We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban diner in Massachusset ?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Cafe

Havana Cafe
329 N Washington St, North Attleboro, MA 02760-1252
508-695-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
SAN FRANCISCO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cuban diner in Massachusset ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sick and tired of pseudo-italian diners in New England, my wife and I decided to try something different. We like Cuban food, and our standard, based on well established Cuban restaurants in Los Angeles, is pretty demanding.
We enjoyed our experience at Havana Cafe': small diner with basic but cozy decor, nice old posters on the walls, soft latin background music and very, very friendly staff. The menu is limited (a plus in this type of places !) but interesting. We ordered vaca frita with a side of yucca, and shrimp with garlic (I do not remember the exact name on the menu) with sweet plantains. Before they arrived, we were served garlic toasted bread that we finished quickly: it was very appetizing, and the service is not so fast (you have to be patient in a small establishment were food is not pre-cooked, and the shrimp had to be prepared as we ordered). Portion were generous and the quality of the food more than adequate (a 4 on a 1-5 scale). Being used to West Coast prices, the bill was a little steep, but not more than in other small restaurants of the same caliber on the East Coast, and the quality was way better than average ! We would definitely go back if we were again in the area. (We try to be objective in our scoring, and to us a "5" means a really outstanding experience)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    10
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Little piece of Havana”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Cute place with very friendly service but with 1 waitress and 5 parties it was extremely slow. The good food started with the bread on the table that we inhaled because it arrived 20 minutes after we ordered and also included meat empanadas, cheese empanadas and black bean soup. Most of the three entrees were good we had three different ones but stay away from chicken that was bland. Also flavorless were the mango and papaya shakes and salty plantains.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home cooked Cuban food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I'm from Cuba and this is authentic Cuban food. Warm, friendly, family atmosphere. Make sure you're hungry when you come because you'll get plenty to savor. Buen provecho!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A friendly and authentic Cuban restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

A friendly and cozy family restaurant. The food was great, particularly the Cuban Sandwich. The family staff was very friendly, even the owner greeted us and made sure we had a wonderful experience. In addition, the price was right too. Definitely worth going back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

After checking out a Cuban place in Providence, RI I did not have high hopes for this place. Boy was I wrong. This place is wonderful. The beef empanada appetizers were just as if they had been made in Latin America. They were well seasoned and cooked perfectly. A steal at $1.50 each...
The main dish of Vaca Frita (shredded fried beef with onions) was excellent. The side of plantains and yuca were splendid. This is a hidden gem. Hopefully, more Rhode Islanders will discover this place and take the short drive up route 1. A+ service. I cant wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Cafe also viewed

North Attleboro, MA
North Attleboro, MA
 
North Attleboro, MA
North Attleboro, MA
 

Been to Havana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.