We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeru or Hudhunranfushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Meeru Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Meeru or Hudhunranfushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were at Hudhunranfushi last year and found it to be a lovely island and trying to identify the pros and cons of each island, we met a lady last year that said no one island is better than the others, as some have weak points and some have very strong points, we found this to be so true.
Meeru is a lovely island 1.2km long by 0.5km wide. We found that the fabric (condition of buildings and various common areas) is far better on Meeru than Hudhunranfushi, but Hudhunranfushi is more intimate and are you are made to feel special especially if you stayed in the water villas.
Hudhunranfushi - Special check in for Jacuzzi Water Villa Guests, then taken by buggy to door of your villa and shown round by your host for the week.
Meeru - No special treatment dropped off close to the villa and told, you will find it through that archway there???
We felt that although Meeru was friendly Hudhunranfushi was really very friendly with special detail from the waiters who meeting you once instantly, remembered your room number and what you liked to drink etc.
Meeru - the common toilets were exceptionally clean. Great sports facilties that is included for All Inclusive Plus Guests(great Football pitch, Golf Driving Range, Pitch and putt Course and Tennis Courts.
Rooms
We stayed in Jacuzzi Water Villa in 717 and wrote to Meeru prior to arrival to request a room in the 700 area where we liked to sunbathe and boy did the Meeru team come up trumps. We found that rooms with odd numbers like ours got sun from 06:30 till about 15:00 on our sundeck, but very little breeze.
Rooms with even numbers get the sun from about 10:30am till sundown, and there is a very welcome breeze at these sundecks.
We found that Meeru really lacks small beach bars that we found very good if you like lying on the beach in Hudhunranfushi, there were small bars where you could get a drink and take back to your sunbed on the beach, we did not find this on Meeru. We think that this would be a big bonus especially down at the south of the island where you will only find the Asian Wok.
Snorkling is best at slack tide times(2hours when at either high water or low water, at this time there is no current to worrry about, when the tide was coming in the tide was very strong and we noticed that mid afternoon when the tide was coming in then nobody was snorkling due to very strong currents.
We found the food to be very good in the Malaan and we had a very nice quiet waiter called Areef, who was very polite and helpful. At our JCV we had Ali who provided a great service as the room boy.
Only saw one rat all holiday and it was obviously more scared of us than we were of it.
As in many previous reports the North side of the island is far quieter, but it is no more than a 10 minute walk from the Main Reception on the west side area or the east side of the island. We used to lie in the sun in the morning and then walk about the island in the afternoon dropping off at different bars for a little refreshement.

