We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PUBLIC eat+drink

PUBLIC eat+drink
34 Holden Street, North Adams, MA 01247
+1 413-664-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in North Adams
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Founded in 2011, PUBLIC serves casual, inventive American food with an emphasis on freshness, flavor, and in-house preparation. The restaurant offers an extensive, rotating craft beer program with 11 taps and over a dozen additional selections in bottles, along with a carefully curated wine list and inventive cocktail offerings. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:30AM. The bar is open until midnight or later.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bustling Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place had a cool vibe with an eclectic crowd. We had the blue cheese and bacon flatbread to start, which was good. My husband enjoyed the sea scallops but the ribolita (Tuscan Bean Stew) was fantastic. We didn't make a reservation but called ahead to make sure they weren't too busy. We were there on a Friday night and it was packed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    96
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Where did this place come from?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find a creative bistro in the Berkshires. I had the short ribs on a taco with some kind of kimchi and it was terrific. Look out for the Burbon Pecan Pie ... it gets in your mouth! Go early as the line grows by the door most every night. The word is out!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brie burger highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Went in for dinner last Friday and we were able to be seated right away even though it was busy. Food is consistently good and I really enjoy the eclectic beer choices. I only wish there were more " specials" to try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M.A.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Another Great Public Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had our Valentine's Day dinner here and it couldn't have been better. Our waitress Johanna was fantastic.... like being waited on by a close friend. Complimentary chocolate covered strawberries were a nice touch. Took reservations that night but otherwise none are needed except for parties of six or more. Don't hesitate to dine here. Something for everyone (burgers to salmon). Great wine and beer offerings. North Adams' best restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This wasn't my first time to Public and it won't be my last. Good beer selection.. something for everyone. Tonight I just got a few pints and fries but in the past have not been able to steer away from their felafel sandwich.. the "public salad" and their burgers when looking for a smaller priced meal. Their "bigs" (which do not carry a big $$$) are beautiful and a delicious meal. The pork chops will make you drool as you see them brought to the table!
Love the staff.. love the atmosphere.. love the beverage selection.. love the location!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PUBLIC eat+drink also viewed

North Adams, Berkshires
 
North Adams, Berkshires
 

Been to PUBLIC eat+drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PUBLIC eat+drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.