We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02458   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having just moved from an expensive but disappointing historic hotel in downtown Boston, I was pleasantly surprised by this modern, budget-friendly Crowne Plaza. My room on the 9th floor was clean, roomy and comfortable. Comfortable beds, good hot shower, nice amenities (including a sleep kit with earplugs and linen scent spray), reliable elevators.

Yes, it is built over the Mass Pike and the train rumbles by regularly but I didn't find it excessively loud on the 9th floor, especially with the fan unit running for some white noise. It is conveniently located to the Mass Pike, obviously :), but also to lots of interesting locally-owned shops and restaurants in the nearby neighborhoods.

The lobby was under construction which was a bit of a nuisance but we weren't planning to hang out in the lobby anyway. We did have dinner in the restaurant which was PACKED, not surprisingly, because the food turned out to be quite good.

All in all, if you are looking for a convenient place to stay in this neighborhood this is a good, inexpensive option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Dawn- thank you for sharing your experience! It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our lobby renovations are almost over, and we are so excited and cannot wait! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed Social - the food and atmosphere are amazing! Again, thank you for staying with us - and, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    142
    145
    71
    56
See reviews for
153
93
58
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Terribly small room, to much furniture for the size. Hair dryer on its last leg. No counter space in bathroom. Ice machine had saturated towels in front of it. Upgrading the lobby not the rooms, which need it badly. Front desk was slow to get us checked in, on one reached out. Nothing welcoming about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear MG- I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your last visit. Our hotel offers a variety of room types, from a standard queen guest room to our executive King guest rooms. Our rooms are newly renovated, with the most updated amenities. I would love to hear from you, and hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our executive king rooms, on our top floor, for a different - enjoyable stay with us! Please reach out to me - emuka@cpbostonnewton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hotel is nice enough (just finishing some renovations) BUT they did not install sound proof windows. Not generally a problem, but this hotel is suspended over I-90. Happy to say they provide nice ear plugs at the bedside. Tells you all you need to know.

Workout room was better than average and the bar was more lively than most hotel bars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Kevin- I couldn't agree more! Our fitness center is very spacious, with a very unique view - just perfect for a work out... I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our brand new restaurant and bar, Social. With the live music/bands in the weekends, it is the place to be in Newton! On your next visit to Boston, please reach out to our guest services team, and we will be delighted to assist you and ensure that you will be in one of our quite rooms. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Not a bad hotel. Would normally rate a hotel like this at least 3 stars possibly 4. BUT two gripes

1) Breakfast is overpriced and food quality was so-so. The croissant tasted stale, eggs were a little undercooked but staff was attentive and service at breakfast was good.

2) The front desk needed some help. We arrived late and were part of a group. there was some confusion regarding our room which the front desk people did not do a good job of straightening out. The main thing that stands out is the following: The manager came out at 10:50 pm and surveyed the situation and said "I don't think this will be hard to resolve" but did not get involved and then said "Well, I don't come on until 11." That exemplifies our experience with the front desk. Needless to say we got our room without the help of the manager (at 11:20) and then took 2 tries to get an empty room (first room key was for an occupied room).

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for your feedback. I take your comments very seriously and have indeed followed up with the proper department managers and staff members involved. Jumping in and resolving guest issues is the expectation, and I am sorry the necessary sense of urgency was not evident. I would like to opportunity to speak with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

As a background, I stay at this hotel 5-6 times a year. As an IHG gold elite member, I usually get a room on the top floor so there is less traffic noise from the Mass. Pike. below, not this time. Usually given Poland Spring water in my room, not this time. Usually given drink coupons at the bar, not this time. Front desk staff barely recognized me as an IHG gold elite member. Parking in the garage (not owned by the hotel), was raised from 9 dollars to 12 dollars. You can usually find parking on the street.

Room Tip: the higher, the better. side of hotel that faces west, not east so the sun doesn't rise in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ronald R,

First let me say that we value all of our guests, but our IHG Rewards Club guests are of particular importance because of the ongoing loyalty they represent to our hotel and the brand. IHG has updated the program and streamlined the welcome amenity for consistency among all Crowne Plaza Hotels. We always attempt to place our Rewards Club guests on the highest floors when we know this is their preference. Many prefer the lower floors, closer to the health club, lobby, parking, etc. Please ensure at time of your next reservation that you note your room preference and we will update your profile. All efforts will be made to accommodate you. Thank you for your ongoing loyalty to our hotel and IHG. It's a great program - with the most flexible point redemption program in the industry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel was a bit hard to find. The room I had was straddled over the highway which made it noisy during rush hour. There is also a commuter train that runs under the building which you could hear. The room was fine but nothing special about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear ShawnH_travels,

Thank you for letting us know of your concerns. Next time you travel to Boston, please contact me for a reservation, and I'll ensure you are placed on a higher floor. As with most hotels in an urban area, we do contend with traffic and other transportation-related noise, but for those guests that may be sensitive to this, we certainly want them to know there are options. We have 12 floors, and I'm certain we can make your next stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived at this hotel to find that its situated above a highway. Though this may seem like a downside, watching the busy world goes by right below your feet was a cool view. The hotel would have earned 5 stars with the kind and competent front desk staffs, convenient location, indoor pool, and services. The two stars reduction is due to questionable cleaning practice of glasswares in the room and the presence of crumbs on the table after our room was cleaned. It was clear that our dirty glass never left our room or saw a dishwasher. We would definitely stay here agin but will be wary of using any glassware here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Veera04,

I appreciate your comments. It sounds as if we met your expectations on many levels, but I was concerned with your housekeeping comments. First of all, I do want to assure you that guest room glassware is cleaned through our commercial dish machine and restocked for our housekeepers several times daily. What does happen at times is that some housekeepers are too timid to remove any glassware that appears 'in use' or what they feel may be residual food items from an occupied room. We have reviewed this with the cleaning team to remind them to check with a supervisor if there is any confusion, so as not to give our guests the perception that it was an oversight. Since so much about your stay was positive, I do hope you stay with us again and contact me personally to assist with your reservation. Again, thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Address: 320 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza® Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Marthas Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $9.00 per day, significantly less than Boston prices.Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza® Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.