We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cute boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A cute boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel, tucked away just outside of Boston in Newton, MA is such a delightful little find. The rooms are well appointed and have a sexy darkness to them with a modern appeal. Parking is free and there is a lively pool scene in the summer time. The staff was also very helpful and attentive which is what makes a boutique experience so different than your typical large scale chain hotel. The hotel allows easy access to I-95/128 and of course Newton is a quick drive or train ride into Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
meleetyme....

Thank you! What a great review. Glad we were able to provide the great respite for you! Thanks for the kind words about our great staff! I will share with them.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    182
    134
    63
    33
See reviews for
124
107
63
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here on business for three nights while commuting daily to Boston. As mentioned by others, the hotel has been completely refreshed since changing companies, and the decor is hip and inviting. My room was great, well appointed, bed very comfortable, and shower/water pressure very satisfying. Everything was clean as a whistle. The front desk staff was friendly and check-in was simple and fast. The bar/restaurant was gorgeous and service was excellent. I only ate breakfast here, but the food was great and service fast. Even the coffee was excellent, which is tough to find in a hotel. I returned for drinks late and found the evening bar staff equally friendly and accommodating, though I wish it were open later. The hotel is conveniently right off the I-90/95 interchange, though road noise was not at all noticable. The T is also located right next door.

Overall, my stay was comfortable and relaxing, which was what I needed after a long day in Boston. Be warned that Newton absolutely shuts down at night, so if you arrive late don't expect to find an open grocery store, mall, bar, restaurant, or even a donut shop anywhere close to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
DoubleBock....

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to sing our praises! I will share your comments with our team members and I am sure your review will put a smile on their faces. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday and we hope to see you back at Hotel Indgo Newton very soon!

Best Regards,
Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Formally a Holiday Inn, they have done a great job on the decor, intimate with a classy hipness to it. Colors like orange and blue greet you in the lobby, with modern furniture. The rooms have ample space and free wifi in your room add to the attractiveness of your surroundings. Now the check in staff were efficient and pleasant, but it ends there. The staff in the restaurant and bar were positively rude. They had a wonderful jazz band in the bar, and I thought after a day of business meetings, how great to unwind, listening to music. I sat at the bar for over twenty minutes before anyone acknowledged me and then not even a hello. Just a rude toss of the napkin at me. The restaurant staff just always seemed that they couldn't get rid of you fast enough. I'd stay at an Indigo again because not all staff is alike. I believe a course is customer service is due.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner roon, more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
didibroklyn.....

Appreciate the feedback and I am glad you like our modern decor in the guestrooms. My apologies regarding your poor experience with the bartender in our restaurant. I will share your remarks with our Restaurant GM and will will coach our bar staff. Thanks for letting us know.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hotel Indigo Newton from the outside appears to be your ordinary chain hotel, but once you park and step inside you will see it is every extraordinary. The clean, extra modern decor begins in the lobby. We were checked in very quickly by a friendly and efficient front desk clerk named Mark, who gave us all the necessary information on the area, what was fun to do and how to get to downtown Boston cheap. Kudos to him he really set up the beginning of our stay for us.

We stayed in one of the suite(ish) rooms at the end of the hall on the fifth floor. Our room was very modern and beautifully well decorated. Although not that big it was nice. The flooring was laminate wood, and the room and bathroom very clean, no dust bunnies hiding around our room. The bathroom had a spa feel starting with the Aveda shower products and had an open glass shower, high end looking sink and vanity. Cool part about this was the rock design in the bathroom sort of built into the room. The bed was very comfortable with first class bedding and sheets. We had a fold out sofa in the sitting area. The room had a nice large flat screen TV. My husband kept asking me are you sure we only paid $119.00 for this room.
We ate dinner that night at the hotel restaurant, BOKX 109, my applause goes to Chef Stephen Coethe food was delicious and service was very good there as well.

