We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon 2012 was amazing!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon 2012 was amazing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We really loved our trip here!! We stayed in a jacuzzi water villa at the top of the island which meant there were no kids around just adults! Food was amazing - we had the most amazing Maldivian curry on one of their themed nights! We went all inclusive and I'd say that's the best way to do it really as it would probably end up costing you more if you were a moderate drinker like we are!

Only complaint was when the cleaner took no notice of a do not disturb sign by our door and then proceeded to knock on the door for about 5 minutes. When we didn't answer he then started phoning the villa telephone. We were on our honeymoon so obviously just wanted some private time :)

Everything else was just perfect. We would probably try the south atol though if we went again as its a bit more exclusive although not sure if we could afford it lol!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,762
    471
    122
    46
    32
See reviews for
178
1898
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 23 Feb to Jacuzzi water villa number 329 these villas are newer, larger bathroom and jacuzzi area ( double lounger and parasol in this space - excellent)than the ones on the top of the island. More privacy on balcony as the fencing is set up differently. Only there two nights as we had originally requested a jacuzzi villa at the North end of the island as our daughter had said that if we could get an even numbered villa we would be able to have our own sunset from the balcony. Went snorkelling once from 329 but didn't see much and the current was treacherous (but subsequently found out that the best times to snorkel are early morning and later in the evening) this is especially true of the North side jacuzzi villas. (depends on time of year I suppose). We were also told when we arrived that we had to eat at the family restaurant (Farivalhu). As we were celebrating our 60th birthdays we didn't want to eat with children (don't get me wrong we love kids, we have 3 of our own and 2 grandchildren. But didn't want this on this holiday). Fortunately our rep managed to get us in the Maalan restaurant. So for the first couple of days we had to walk from our villa almost at the south of the island to the top of the island for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Still other than snorkelling, swimming and walking-that was our only exercise!
Anyway we were moved to jacuzzi water villa 716 on our third morning and have to say the uninterrupted view of the sea and the Malaan Restaurant did not disappoint. These are obviously older villas and closer together (the other walk way is much wider). DVD player available in both villas (can borrow DVDs if you want to) plus coffee making facilities. NB to management a small kettle would be heaven!!! We could have done with a parasol here too.
The snorkelling is fantastic just pick your time and watch the current. I am not a strong swimmer and the fins need a bit of getting used too. Even the snorkel mask takes a bit of practice but do it. It is amazing. NB buy underwater cameras before you go as at the moment they are$27 each. (I could have used a camera each time we went snorkelling!) We were lucky to be given an underwater video camera (plus it took photos) but the screen was tiny and I could have done with my glasses to see better! Still we managed to get some great shots and video.
We ate at the Malaan restaurant which is the adult only one, so can't comment on the other. When you are set a restaurant you have that one for the whole of your time there. Food is great. Sometimes on the cool side but I think that is the way for buffet style hotels. On the main a good selection most days and good intentions and diets go out of the window when you see what is on offer. The breads on offer are great and my downfall I have to say. Desserts while plentiful tend to bit a bit samey and I cannot think of anywhere we have been that this has not been the case. We had been there a week and only saw ice cream once on the menu. Ice cream or a sorbet would be good most night I think. I would have liked some lighter options for lunch to go with a nice bowl of salad. Maybe a quiche, mackerel, cold meats such as chicken. Even once in a while a few chips! Did I actually write that??? NB a request from my husband would be cheese and biscuits in the evening as he has more of a savoury tooth.
Trips are expensive I think. The airplane for 20 mins costs $155 each. Remember to pick up fins and snorkel if you'd are buying/hiring them before you head off to your room if you are on the North of the island, not a long walk but a very hot one. Fin hire is over $5 a day so that can mount up over 14 nights for two people. ( But do you have enough luggage allowance to being your own?)
Electric sockets same as in the UK so don't worry about adapters, might want to take a torch as at night the rooms are dimly lit to say the LEAST, the truth is you could not see to get to the back of the wardrobe or plug in a charger haha! Romantic but not very practical.
Our typical day went like this: breakfast then back to the room, read a bit, snorkel a lot, shower walk round island stopping at the Dhoni bar (beautiful double wicker loungers with a sunken bar. ( On our last night discovered that a group of 3 guys play music and sing here, they are really good and only wish we had discovered that earlier in the holiday) Browse the shop and then continue walking round the southern tip (just past a jetty lots of tiny fish and then amazingly small black tip sharks!). Continued walking passed the Asian restaurant and then stopped at the Pavilion bar for a well earned rest and enjoy the breeze and the view, then we cheated and walked through the island looking for shade and then back to the water villa for a sit and relax. After lunch headed to the Hot Rock restaurant and bar with pool and chilled. Back to the villa for sunset. Sounds like heaven - it was!
NB snorkels cost about €70 to purchase
NB place cushions at the end of the bed as the base is a lot wider than the mattress and in the dark easily missed and very painful when you walk into them
NB we had a his & hers massage which was great, we chose a medium pressure massage and I have to say I felt a little bruised afterwards, so bear in mind! If you are weaklings like us go for a soft one.
Note to management: fridge replenishment not a good idea at 10pm, why not during the day.
Note to management: turning down the bed is a lovely idea but not when you are getting ready for dinner.
Thanks to Masood who did a great job looking after us and setting up a special table for my birthday. Thank you too to the Meeru for the fruit plate and small birthday cake.
Final thought? Other than I still want to be there. This is the best beach holiday we have ever had. It is wonderful to get ready for dinner (don't have to dress up at all) and walk bare foot into the restaurant!
A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The island itself is stunning. White coral beaches with picture book clear water surrounding it. The accomodation (for us a beach villa in the 400s) was great. The only slight complaint of the whole week was the aircon - we were always slightly too hot or too cold in the night but that was very minor.
The floors everywhere were sand including the bars, restaurants and reception, which made the place have a very relaxed informal feel to it. The food was fabulous with plenty of variety and choice at each meal time. The all inclusive package had sufficient range of "free" drinks do no grumble there either.
The included trips, sunset cruise (or dolphin cruise) and the snorkelling at the house reef were also good. We had a pod of over 25 dolphins accompany our boat. The fish would be just inches off the beach so snorkelling was great fun - particularly swimming with the 4ft reef sharks.
The staff were first class and friendly.

