We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an enjoyable experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MASS MoCA

MASS MoCA
1040 Mass MoCa Way, North Adams, MA 01247
413 662 2111
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed on a restored 19th century factory campus, MASS MoCA is the largest center for contemporary visual and performing arts in the country. Open year round with full schedule of live events, changing exhibitions and Sol LeWitt Wall Drawing Retrospective.
Berkshire County
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our 3rd visit and it didn't disappoint. As with contemporary art, the view is so subjective but always interesting. We viewed Sol LeWitt and found it really took us back to the 70s. The other exhibits were surprising and fun to peruse.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    65
    24
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
626 reviews 626 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Top Rate venue- worth the trip-GO NOW! And you need all day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This musuem is so worth leaving NYC or Boston for the day. Not only is it a lovely drive- but the art work is on a scale way beyond most places.
Its all about space. Xu Bing would not fit many places. And not only could TWO phoenixes be accommodated- there was also space for his smaller pieces and the videos. Just great.
But besides the monumental, this museum can show smaller art that may be less known. We have enjoyed some really interesting shows over the years. There was a display, for instance, of Tom Philips' surrealist style years-long collage work.
And finally- the food is very good. We had the quiche and the lobster rolls from the dining area. Not cheap nor fast, but good and close to the art.
After our visit we did see some of the other galleries in North Adams. Some good stuff, but we had not left a lot of energy for more than a couple galleries. You need a day for this trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
180 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“It worth each mile and minute to get there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is a very special museum, with large areas for exhibitions and a special and wonderful taste to select what to be displayed. The museum offer free tour for their facilities with a very knowledgeable guide. I went there mostly to see the Xu Bing Phoenixes, but I need to say that the other exhibitions was as good as the Xu Bing one. The museum also offer some programs on music and arts, and they have nice cafeteria and shop. Definitively I need to return with more time to enjoy the museum and explore the beautiful area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unimaginable Space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The museum has grown and is now atrue CENTER for arts. Every staff member was accommodating. Knowledgeable & articulate summer intern was our docent on 7/15

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum for contemporary art.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This really is a wonderful museum for contemporary art that is situated in old textile factory buildings, which provide the enormous spaces necessary for this type of art. The installations are very well done and make good use of the spaces. On my first visit to MASS MoCa I went on a very nice guided tour and saw work by Jason Middlebrook and Xu Bing. The work by Xu Bing, particularly his Phoenix are amazing. A few days later I went to see the work by Sol LeWitt, which is on display semi-permanently. There is much more to explore as well as to hear and see various performances. This museum is definitely a must for art lovers visiting the Berkshires.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MASS MoCA also viewed

 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MASS MoCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.