Check out was another delight Ketsy greeted us with a warm smile and great attitude at 7am.The Hotel Indigo does not have all the trappings of the large chain hotels, but I found everything satisfying This will always be our first choice for a hotel in the Boston area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
OmarJ...

Thanks for the great comments and review on the Hotel. I especially appreciate the "call-out" and mention of the great service by some of our staff members - Mark and Ketsy. I appreciate your kind remarks and will share them with the team. Chef Coe is a great Culinarian who is going to take our already great award winning BOKX 109 restaurant to even greater heights!!

Thanks again for the 5 star reveiw

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My high school daughter and I stayed here as we visited several colleges in Boston over a recent weekend. I chose Hotel Indigo for the location and parking (ie, I didn't need to drive all the way into Boston, could park the car for a reasonable rate, and the T stop couldn't be more conveniently located), but it wasn't my first choice. I usually try to find B&Bs on this kind of trip because the owners seem to have lots of helpful info about the schools, their neighborhoods, transportation, etc, but alas -- it was Parent Weekend at a number of Boston schools and the B&Bs I tried were booked.

Hotel Indigo was more expensive than I wanted but not out of line for a city hotel. We liked the room very much; it was clean and well appointed, and the compact size was fine for us. The breakfast situation was fine also, we were happy with oatmeal, muffins, fruit, yogurt, etc, and tho pricey it was still to be expected.

Our only complaints were about noise and Internet. I was kept half awake for about an hour late at night by what I groggily thought was people in the hall. I later realized they were people conversing in their own room, but it sounded much closer/clearer than that. We also were never able to connect to the free Internet, even tho we had no issues at a subsequent hotel on the same trip. We just made good use of Hotel Indigo's well supplied Business Center instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Scienceteech...


Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and I hope the search for a college for your daughter brings you to the Boston area! Appreciate the kind comments about the location and cleanlinees, and at the same time I want to apologize for the lack of internet while you were here. We offer complimentary internet, but if it doesn't work, I guess that's not really a freebie is it! We probably had a Wireless access point in the vicinity of your room that needed to be reset. Sorry bout that. Thanks for the feedback and again well wishes on your college search.

Bruce Leaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We reserved (prepaid) their "most popular" package which included room, parking, breakfast and 2PM checkout. Checkout is normally an early 11AM. Check in was a little disorganized with our having to come back to the front desk to retrieve the breakfast coupon. The room was nicely appointed but cramped, especially the closet space. The "breakfast" is rather rinky dink, you order from what appears to be a place where you would get coffee and danish and they bring it to you in the restaurant. The food was average and the menu limited. My main complaint is that I heard slamming doors all morning (guests and housekeeping staff) and at a little before 11AM, housekeeping knocked on our door despite having a do not disturb sign out. We told them we were still in the room and about 5 minutes later, right at 11AM, the knock came again. This time, I told them we had a 2PM checkout and was told that the front desk had not notified them. We left very shortly after that since late check out is not worth anything if you can't sleep in or relax. I would not choose to return, but if I did, I would opt out of the "most popular" package because between a disappointing breakfast experience and the inability to be left alone until 2PM was not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
VickyE2006...

Appreciate the feedback and I will share your inconveniece regarding the housekeeping interuption with my Executive Housekeeper. You are right, you should be able to enjoy a "sleep-in" morning especially when you have your DND (do not disturb) sign in place. My sincere apologies, we will correct this right away. Thanks for sharing.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I get to the hotel to find out my reservation had been cancelled. I needed two beds in the room but hotel did not have any two bed rooms left. Had to call a friend who confirmed my reservation the day before and eventually the hotel gave me two rooms for the price of one. Hotel was clean and staff was nice. Elevators were slow and usually had to wait a while as maid staff and gear were on them.The room was nice but on the smaller side and the bathroom was nice but no room for supplies. Great location to get anywhere around Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
docpen....

Thanks for the feedback and glad we got your reservation squared away. Glad to hear you liked the location. I will share you comments with our team. Thanks for staying with us.


Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.