We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Year Anniversary Trip...An Adventure in Sleeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA to your Saves list
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pajama Party!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One Year Anniversary Trip...An Adventure in Sleeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This past weekend my husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary by staying at The Porches and traveling around the Berkshires.

We are picky travelers--long gone are the days when I felt comfortable shacking up in a triple bunkbed co-ed hostel room! We seek out unique places to stay and travel, meaning that we love to support original small businesses, in food, retail, and hospitality. On paper, The Porches seemed like just that. We were looking for a place similar to where we stayed for our mini-moon(The Clifton Inn in Charlottesville), for a relaxed and comfortable escape from city life.

First, the positives:
--The renovation, color scheme, and decoration of The Porches is as impressive in person as it is on their website.
--You can easily walk to the MOCA from the hotel.
--The bathroom is huge, cute, and clean.
--The main house has a series of comfortable leather chairs and an exceptionally friendly cat.

Now, the negatives:
--The Porches is right on top of the road. Literally right on top. We were thankful that we didn't have a street facing room; we were back in the building a bit and could still hear the road noise.

--We had been expecting and hoping for a more secluded, nature based 'retreat'. While there is a short path behind the hotel, it's simply a short path to an overlook and then back down.

--The noise level is incredible! Each hotel door's slam (or even quiet closing) jolted me from sleep. There is zero insulation between the first and second floors. We certainly didn't feel as if we were removed from our busy city life--the hotel was louder than our Brooklyn apartment!

--The breakfast room is inadequate for the number of guests at the hotel. This is made worse by brusque, 'bull in a china shop' style workers. The staff was perpetually on top of the guests, roughly clearing tables and shoving food around to restock. It was literally a rude awakening each morning.

So, in conclusion--parts of this hotel are quite nice. North Adams is not an affluent Berkshire town like Lenox or Great Barrington. I'm not sure what happened in North Adams before The Porches and MOCA were renovated. North Adams offers a decent jumping off stop to VT and Williams, but if you're more into visiting other Berkshire towns like Lenox and Great Barrington, it's not all that convenient. And the lack of insulation is a huge negative: it's disappointing to come back from a weekend away no more rested than when you left!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    120
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
79
178
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had a great time here. Our room was quaint and very well decorated. We had a great big bathroom that was very stylish. The whole place had a nice vibe. Every morning we would go and get a free continental breakfast and coffee in the dining area. We went to local breweries and got bottles of fresh brewed beer, and local wine, then had a glass of wine and enjoyed the hot tub surrounded by beautiful mountains. We met a lot of really nice people, and enjoyed snowboarding and massMOCA so close by

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Loved the creative re-use idea but found the combination of high price, marginal location and poor quality execution left us underwhelmed. This place is priced like a luxury hotel but built like a project from Home Depot and furnished like Pottery Barn. If that is your standard you may enjoy it. Fixtures and furniture were super low end. Soundproofing was barely adequate. We could hear everybody coming in and out of the building our room was in. I couldn't figure out why the AC was set at 65 degrees on a gorgeous, cool, late summer weekend until I switched it off. As the temperature climbed past 68 the smell of mildew in the room became stronger and stronger. The advertised linen bedding was nowhere to be found. The room was large, as was the bathroom, good thing because the bathroom had no window so no natural ventilation. The massive HVAC plant across the path from the rear facing rooms generates a constant racket, though other comments make me think that might be better than the noise from River street which the front rooms are on. The pool and hot tub were attractive but grossly undersized for a facility with this many rooms. The "walking path", really a steep scramble up the hill in the back, is a joke. The breakfast was little better than what you might expect at a motel and, while the staff tried valiantly to keep everything stocked, the facility was totally inadequate for serving this many people. One example, about a dozen diners were standing around the single two slice toaster that took about six minutes per cycle. This is why they encourage you to take your crappy cold snack-breakfast back to your room. They do allow dogs, but with a very steep extra charge. It is very convenient to Mass. MOCA, right across the street, but your accross the street from the back wall of the museaum compound which looks exactly like the abandoned mill building it once was and hasn't got an entrance. You do have a car wash, liquor store, several condemned houses and a soup kitchen for neighborhood ambiance, but this review is on the hotel, not N. Adams, and the hotel is long on promise and short on performance. Very poor value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

If you are looking for a QUIET night's sleep at a new, modern hotel DO NOT stay here. Yes, the Inn is a refurbished, retro "granny chic" space BUT the reality is that half the Inn's rooms sit on River Street in North Adams which is a busy thoroughfare with endless amounts of traffic-day and night. (sidenote: you will be advised by the friendly staff to close the pocket doors in your room to block out the noise.) Also in terms of "views" from your room, the rooms on River St. face a car wash and old abandoned mill across the street.

Based on the Inn's website, our expectations for the Porches Inn were high (candid details on their location and views across the street were nowhere to be found in the glossy marketing photos). The Porches Inn did not meet our expectations at all and we will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingDir, Public Relations Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
While we are sorry that we did not meet this guest's expectations, we must point out that our room rates are on par with that of comparable hotels in the Berkshires. We also would love to have had the opportunity to discuss this guest's experience with him/her. Guest input is an opportunity for improvement that we welcome and appreciate. We would also like to point out that that "abandoned mill across the street" that this writer refers to is the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art and is anything BUT abandoned! The museum has been open for over eleven years, is a vibrant part of the Berkshire community, and has been a huge proponent of economic growth for the northern Berkshire region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Great Inn! We love everything about it. The staff is fantastic and we love the decor and general vibe of the place. Being right across from MASS MoCA is a real plus. My 3 year old son loved the pool and the free rental movies from the front desk. Also great to stay in a place where breakfast and wifi are included for no additional cost. We will certainly be back for a visit!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

A beautiful place to stay! We love traveling to the Berkshires, and this is by far the most unique and comfortable place we have stayed. The room was simple but wonderful (and great air conditioning on a hot weekend). We chose a room with a porch and loved having private outdoor space to sit and read and drink coffee. The hotel itself is elegant but not fussy. Breakfasts are provided and are, once again, simple but well done. They put out watermelon and lemonade in the afternoon - a lovely and refreshing snack. There is a fitness center that is not large, but has good equipment and makes good use of the space. The pool and hot tub are a nice bonus - not big, but nicely done and very clean. This was our first visit there and we will definitely be back. The proximity to Mass MOCA is a great benefit - what a fantastic museum. The hotel is also within a short drive to Williamstown center for other fun things to do and see. The restaurant associated with Porches is on the Mass MOCA campus and is terrific - we enjoyed our dinner there very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed at The Porches Inn for a long weekend. It was girls getaway vacation for us. The the rooms and common areas are absolutely beautiful and very clean. I wish the swimming pool wa bigger. That is my only contructive comment. Location is very convenient to al N. Adams and Wiliamstown attractions. I highly recommend this hotel to couples, people traveling with friends or solo travelers. It could be a bit boring for children.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.