We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free ice cream sandwiches!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cook

Cook
825 Washington Street, Newton, MA 02460
(617) 964-2665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 228 Restaurants in Newton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gluten free ice cream sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went here for Sunday brunch, mostly because it had a gluten free house made corned beef hash, which one family member really likes. And it turned out to be excellent. The apple compote on the pancakes tasted very much like more, and the eggs Benedict with salmon was cooked perfectly. But the draw was really the gluten free ice cream sandwiches, made with chocolate chip cookies and served with a fudge sauce. From the way they disappeared, I would guess they were very good. Not that I even got a chance to try one ...

The restaurant itself is pretty interesting. It is small yet the high ceilings make it feel very spacious. The waitstaff was uniformly excellent. They were helpful with the menu, and attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Really enjoyed Tryst in Arlington (same owner), but disappointed with Cook. It was very loud, overpriced, and the food was average. We went soon after they opened, and did ask for feedback, so hopefully it will improve with time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Save room for the banana tart !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the moment we walked in, to the moment we left, this was a culinary delight. Add in the incredibly attentive service and you have a 5 star experience. A packed restaurant on a Tuesday night speaks highly of this new gem. The kale salad was absolutely delicious, as was the Faroe Island salmon. But what truly blew us away was the banana tart we shared (fought over). It was FABULOUS! We were served by numerous very polite servers, with special kudos to Big John - who steered us to dessert. We will be back very soon - that is, when we're not at Tryst!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but kind of pricey for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Delicious food and great atmosphere with easy street parking and reservations (even for brunch). It was a little pricey for what you get, but worth it. I had the salmon eggs benedict and it was about $15. Would go again for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Meh..lots better out there around here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped by for brunch last Saturday. The place was about 1/2 filled when we arrived and while it was loud, we could still talk across the table. There are two-storey high ceilings, wooden floors, and the bar area (fitted with three large televisions) isn't separated from the eating area: no visible attempt at managing the sound. The walls are an unprepossessing grey with a dab of black here and there..nothing really to look at other than some large writing on part of one wall. We had the Cobb salad (good portion, great blue cheese) and the Pumpkin French Toast (large portion, huge amount of whipped flavoured butter atop). While we were eating the place became almost full and we couldn't talk across the table: the seating is close together, two sports games on the three TVs and several families with multiple kids under four (all nice kids, but still under four) contributed a lot to the din. After we got our food, that seemed to end the service. We flagged someone down finally to refill drinks, then to get a check, but got tired of waiting for the check/credit card to be collected so took our things and went to the maitre d', where we waited five minutes for them to sort out computer issues. If this place were around the corner from us, we might try it again, but it's not, so we probably won't. There's other diners/pubs in Newton with better sound control, more interesting decoration, better service, and as good or better food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook also viewed

 

Been to Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.