Room Tip: 700 JWV on odd side get sun from 06:30 till 15:00, even numbers from 10:30 till sundown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,712
    464
    120
    45
    31
See reviews for
169
1844
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This review will be very long, but i lived on trip advisor before my trip, so would like to make this as detailed as possible.
We booked our package through BA Holidays in November over the internet for 22/02/13 - 02/03/13. After booking i called BA to make them aware this trip was for our belated honeymoon and also my birthday and they made a note on my account. We felt due to spending which we feel a lot of money for a weeks break, we will not pay the £60 to pre-book our seats - this was a big mistake!!!!! As i logged onto the BA website 24 hours before departure to pre-book our seats for free we could not sit together! not a great start to the trip. Due to the plane they use (all 3 aisle's are in 3 seats) majority of couples had this problem. Whilst at the airport i logged on to BA and pre-booked and paid for our seats for the way home as due to our returning flight was going to be day flight and longer i did not want to be apart from my husband.
We arrived in Male airport and due to the small scale of the airport we went through quickly and waited about 15 minutes for our speed boat. The speed boat was a lovely experience (clean and tidy and could not smell petrol) after that long flight and we really enjoyed looking at all the other islands and the sea was paradise! It took an hour to get to Meeru and i all i can say is WOW!
A female member of staff was waiting for us as we were helped off the boat, and took us to the kakuni bar where we at outside, taking in the stunning views and were given a fruit cocktail. This is where we were checked in. We didn't even have to move they gave us a form to fill in while we enjoyed our cocktails. 2 weeks prior to our trip i emailed Meeru with a room request for a 650 plus jacuzzi beach villa, i did receive a email straight away confirming they would try their best. We were given jacuzzi beach villa 116, so straight away i informed them of my email, they advised they will have jacuzzi beach villa 636 ready for us tomorrow at 9am if we would like to change. They advised us to look at both and see which one you would prefer and let them know. We went for lunch which was great and our room was ready once finished. We arrived at 116 and we were speechless, literally a couple of palm tree's away from the white sand and clear blue sea. The view from our room was gorgeous. We had a card wishing us great honeymoon and a fruit hamper. You also have your own sun beds on your part of the beach directly outside your room with your room number on them. We thought lets go for a walk around the island and go and have a look at the 600 JBV as we wanted to let reception know our decision. As soon as we got to the 600's we realised they are so far back from the beach with a lot of vegetation you can not even see the beach/sea until you get to 650 plus villa's. So we decided to not change rooms. We were allocated Farivalhu Restaurant, yes there were a few kids but you didn't notice them the food and service was amazing. Thank you Wahaab! The next evening we received our free bottle of champagne, which we enjoyed whilst getting ready for dinner.
The resort is spotless, the staff are constantly cleaning, your room boy comes in twice a day to clear up your room and fill up the mini bar, which is free as part of all inclusive. There are bars all around the island and they are all special in their own way. Our favourite day time bar was The Uthuru Bar, as it had the views and snorkelling sights, but the evening has to be the new Dhoni bar is so modern and comfortable.
The facilities are great, kayaking, golf range, windsurfing the list goes on and is also free with all inclusive. We visited the house reef a couple of times which is a 10 minute boat journey away, this is where you see coral reef and you have a higher possibility to see more marine life. We took our own snorkel's and flippers and would highly recommend this, as at high tide the current can be strong, i don't think just beach shoes would help you swim. We found the best snorkelling off the island was around the 700 JWV and over water spa.
On our 5th day, we had just returned from our afternoon house reef trip which was the greatest day ever. We had just swam with a turtle which was was over the moon with and we decided to pop back to the room to drop off our snorkelling gear and lay on our sun beds on the beach. The phone rang and it was reception. They asked whether we were having a good stay and then asked whether we wanted a free upgrade to a jacuzzi water villa for our remaining 2 nights. YES PLEASE! The next day we vacated our room at 9am and the resort picked up or luggage and we were in jacuzzi water villa 327 (south-east side)! I actually had to pinch myself when we got in there, breath taking. That evening we went on the sunset cruise (free again as all inclusive) and dolphins swam with our boat and jumped out right next to us. The punch was lovely as we watched the sunset.
The next day was my birthday to wake up over looking the Indian ocean was truely special. My husband had organised a sense of touch massage at the over water spa as i really enjoyed my free 15 minute massage earlier on in the week. This massage was amazing and the spa gave me a free gift to wish me a happy birthday. They are all so sweet and kind at the spa. Later that evening our room boy had decorated our bed with pink flowers and also a fruit hamper, card and a birthday cake. As we went to dinner our lovely waiter Wahaab had decorated an outside table with the most beautiful flowers and candles for my birthday too. By this point i was nearly in tears. My husband knew nothing about this and was also speechless. What a great last evening to send us home.
My husband thinks he saw one rat the whole stay near the water villa's on the north side but we did not see any in the restaurants. Yes we did get ants in our jacuzzi beach villa outside bathroom, but what do you expect it is a tropical country.
We would like to say big hi to Ralph and Linda who have been to this resort 10 times. We can see now why you keep on returning.
To be honest i could go on about this fantastic resort...but i will stop there. I can not compliment this resort enough from our experience. Hopefully one day we can return to this paradise island! Well done Meeru!

Room Tip: Every room around the island has its benefits.It's a place to sleep and during the day you explo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Meeru Island is breathtaking the Beach Villas are beautiful the food and people are fantastic. However when the sun goes down the rats come out and are everywhere. They will run over your feet while you are eating in the restaurants. Most people don't seem bothered but I hate them so much. I presumed all the Islands had this problem but they don't. Next time I will read the reviews and pick one that does not mention rats!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are in the garden the rat will come in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

on arrival our jacuzzi water villa was not ready until the day after so we had to stay in a beach villa for the one night.The beach villas are not a spot on the water villas,so in one respect i am glad this happened as in the future i would always pay the higher price.Rooms cleaned twice a day room boy polite and very helpful.Mini bar stocked up every day,clean towles for shower and the beach changed twice aday.Resturant catered for every ones needs and staff so friendly.
Would i recommend this island YES i would cant wait to go back and swim in the clear sea and sooooooooooo warm truely paradise.

