We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Staff Makes this a Four Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Newton to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Newton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Commonwealth Avenue, Newton, MA 02466   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
VA
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“The Great Staff Makes this a Four Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here in January when temps were at 12 degrees in the AM first thing. The staff is the plus here. Robert at reception was dynamite. He had a lot of energy and enthusiasm at 9pm. Also the young woman who staffed the coffee kiosk on Sunday at 630am was very good, polite. My fourth star is entirely based on the staff's great attitude.

The hotel is like a large cruise ship: Set up for conventions from 1988. Dated appearance. Very long hallways.

The upside is that the view of the Charles River is very good.

One drag: We asked for soft pillows. This Marriott has no soft pillows. Very odd. That's one reason why Marriott is generally a "get it done" hotel for busines travelers and the Kimpton, Westin, and often Hyatt -- are generally head and shoulders better.

Second drag: The restaurant. For dinner it was overwhelmed and the servers were terrible. We were given two different photocopied menus. Ordered chicken tenders/strips -- but clearly just frozen. Really bad dinner.

Breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was much better. The nice guy staffing the omelet maker is a wizard. Again, great staff.

If you are looking for a romantic weekend, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ007, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your observations about our service centric associates. We certainly pride ourselves in providing the highest service levels. I was disappointed to here that the restaurant was not prepared to handle the volume of guests that evening and will address opportunities to improve with the restaurant team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    188
    115
    36
    23
See reviews for
127
43
36
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for business and will stay in future as it's close to my company's headquarters.

The hotel itself is quite dated (would've been great in the 80's and 90's), but its the staff that make this hotel worth staying at. Always friendly and very helpful, they made my 13 night stay very easy and enjoyable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ007, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for your comments relative to your most recent stay at the Newton Marriott. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice hotel with great river views. The health club is large and well equipped. Wish they had a hot tub though. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and pillows. Conveniently located less than a mile from the highway. I didn't try the restaurant but the bar had good food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: See if you can get a river view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ007, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Newton Marriott. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Marriott Newton is great for business. Their rooms have a great work area, wi-fi and great room service. If you need anything from the concierge, they are very quick and will do their best to help. The hotel met my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ007, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments relative to your most recent stay. All of our associates pride themselves with our service to our guests. We appreciate you recognizing their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back....hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Right on the Charles River, but not close enough to Boston to avoid catching hotel shuttle (and returning before 8 pm) To the public rail into Boston. If you want to see Boston without a car, this is too inconvenient.

Room Tip: Face the river on the ground and you get your own terrace, table, and lounge chairs. Go higher and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I attend a conference every year at this location, and it is a very good conference facility. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean. Rooms on the west side have a nice view of the Charles river. A fridge is included. Wifi was free because of the conference, but usually there is a charge. This time, all meals were provided at the conference; they were OK, but not great. I have eaten in the restaurant onsite in the past and found it quite good. The hotel is located right at the intersection of the Mass Pike and route 95 (aka 128), making access by car easy. We had a great rate thanks to the conference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. Floor numbering is a bit odd. The lobby is on the 4th floor. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The room was fine, just what you would expect from the Marriott. Not very many Holiday decorations. I went to a party also at the Marriott and the only Holiday decoration was a small poinsettia on each table. I paid through a discount company and got a nice room...the one I expected. My friend booked through the Newton Marriott directly and received an upgrade to a suite at no extra charge. He made his reservation 2days prior to the party. Perhaps going through the hotel directly is the way to go

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Newton

Address: 2345 Commonwealth Avenue, Newton, MA 02466
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Newton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boston Marriott Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Newton Hotel Newton
Marriott Newton
Newton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.