We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, average location, slightly expensive restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel, average location, slightly expensive restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Firstly this hotel is not near central Boston. It is in Newton. This is accessible from the airport (taxi around 20 minutes at 75 dollars incl. tip) without traffice. with traffic it will go upto at least 30minutes.

The rooms are nicely furnished - the climate control was loud enough to disrupt sleep so I suggest super heating the room in the evening and then turning it off overnight.

The attached restaurant in my opinion is aobove average but not exemplary. I found the prices to be somewhat high for what it was. This was an issue are not many other places to eat within walking distance.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

I would reccomend it but only for one or two nights if you will be in the Newton area.

Room Tip: Facing the freeway gives a sunset view but a tiny bit more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Paulo82ok....

Thanks for the 4 star review and kind words about our friendly staff. The location of the hotel at the junction of the Mass Pike and route 128 is an excellent location for someone to move around the region. With the Subway station next door there is also easy access into the city. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    159
    123
    63
    32
See reviews for
118
92
61
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. I found the service to be good and responsive. The first time I was here the elevators seemed to be very slow but this time they were fine. Now the heaters. I'm usually a heavy sleeper but this time I was fighting off a cold and sleeping on the light side but I think any normal sleeper would be disturbed by the cycling heater noise. I measured the A weighted sound level at a nice quiet 32.5 dbA when the heater was off. When it comes on every five minutes with a rattle it settles into a loud 49.5 dbA sound level. I used a noise app in my iPhone for the measurements. This is loud for sleeping but the jump in noise level is what really woke me up. All other aspects about the hotel and room were fine for me as a business traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Sandy B..

Thanks for the review. We are addresssing the HVAC noise level in some of our rooms by installing new thermostats which will keep units from cycling on and off. As you point out, in some of the rooms the compressor cycling on and off all night is the cause for the noise disruption. Appreiciate the return visit, nice comments regarding staff, and thanks for returning. Hope to see you again,

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here for work for two nights. It was easily accessible via taxi from the airport. Rooms are very compact. Fine for a single person. Ate breakfasting the cafe both days. Food was good. A bit of a line up at times. You could hear people walking in the halls at night so I used the air conditioner to deaden the sound. One key point is to prebook morning taxis the night before as there are few local taxis and you will otherwise need to wait at peak hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Heather M....

Happy New Year. Appreciate the 4 star review and glad you enjoyed your business trip and stay at the hotel. I will speak to the Front dest to be more proactive about inquiring whether our guests will need a cab in the morning so we can pre-book as many as possible. Our courtesy hotel shuttle travels in a 5 mile radius of the hotel and can be pre booked the night before as well. Again, thanks for the feedback!

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is conviniently located near fwy entrance and also a very short walk to the riverside train station. It is good for those who arrive by car, but there are really no eateries within walking distance. They do have a van which will take you to nearby town where you can have pretty good, japanese and italian food. The restaurant has a restaurant too and they were packed on the 2 days i was there. The meals were pretty good but pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
selos10...

Thanks for the Four Strar review and the 5 star on the Rooms quality. The hotel does have a wonderful location with easy access to everything surrounding Boston. Our restaurant, BOKX 109, is very popular within the community, which is the best indication of a great restaurant- if the locals like it, your in good form! I will share your comments with my team and we hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is hugely benefited by its proximity to convenient roadway access. You can zip out to Newton from Logan, attend a meeting, and get right back on the Mass Pike for a trip downtown. It is also convenient proximity to a MBTA stop - only a few steps from the front door of the hotel.

I have stayed here and used the facilities for business meetings. The "boutique" nature and feel of the hotel make it a more hip alternative to the "box" hotels found in the Newton/Needham area. It is a fair place with decent rooms (they are on the small side), an adequate dining room and bar, and a great location.

What I like most about the hotel is the meeting spaces. There are a number of rooms and conference facilities that can be used for business and corporate meetings. We have used it for leadership retreats and small team focus meetings. The catering that comes with the rooms is a bit underwhelming (not high end food stuffs), but more than adequate for business meeting purposes.

I am sure I will stay in the hotel again. The location, friendliness of the staff and location (did I mention this already?) make it a decent place. I will end this by stating that there are far nicer hotels (at much higher prices) in the Boston-proper area. So, if you don't have to be in the west part of the city (i.e., Needham, Newton, etc.) - then I suggest staying in one of the nicer Back Bay hotels near Copley.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
WayneC...

Appreciate the feedback and great to hear you love our location. Yes, convenient to all major highways, Subway station, and Boston City access. Glad to hear you'll be back again! Have a great holidya season and thanks for your buisness.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited the Indigo Hotel during the Thanksgiving weekend. When we checked in at 10pm out room was extremely noisy due to a broken radiator. When we tried to call the front desk the phone was also broken. 1/2 hour later we got a new room. Then the next day we were informed that it would be 45 minutes for an egg sandwich. The following day we woke up to discover that there was no hot water. The explanation that the hot water would be up soon never came. I was told there would be a refund and to date we have not heard from the Indigo Hotel. Too bad we are often in the Newton area and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by a great looking shower, it still may not have hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
LDonner2....

My apologies for the lack of hot water on the morning of 11/24. A hot water pump motor burnt out and we had to get a new motor, and plumber to make the repair. We had no hot water for about 4 hours. As you frequently come to Newton, please contact me directly and let's discuss a future stay for your inconvenience. My office line is 617-454-3434. Thanks.

Bruce Leaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We reserved a couple nights with high hopes based on a friend's recommendation, but came away feeling disappointed with the experience. Before going into the problems, it's worth mentioning that the staff was friendly and helpful enough -- the service wasn't the issue. The main issue was the room. First, the room itself was on the small side, which might be expected for a hotel in an historic building or on a crowded city street, but not for this type of location on plenty of land nearby to a big commuter train station. The bathroom in particular was about the smallest I've ever seen, with barely enough room for the single sink, small vanity and toilet. I was also very disappointed with the peeling paint above the shower head and areas with stained (dirty?) grout/seams, which offset the "upscale" look of the glass-doored shower and fixtures. A bright spot for our stay was the on site restaurant/bar, which had a fun atmosphere and live Jazz music (which kept the rating from being even lower).

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger one (if there are any) when traveling with more than one or two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
IP3431...

Thanks for the review. Sorry you were disappointed with your room. They are small I agree, however usually we get wonderful comments about the design, hardwood floors, and spa like showers. I will investigate the peeling cieling, we must have had a leak and it was not noticed by our inspectors. I aplogize. Glad you liked BOKX 109 our award winning restaurant. Thanks for the feedback!

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.