I could write forever about Meeru - just go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We liked the beach villa in the 400s. There seemed little benefit in getting a jacuzzi villa as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilligham kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just returned from our 10 stay in a water jaccuzzi bungalow which was in the in the 300's, it was fantastic. It was ideal with the pavilion bar just at the end of the wooden walkway.The food in our restuarant was to die for and the bars were full of the friendliest staff i have ever come across and the service was first class. The resort is like nothing we have ever seen before the beaches and the water were unbelievable. we thought that because the resort was quiet and there was always sunbeds available where ever we went that the resort was not full, when we spoke to our rep she assured us that the resort was at full capacity, which tells me that they have the balance just right. Its hard to find fault, so my only complaint would be that in 10 day's we never saw a rat, which some people seem to mention that they see. This was meant to be a one off special holiday, but we are now looking to return perhap's next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This resort is situated to the North from Male. It took us about 50 minutes to get from the airport to the island by motor boat (transfer was done by hotel). The trip was rather comfortable, no one felt seasick. The island was relatively big (it will take one about an hour to walk around the island), and the nature there was really amazing.
Due to the overbooking we were given Beach Villa Jacuzzi instead Beach Villa for three nights without any additional charge. Thus we had a possibility to compare these two types of villas. To my mind, Beach Villa Jacuzzi is suitable for great fans of Jacuzzi only because the ocean and two pools are nearby. :-) We were also given an opportunity to try both restaurants where the regular meals are served. The one which was situated in the Northern end of island possessed picturesque views on the ocean, and the second one located in the center of island and was surrounded by trees. We preferred to have meals in the first one in spite of the necessity to walk about 10 minutes from our villa.
The location of villas of the same class can very: some Beach villas are neighboring white sand beach and the others are separated from the ocean and beach by a tree zone. One should keep this in mind while booking a villa.
There were everyday trips to the house reef for snorkeling but we saw even more species of fish in the closest neighborhood to the beach. My advice will be to try snorkeling everywhere around the island to find the best place for you. And it's better to bring own equipment for snorkeling as well as special footwear.
The hotel staff is friendly and is eager to help in case of any questions.
My overall impression is very good, I am completely satisfied with the rest quality and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a nice quality to stay for a while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

stayed here for two weeks and have never felt so relaxed in my life, the island is small and you could walk round it in about 45 minutes.

Every meal was amazingly presented and so much food, and very tasty. rooms are air conditioned and a very good size. staff friendly. We spent most of our time lazing by the pool and on the beach enjoying our free cocktail that was included in the package.

Thumbs up all round. Hope we can get back soon!!

Room Tip: beach villas are amazing, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in meeru for the final week of our honeymoon! The weather in September was great, it rained a couple of times during the night but had cleared by the morning. Everything about meeru was absolutely amazing, we stayed in a beach villa which had just been re-furbished and woke every morning to paradise. The staff were very friendly, food fantastic, we did the deep sea fishing trip which was good fun! If you want total relaxation in beautiful surroundings you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male’ Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.