you are happy with their services. We agree the Ocean Pro team is professional and have extensive knowledge on the various reefs in the area, which makes diving with them a pleasure.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

.........How do you begin to describe an absolute paradise in words. As we approached the little island on a speedboat, it was even lovelier than when we arrived at the main airport in the Maldives, where you could see all the tiny islands that were scattered in the middle of the ocean.
through the plane window. They were all truly "Bounty" islands, .....just like the advert you see on tv! There are 2 ways to reach these little islands from the main airport at Male (The runway was an experience in itself, surrounded by the ocean!!)
Once you leave the aircraft, you can either get a flight on a small aircraft that will take you directly to you're chosen island, that will land on the water close to the beach & are then taken to the main reception along a jetty, or you can get a fast boat that will take you there. We opted for the boat trip, which took about 45 minutes, but it was lovely to go on deck & look out at all the different islands dotted along the Indian Ocean, as we went along. We were really excited, as the boat got closer, as our island, Meerufenfushi, was truly breathtaking...even from a distance...but a million times more beautiful once you step onto the gorgeous milky white sand that was so fine that walking on it was like walking on dust......It was glorious.
Another helpful tip may be that its not necessary to pack shoes for this amazing holiday, as you only ever saw the odd person wearing any....even at dinner (and I packed 4" heels haha! and never wore them once as the whole island is covered in sand!) The meals were good too, with plenty of choice. There's also entertainment, & the bar & restaurant staff were really friendly, & very happy go lucky, especially the waiters who will bring you're drink to the poolside.......You can even do a "Shirley Valentine" and have you're own bottle of wine at a table on the beach, alongside the turquoise clear waters of the beautiful Indian Ocean. You can even dine on the beach by candlelight if you so wish with you're very own waiter service......Ideal for honeymooners, or special occasions like anniversaries....or even just 'cos you want to be romantic one night!! Why not....You're on a beautiful romantic "Bouny" holiday of a lifetime that you'll take home wonderful memories that'll stay with you forever!
They have an excellent Paddy diving establishment there, as the marine sealife is to die for...or you can just scuba close to shore. Its possible to walk out in the sea for ever such a long way before the water even reaches you're waist, but be careful you don't step on any stingrays, as you walk around and take in the gorgeous breathtaking full circle of the island views
There are lots of choices of accommodation on the Island. We opted for a chalet close to the amenities, near the poolside & beach (well really speaking you are close to, or on or in the ocean itself whichever accommodation you opt for!)The other 2 options are a little beachside villa, right on the beach, and last but not least you have the villa on legs that actually stands a little way out in the ocean which I'm sure honeymooners would absolutely adore, as its soooo private!!
However, whichever one you decide on, will be very comfortable, & you'll have the holiday of a lifetime that you'll never forget, because the islands in the Maldives are really something special.

Room Tip: If you're on a special occasion holiday....or even if you're not,.....the bungalow on legs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Babs p,

We appreciate your time taken out to write this review.

Thank you for choosing Meeru Island Resort and Spa to have your Maldives holiday.

We are so happy you mentioned the 55-minute trip to get to Meeru from the airport as it is like any other in the world, as you jet past the stunning Atolls and Islands that make up the Maldives.

Ocean Pro is delighted that you are happy with their services. We agree the Ocean Pro team is professional and have extensive knowledge on the various reefs in the area, which makes diving with them a pleasure. The variety of marine life is unlike anywhere in the world.

The Bungolow on legs as you called them are Jacuzzi Beach Villas and we agree they are perfect for couple or honeymooners.

We hope to see you back soon on the breathtaking shores of Meeru.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent our vacation in this splendid resort for 7 nights from June 16 to 23, and even though it was the rainy season it rained only 3 times (two nights). Everything was better than expected and we have nothing to reproach to this resort. Water, beach, nature and food were extraordinary. The staff was extremely helpful (greetings to Moustafa, Habeb and Stany) and the food was diversified. It was a week without shoes, with snorkeling, beach and many walks. We visited an island inhabited by indigenous (which was impressive) and we had a free trip - sunset punch in the presence of wild dolphins enjoying a beautiful landscape. The colors were so strong - white sand, turquoise water and sunshine - that we needed sunglasses at all times. We enjoyed the island creatures - crabs, snails, lizards, bats, small sharks in the water ant stingrays. We loved also our beach villa with natural garden in front and outdoor shower in the back. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bogdanian,

We appreciate your time taken out to write this review.

