We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what I needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for a business trip. Rooms were clean and modern and plenty of space for all your clothes, etc. Safe in room which is obviously imperative. Great restaurant downstairs which was key, since I was traveling alone (though a more casual option would have been nice as well). Free computer use in business center was a great feature.
2 complaints -1) when I got there my room phone wasn't working which is of course a hassle, but it was fixed quickly 2) walls are paper thin - I could hear the convos next door like we were all in bed together.

Overall would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Jen0510,

Appreciate the "4"star review and thanks for your feedback. We have had several issues with our guest room phones and new ones are on order. Will be here in Mid-April. Glad you enjoyed your stay and all was satisfactory. Hope to see you back on your next business trip. Pool might even be ready for the season:)

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    172
    130
    63
    33
See reviews for
122
100
62
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peron, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed for 5 days with my wife in February, Cold weather outside but wilh a warm welcome. The hotel had previously been a rather dull Holiday Inn but has been done up with boutique style service.
Excellent breakfast with good choices on the menu. The restaurant is very good though quite expensive.
The hotel is out of town but was close to the T public transit service, But if you have a car the hotel is close to both the Mass Turnpike and Route 128.
The charges are fair for the comfort and the good service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
lainGs...

Awesome 5 stars! Glad you liked our boutique hotel experience. Thanks for the great feedback. I will share with our team! Come back soon!

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wish you could do half ratings as they are really a 3.5 in my book.

Recently stayed at the Indigo for a couple of nights while in the area for business. It is a really cool retro facility with nice albeit ultra small rooms. Having hardwood floors was a nice touch and this was the only hotel I have stayed at with such a feature. Certainly keeps the dust down which was nice. The room was very clean upon my arrival. The bathrooms were almost as big as the room.

Service was okay at the front desk even though they never really explained anything about the hotel like where the fitness center was or how to get around at the hotel. Housekeeping was lousy. Never received any service in my room for either night. It was almost like they had no clue I was even staying there.

I would probably stay there again next time I am in the area as the restaurant and bar, Bokx109 which I will review separately was quite a lively hangout spot with great food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Kgosselin.....

Glad you enjoyed your experience in our great restaurant...and at the same time I wish to apologize for the lack of housekeeping service while you were with us. I will get with my Executive Housekeeper and figure that one out. Glad the room was clean and thanks for bringing this matter to my attention.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and as it was my first time in Boston, I wanted to see something of the city, too. Unfortunately this hotel is pretty far out in the middle of nowhere, not even shops around, but at least the T.
What was a bit odd, was that when I arrived there was a massive pool party going on in the hotel, with a DJ and crazy loud music. So when I was just planning on going for a swim, I was in the middle of a party. Which could have been cool, if I had some friends with me, but just arriving rather jet lagged, it was a bit awkward.
But the restaurant, which is part of the hotel was fantastic! Really good breakfast. But I didn't like that some things, like the fruit salade, you had to buy in a take-away box. Which felt like an unnecessary waste of plastic when I just want to eat it right there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
SimoneWitt..

Appreicate the feedback and thanks for the 5 stars on cleanliness and service! Also glad you enjoyed our award winnng restaurant!

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Really nice, clean and great location next to Subway Station down the street for easy commute to Boston. Breakfast was amazing!!! Classy rooms and great Service. Newton area has a great resturant to visit, Bocca Bella - Hidden Italian Resturant...excellent to visit!!!!

Room Tip: Great value and classy room's. Breakfast kitchen was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thechoj...

Outstanding! Psyched! Thanks for the "5" star review. We recently made some changes to our breakfast menu's....looks like they are working out pretty well! Glad you like the location and ease of getting into Boston. I will pass your comment on to the owner of Bocca Bella as well! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room was great, and they brought a really nice crib for my baby. It is also a very clean room. The problem was that the phone in the room was broken - impossible to call the reception, When my 4:45 am taxi arrived the hotel sent them away saying they did not know whether i am staying in a hotel or not. To be honest, quite annoying, given that I had to wake up the baby to make that taxi!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
AnnaSchter...

Thanks for the feedback, and thanks for the 5 stars on Cleanliness and Room Design. My apologies that the phone did not work. We have purchased all new phones. We found that the batteries in the cordless phones just don't hold a charge long enough and if the handset is not properly set in the cradle they go dead quickly. We will resolve. Thanks for mentioning. Sorry about the taxi, Do not understand that one. I will investigate. Take care and hope to see you again.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Pros: good business center, nice lobby, good bar, good wifi, in-room coffee (Green Mountain)

Cons: restaurant prices/value, location (nothing around if you don't have a car), very small rooms ergonomically poor (e.g. in order to get the ironing board out I had to remove the side table from the bed, move the lamp then remove the hangers to get it out), mess up on billing (it was directly billed from the nearby college and paid for but the front desk guy wouldn't acknowledge this). I usually get a newspaper at the door but neither morning did I get one. Rooms are very overpriced but I wasn't paying so it wasn't as much of an issue.

No housekeeping the second day.

The restaurant on the first night had a jazz band playing and the place was packed.

Room Tip: No comments. I was on the third floor and there were no issues in terms of sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
wandering the world....

Thanks for the feedback. Looks like you had a good stay, but we didn't wow you. We will try harder! Thanks again.


Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.