Room Tip: got to be a jacuzzi water villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at JWV Room 344, which is at the end of the Eastern section of overwater bungalows. This room is so close to marine life. There are 2 corals just below the stairs to the sea. The island is one of the most beautiful places in the world. (I am Thai, but I can say that the sea and marine life here is much more beautiful than in Thailand). Staffs are nice. Food is good. What a perfect holiday!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well where do I start !
Just got back from an amazing time at the Meeru.We stayed in a beach villa on the East side of the island.The accomadation was very clean and modern.The semi open air bathroom was great.It was nice having a shower and be able to look up at the sky.
The food was excellent , so much choice at breakfast , lunch and dinner.It is definately best to have all the all inclusive option.Sometimes at all inclusive resorts you get cheaper wine , not at the Meeru , all the wine was top quality whether it was red ,white or rose.
A chef cooking fresh food every meal time if you wanted it.The desserts were awesome , the mango mousse was to die for!!.
Even leaving early in the morning at 5am there was a full breakfast laid on ,complete with chef cooking omelletes etc.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, must give a mention to Syeed who looked after us whilst at the Dhoni poolside bar.
Nice that they also give you a free sunset cruise and 15 minute massage.
Had my massage at the spa over the water,looking out over the Indian Ocean, the beauty beds were placed over a section of the floor that was glass so that you could watch the fish as you were being pampered.
The whole feel of the Meeru was relaxed, all the floors in the resturants and bars were of sand so no reed for shoes , only to stop your feet burning when walking along the decking by the poolside and some of the accomadation.
There was evening entertainment but not every evening , a live band played one night, another night there was a DJ and we had fun with crab racing another .
Well I could carry on all day about how good the Meeru is but will leave it there.
Would I go back to the Meeru , yes in a heartbeat.

Chris, Hornchurch

Room Tip: We were in beach villa 401 which was right near the adults only pool , so no long walk anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just come back from our holiday at Meeru Island Resort in the Maldives and have to say we were very dissapointed with our time there. This was our second time in the Maldives, the first being two years ago when we stayed at the Kuredu Island Resort. Our stay there was wonderful but Meeru by comparison, was no where near as good, or special and certainly not worth the money. Our main issues were:

1. our room was over booked so the first day and night were spent in a rather grotty garden room in the centre of the island rather than the water villa we had booked and paid for. ( Our rep told us this was standard practice at this resport and we were not the only ones that this happened to during our stay)
2. The island is infested with black rats that not only take over the centre of the island but also the garden areas between the bars and restuarants. (One ran over my wife's foot as we walked to diner one evening!)
3. The rooms are not well maintained, and ours had several faults including a window with no catches that could not be secured and which leaked water over the wall and electrical sockets when it rained.
4. The rooms were not well cleaned.
5. The island in general was not as well manicured as Kuredu where they seemed to rake over every inch of the island each day. (the suspect the amonut of leaf litter left under the trees and planting incourages the rats to come into areas where you wouldn't want to see them!)
6. The food in the restuarants was not bad, but not what you would expect for the money we paid. The food at Kuredu is much better.
7. All drinks in the mini bar were past their use by date, and one wonders whether the same happens with the food in the kitchens.
8. The speed boat transfer is not in what you would expect, or what they show on the web site.It's in an old 1960's rust bucket that smells of deisel oil, is shabby, and on which there is no access to outside. I love boats but this was not an experience, but and hour each way that had to be endured!
9. The staff were generally not that friendly and we whitnessed bar staff mocking guests behind their backs.
10. The water around the island is very shallow meaning that you cannot swim at low tide without going out on a boat trip.
11. The current around the island is very strong which makes swimming very hard and could if you were not a strong swimmer lead to danger.

I see on this web site that the resort gets generally good reviews which seems strange to me. I can only assume that those who like it haven't visited any of the other island resorts. Kuredu for example is much better and well worth the money. Meeru has put us off the Maldives.

Remember you are on a remote island so if you don't like it you're stuck there for your entire holiday so pick your resort carefully!

Room Tip: Pick a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male’ Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 90 acres. Your speedboat transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeru Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.