We thank you for identifying some of our team members who have impressed you with their service rendered that has added more value to your holiday. We will take your appreciations to them to have their morale boosted by knowing they are recognized for their service.

To experience the wild dolphins on our Sunset Cruise is breath taking and thrilling. They are truly beautiful tranquil mammals. We hope you saw some of the Spinner Dolphins in action.

We await your return to our white sand, turquoise water and sunshine Island that is Meeru.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We last went to the Maldives 10 years ago (to a different resort). It was worth the 10 year wait to return. I have to confess that I got teary as we arrived to the jetty. It really is stunning.
We were made to feel very welcome by all staff.
We had booked a jacuzzi beach villa (645). It was just lovely. Modern, comfortable, 4 poster bed, lovely outdoor bathroom and garden area with 2 sunbeds, a double bed under shade and a jacuzzi, a veranda out front with 2 more sunbeds and chairs and table, and steps from the sea. You could see the sea and sand from bed.
There was absolutely nothing wrong with this room, however, the lure of a reduced upgrade was too great and after one night in this room we upgraded to a jacuzzi water villa. (719)
Wow. The bed faces the sea. The doors open right out across the width of the villa onto the over water veranda, with 2 sun beds, chairs and a table.
We slept with the curtains open so the sea was the first thing we saw in the morning.
We used the jacuzzi each day and swam off our steps. I would have liked a villa with an even number so we could see the sunset, but that is my only very minor grumble.
The sea is warm, clear and gorgeous shades of green and blue. There is marine life to be seen.
The sand is white and soft by the waters edge.
The pool (we used the adult infinity edge pool by hot rocks ) was like a bath.
The place was spotless, inside and out. Of course there is some rubbish swept in by the sea but its cleared away.
The room was kept lovely by Ahmed.
We visited the pavilion bar most days and was entertained (and kept very hydrated!) by Nella. There are now some cocktails available on all inclusive, which is excellent. I loved the blue Hawaiians.

The food is lovely. So much choice and at a good standard too. Ive eaten way too much.
We ate at Asian wok for my birthday and had teppanyaki. This was amazing, a real show.
We also ate at hot rocks, this was a lovely setting around the pool, the trees have rope lights around them, the island is also pretty at night. It was a novelty cooking our steak on a hot rock, hot though on an already incredibly hot and sticky night.

This was an amazing holiday and I am doing the lottery in the hope of returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilamendhooIsland, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear UKkirstyk

Thank you for your positive review on Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

At Meeru our staff prides themselves on being welcoming and professional.

We are happy you enjoyed both rooms; Jacuzzi Beach Villa and Jacuzzi Water Villa. Both room types have something to offer all guests depending on your needs. The Jacuzzi Water Villas are magical as you wake up with the view of the ocean daily.

We are happy to hear that your experience’s at all our F&B outlets were positive. The Asian Wok Teppanyaki is a must for special occasions; especially Birthdays. The Hot Rock offers an amazing culinary experience as you get to cook your meat to your specific needs; which is also tons of fun.

We hope you win the lottery sooner than later; so we can welcome you back to Meeru Island Resort and Spa.

Warm regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Absolutely loved my 4 nights stay here at Meeru Island. I stayed in a Jacuzzi Beach Villa which was well appointed and clean, cosy and very private. This island has some of the most gorgeous beach, absolutely crystal clear. The 'adult only' horizon pool overlooks the honeymoon suites and the overwater villas on a very quite part of the island. Traveling on my own, I found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming amongst the many couples! Dining options are great, particularly good value if you opt for the All-Inclusive package which will give you access to the buffet style restaurants and afternoon tea daily, as well as other benefits.
I was extremely happy with my stay here and just can not wait to bring back my family early next year! Definitely a great place for families, couples and solo travellers who just want to relax and enjoy the Maldivian view!

Room Tip: All room types were great, however Beach, Water and Overwater Villas are on the best side of the isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear ausssie-travellerbug,

Your review is wonderful and we thank you so much for writing it. Glad that you had a great stay with us. The adult only side is really special and the pool just beautiful and relaxing.
Hopefully we can welcome you back one day soon.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male’ Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.