We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Good for a night but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Pros: good business center, nice lobby, good bar, good wifi, in-room coffee (Green Mountain)

Cons: restaurant prices/value, location (nothing around if you don't have a car), very small rooms ergonomically poor (e.g. in order to get the ironing board out I had to remove the side table from the bed, move the lamp then remove the hangers to get it out), mess up on billing (it was directly billed from the nearby college and paid for but the front desk guy wouldn't acknowledge this). I usually get a newspaper at the door but neither morning did I get one. Rooms are very overpriced but I wasn't paying so it wasn't as much of an issue.

No housekeeping the second day.

The restaurant on the first night had a jazz band playing and the place was packed.

Room Tip: No comments. I was on the third floor and there were no issues in terms of sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
wandering the world....

Thanks for the feedback. Looks like you had a good stay, but we didn't wow you. We will try harder! Thanks again.


Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    182
    134
    63
    33
See reviews for
124
106
63
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - just off 95, an exit from the Mass Pike, walking distance to the T-station and close to many colleges and universities in the area. Covered parking - 2 decks- was especially appreciated with the snow and wind we had that weekend. A mile down the road and on the right is a little cafe that was recommended by the hotel receptionist. It was excellent! I wish I remembered the name.
The room was small but very clean with comfortable beds and linens. Coffee and tea K-cups were a welcome treat in the room as were warm cookies one evening. My only complant was the tiny bathroom - the lighting was horrible for make-up application and there was no place to put my toiletries/make-up bag. The small glass shelf was tilted down and unable to support any products. The front desk staff was very friendly and informative. I would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: The second floor has a few steps to go up in case you have any walking disabilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
MaryLouise53....

Thanks for the great review! Glad you liked the hotel and its location. The cafe you went to was Boca Bella, very quaint and great food. Thanks for the heads up regarding the bathroom. 4 stars! Thanks again.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when it was snowing outside. It was a comfortable place to be holed up. My room was large, nicely furnished and I had a wonderful view of snow-covered landscaping from the 5th floor. The hotel restaurant and bar were great. The bar is popular with residents and very lively in the evenings and has a nice selection of bar food. During the morning the bar area is used to serve breakfast. The breakfast prices are reasonable and the food very good. The T station is right next door to the hotel about a one block walk, but there's a sidewalk all the way. Overall, this is a great hotel to stay if one isn't interested in staying inside the city of Boston, although I did find the restaurant prices to be a little expensive. A plus is free internet access and underground parking.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor in room 506. The view was fantastic. It overlooked a golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
GigiF....

Let it snow! Let it snow! Glad you found comfort with us at the Indigo! Thanks for the kind remarks. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!


Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Indigo Newton provides reasonably priced alternative to staying in the city of Boston. We found it to be clean and nicely equipped. The hotel's lobby immediately alerts you that you are not in a "dump." We were skeptical after reading other reviews but am glad we chose to ignore some of the negativity. We had no issues at all with the elevators and were not at all bothered by noise. The restaurant on site can be pricey depending on what you order, which could be an issue for the non-business traveller, but the food is good and elegantly prepared. The convenience of the T is a huge plus as it is easily walkable (last stop on the Riverside ("green")) line. On next trip to the area, we'll definitely consider this hotel again. A suggestion would be to install bathroom fans...rooms are on the small side and moisture easily seeps into the sleeping area,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
LASC608....

Awesome review! Much appreciated. There are fans in the bathrooms, we will test them. Thanks for all the other great comments! Come back soon.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiebrown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My son attends college in the Newton area and finding hotels in the vicinity is a chore. I find the choices generally acceptable, but pretty blah for the price. I happened on the Hotel Indigo when my usual hotel was closed for renovations and I have been very happily surprised. The rooms are modern, functional and attractive. Staff are friendly and helpful and unobtrusive. The beds are very comfortable. The fitness room is very nice. And the restaurant, box 109, is FANTASTIC. It has a really interesting, inspired chef, and the prices are pretty reasonable given the ambition of the food, wine and service. After a simple meal for one tonight I am thinking it might be the place to reserve for a graduation dinner in a few years (god willing!). The Hotel Indigo is right next to an onramp for a main highway, which is usually not a preference of mine. But given all the bottlenecks on the surface roads in this particular corner of Mass it is nice to be able to pass them by.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
sophiebrown...

Many thanks for the splendid review. We wish your son great success at college, and I hope we can count on that graduation dinner!

Thanks again,
Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The most comfortable bed that i have slept in. Room were euro style, with nice touches. Parking was convenient. Great rate. Doorman was a nice touch as the evening progressed. In room Keurig. Hardwood floors. Great shower.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Roadtrip091...

Wonderful review, thanks! We get lots of compliments on the beds. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Indigo and could really sum up my impression of these accommodations as 'snazzy.'

The location was ideal for my business trip and the staff was very polite and willing to help out. When my key didn't work and I went downstairs to get help, the staff immediately apologized. They provided two new key cards and even ran up to my room to double check if they worked, while I waited in the lobby and enjoyed a free cookie just in case.

After dining at Bokx 109 and returning to my room at about 10:30 p.m., I was surprised to find a rather large puddle of clear water next to my bed and under it as well. It had been a dreadful, rainy morning, but I could find a source. When I called down the staff offered to switch my room or clean up the puddle, since it was late I declined. They explained that due to the infrastructure, rain water often came up through the floorboards, which was bizarre to me. Never heard of that, I was on the third floor.

The bed was nice and comfy, the room size was great for a single traveler or a couple. The bathroom was cute, but small and functional.

Overall, a decently nice experience for my overnight business trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Marilyn D..

Thanks for the nice review and my apologies on the water in your room. When we get heavy rains from the Northeast, there are several rooms that allow water to penetrate the building where the window meets the wall. It will then run under the hardwood floor and come up where it finds an opening. We have plans in the spring to repair these 4-5 rooms. Thanks for the kind words regarding out staff. Hope to see you back again soon.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.