We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Special -- surprisingly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Berkshires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Berkshires to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Berkshires
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Main Street, North Adams, MA 01247   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Something Special -- surprisingly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Yes, it was a Holiday Inn, but pool, small gym and hot tub were unexpectedly pleasant, and location ideal for Mass Moca, Natural Bridge State Park and other local sites. Room was the "no surprises" Holiday Inn standard -- everything clean, functional and charmless, with good mattress. Strange chemical odor in lobby. Kathleen, our breakfast server, was exceptional, but our single dinner was mediocre and took 2 hours and 20 minutes because of inadequate personnel and a large Japanese tour group. Desk personnel told us everything we needed to know about quaint local eateries such as Linda's Cafe and Brew Haus when we decided to avoid the food on site. Price was reasonable. Recommended overall except for the food.

Room Tip: Southern exposure had nicer views. Corner room quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at our property. We apologize that dinner at our restaurant did not meet you expectations. I do invite you to return for dinner on you r next visit, as it is our goal to provide world class quality to our guests. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy breakfast and found the staff to be most helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
34
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Friends and I recently went on a Zipline Canopy Tour and had reservations at this Holiday Inn. We were so pleased with every aspect of our stay! The front desk staff were extremely helpful with questions on restaurants in the area and gave us some excellent recommendations. Our rooms were spotless and very roomy, even with 2 queen sized beds. The mattresses were perfectly comfortable, and the pillows marked with pretty ribbons indicating "Hard" and "Soft", a nice touch. We also used the beautiful heated pool, and then enjoyed the very large Jacuzzi/Hot Tub. Breakfast was delicious & a fabulous value; one of the best meals we had on our trip. We will definitely be staying here again when we go back to the area that has so much to offer. It is right near the Mohawk Trail, and only 30 minutes from "Zoar Outdoor" where we will try white water rafting next, since the zip line was so great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your visit to North Adams. It is great to hear that you impressed with the helpfulness of the the staff and the cleanliness of the room. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of the great outdoor activities the area has to offer, and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The king sized bed with high thread count sheets and pillow soft pad was such a welcome site. The location could not be better to use as a home base to scout out the quaint area around North Adams. The room was large, clean, and very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the king size bed and its linen and pillows. Our location does make it very easy for the traveling guest to experience everything Berkshire County has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to provide great feedback about our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

That is the best way to describe my experience at this hotel. It started as soon as we arrived. The bell person, Josie, was friendly and prompt. Jen got the group checked in without incident. The rooms were great. In the morning, Gail got all of our luggage down and ready to load. Our breakfast was prepared by James and served by Linette Searcy. What surprised me the most is that SHE IS THE GENERAL MANAGER!. I have never been anywhere where a manager dug in in such a way. she was very friendly and everyone made us all feel right at home. OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It's always great to hear when our team members get noticed for going above and beyond. We are committed to providing a world class experience and look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed a couple times on business. We also were told, no early check in. But that's OK. The check-in always seems slow, average customer service. During our last stay housekeeping walked in on me while I was in the bathroom, did not knock or announce herself. I was so incredibly embarrased !!! I told the woman at the desk when we checked out and she laughed and said " yes I heard, she thought you had checked out". I thought a mistake as serious as that deserved an apology and something like a free meal? Instead I was the joke of the day. We will be going back as it is the closest hotel for work but I will lock the door!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the bldg from the fire dept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We apologize if you believe that we joke about our guests. We are committed to providing world class customer service, and this is an issue that we take very seriously. I have directly passed along your feedback to the front desk and housekeeping staff. I do invite you to return to our property on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, spacious and updated room in a great location!

It's walking distance to Mass Moca and restaurants.

We had a great dinner at Public. Chicken tenders, autumn bisque and apple cider beer was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's accommodations and it's proximity to the local venues. I do invite you to try our onsite restaurant, The Richmond Grille, on your next visit to our property. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here on a Priority Club Rewards night. The hotel is extremely well kept, clean, attractive lobby. Nice pool. Rooms are nicely put together with excellent beds, Flat-Screen TV, wireless, Kuerig coffee maker in room. The location is right in the center of downtown North Adams, and there are probably 12 restaurants within walking distance of 5 minutes or less. The restaurant at the hotel was the only real drawback. The staff at breakfast was unbelievably poor. There were two people working our table, neither knew what the other was doing. My breakfast was brought out 20 minutes before my wife's, it didn't stay warm more than a couple of minutes, a cold waffle is a bad thing. Then a waitress happened to walk by about 15 minutes later and said "Didn't you want anything to eat?" to my wife, add another ten minutes to finally get the breakfast. Paying the check was another horror show, reminded me of the service in Aruba in the 1980s. The hotel is great, the restaurant is terrible. My rating is of the hotel only.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else downtown for breakfast, staff very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be most accommodating and well kept. We do apologize for your displeasure with your experiences in our restaurant. Your feedback will passed along to our Food and Beverage Director so that we can continue to provide the world-class service that our guests should receive. I do invite you to join us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berkshires

Address: 40 Main Street, North Adams, MA 01247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-Berkshires is located in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. The entire hotel was remodeled in Nov 2011 and is the ideal choice to explore all the Berkshire museums, theatres, historic sites and outdoor activities. The hotel features an indoor pool, hot tub, two saunas, a cardio room and a game room. Our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner daily and features a covered patio for outdoor dining during the summer months. We also have free Wi-fi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Adams
North Adams Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Berkshires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.