We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02458   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was in the Boston area recently and my hosts booked me into this hotel. I can say it is an ok place. Though it is built across a major Highway surprising I did not find the traffic noise disturbing.
I had room with a Queen size bed. The room really felt cramped. The bed sort of filled the entire room.
I have to say the staff were friendly and helpful. Considering what my hosts paid for the room. I consider it was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    177
    157
    81
    63
See reviews for
184
104
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I and my girlfriend have been in this hotel for three nights. It is not so close to downtown,if you don't have your own car is not so easy reach it,anyway there's a bus stop very close,the hard thing to do is understand the right bus who goes to downtown. The room is very comfortable,there is a couch,a big flat screen tv,electronic alarm,a comfy bed, bathroom wasn't too much spacious but clean. The hotel has a indoor pool.Breakfast wasn't included and the price to have it is pretty high.We didn't try the restaurant but one night we had the room service,it was good.In the corridors are located some machines for ice and beverages.Good value for money.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stay at this hotel several times a month and have not had a bad experience yet. My job brings me to Newton weekly and I often stay overnight at the Crown Plaza. The front desk staff is wonderful and a few times I have ordered room service and they are efficient and friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter lives in Back Bay, and I would love to stay within walking distance of her apartment. Unfortunately, I can't justify the three to four times the cost to do so. The Crowne Plaza in Newton is clean, with a professional staff, and less than 10 minutes (with no traffic) to Back Bay. Added bonus is the Dunkin Donuts right across the street for a quick breakfast. I would suggest a high floor if you're a light sleeper, as the motel is right on the highway. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza while in the area. I have never seen a hotel that is actually built over a highway so I figured I would try it out. The hotel is very nice inside and clean. It has obviously gone through some updates recently inside, but the outside well that's a different discussion.

If you are a light sleeper or like to sleep in this is probably not the place to stay. The highway noise even on the 12th floor is loud. They do however leave ear plugs in the room and a little kit to help you get a restful nights sleep.

The on-site restaurant was awful. Tried to have breakfast there one morning and I have never ever had such horrible service. The hotel is in a great location so you are much better served by going out to one of the spots within walking distance like Max & Leo's Coal Fired Pizza which is directly across the street.

I have a separate review of Max & Leo's which was awesome. Probably the best pizza I have ever had. There is also a Pizzeria Uno a hundred yards down roughly from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we loved staying at this hotel. the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was on the bus line and easy to get to. Beautiful rooms, very compfy- and way cool having the highway going underneath the hotel with gorgeous views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had an early morning business meeting in Waltham, so did a Priceline bid for a hotel close by. Crowne Plaza took the bid . I didn't arrive until late - Franni was on the front desk - she was a ray of sunshine! So helpful and chatty. She does a great job making people feel special. The room was great for the short time I was there - sleeping - but Franni was the highlight. If you stay here - be sure to check in on Franni's watch.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crescent Suites Hotel
#1 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Allston / Brighton
BEST WESTERN University Hotel Boston-Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Address: 320 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza® Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Marthas Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $9.00 per day, significantly less than Boston prices.Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza® Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.