We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02458   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Newton
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was a great stay. Was welcomed as a platinum rewards member at check in. Room was very clean as was the bathroom. Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Small negative was the indoor pool is small and water was a bit cold. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    131
    138
    67
    49
See reviews for
136
86
56
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent the weekend, great room, nice staff, pretty good location. Only hitch is that it sits right on top of Hwy 90. It can be a bit noisy at times. They do provide earplugs and when the air is on, you barely notice the vehicle noises.
Had a beer at the bar and a quick bite to eat in their restaurant. The bartender and the waiter did everything they could to make it a good experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this property via Hotwire, looking for a place close to Fenway. I was concerned when I got the details, because the hotel is not on a subway line, and the bus trip is very long, but all was good. Got early check-in from super-friendly and helpful from desk staff, great secure parking next door for $9, and cabbed downtown for lunch before heading to the ballpark. (Easy subway ride from there.)

The room was clean and spacious. I heard none of the traffic noise that seems to have bothered other reviewers, and I'm a light sleeper.

Great find. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location and very comfortable rooms. Nice work space in room, updated bathroom and very nice king beds. Friendly staff and excellent bar. Great pizza place across the street and one of the best pubs in Boston!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Two out of the three mornings at this hotel, I had to shower in cold water. The room was colder than I would like and no hot water was extremely disturbing..

I was told someone would get back to me on this complaint and no one ever did.

I was awakened several times at night when the air conditioner/heating unit came on.

Room Tip: Above the 5th floor and toward the south might be a quitter chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Barbara S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We needed some help on our recent visit, and Frannie was amazing. She was caring, took ownership, and got us completely taken care of.

Hotel is updated and nice, breakfast was good, immediate access to downtown Boston via express bus, but the real gem of this hotel is Frannie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I want to salute Mohamed Fanidi, who runs the restaurant at the Crowne Plaza in the mornings. It's his affability, professionalism, and attention to detail week after week which makes it such a pleasant experience to stay here. It's great to talk with him--it's like talking with family--and it's a great boost for me before teaching classes at BC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up over the highway--you'll sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Address: 320 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza® Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Marthas Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $9.00 per day, significantly less than Boston prices.Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza® Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.