We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, good service, fresh sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apgujung

Apgujung
1114 Beacon St., Newton, MA 02461
(617) 527-7888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 225 restaurants in Newton
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Korean
Restaurant details
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good service, fresh sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice place. Eaten there twice, with a good experience both times. Sushi was fresh, though the "kamikaze" was nothing like you would expect from the name. Plenty of parking, and lots of tables inside.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    8
    4
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good as Korea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Food here is not limited to Korean. Also has other Asian but the Korean food is excellent. The bibimbab is great, every version. Also the shamui appetizer is terrific. This is one of my locals and I love it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I went her because we had a goupon and took with some family visiting from out of town. While I liked the variety on the menu, most of us were not impressed with our food. The food was bland in some cases. The restaurant also seemed a little decrepit and disorganized. We only had a group of 5 and the food came out in a weird order, some appetizers were late while some entrees were early.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lacking in flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We decided to try this place since I had just purchased a Groupon for it. Overall this is a decent place but there are so many other ones that are better that we won't be going back anytime soon.

Pros:
The atmosphere was nice and definitely family-oriented on a Friday evening.
Plenty of on-site parking.
Service was friendly and attentive.

Cons:
Some of the side dishes were either a bit too salty or didn't taste fresh.
The beef bulgogi was lacking in flavor and the meat was a bit tough.
The vegetable tempura was a bit too soft as if it wasn't deep fried enough - lacking crunch..
The meat in the beef bimbimbap stone pot was also just a wee bit tough.

We also ordered the sushi boat B. The rice in the sushi was a bit under seasoned and we prefer a wee bit of wasabi in each sushi but there wasn't any at all. You just have to put it in yourself which okay too.
The sushi boat presentation was wonderful but upon closer inspection they should have either fixed the front of the boat professionally or put the food on another boat. Taping the front portion of the boat together with Scotch tape wasn't appealing...especially when we had to turn the boat around to reach the food on the other side and sections of the front came off.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wished it was more authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I am Korean and I went there with non-Koreans, who all enjoyed the bibimbap...but it was a pale version of the real thing. I saw someone else's noodle dish - also looked like a shortcut version of the real thing. My spicy-tofu stew was quite good. The side dishes were weak. No Korean soju - I asked the waitress why but she could not answer. Not sure if the restaurant is committed to being an authentic Korean restaurant. Good decor.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apgujung also viewed

 

Been to Apgujung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apgujung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.