We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food for Lunch but Service Needs to be Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
250 Boylston St, Newton, MA 02467
617-928-1400
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 225 restaurants in Newton
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Langley Road
Description: You'll quickly see why The Boston Globe proclaimed “we've never been happier in our lives,” after an evening at The Capital Grille. Drawing from its New England roots, The Capital Grille’s relaxed elegance and style have become a trademark of the Boston area. Join us just east of the Atrium Mall and a million miles fromthe ordinary.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food for Lunch but Service Needs to be Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been here many times for dinner and even a private function but on this occasion we came for lunch. It was surprisingly busy because they have been promoting their luncheon specials. We both had one of the plate specials. My wife had the Field Green Salad starter with the Lobster Roll and the Roasted Butternut Squash w/Cranberry Pear Chutney Plate. The plate was very good with tasty Lobster chunks, but the Squash was very salty. I had a delicious creamy cup of Clam Chowder followed by the Sea Scallops with small sweet and sour tomatoes and cous cous. The Scallops were tasty and also delicious but the cous cous were marginally salty. I had also asked for the French Green Beans as a side, but our server brought us French Fried Potatoes instead. If the waitress was more visible during the service, I would have corrected the error. In fact, the service at our table was spotty at best, but based on the comments at adjacent tables, this appeared to be the norm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    61
    37
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Perfect every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Capital Grille has locations all around the country. The food is excellent and service tops. I have been to this location a number of times and the food is perfectly prepared to your specifications. The steaks are tender and cooked properly. Salads are large, and sides enough to share. This last visit one steak was a bit tough and in minutes an apology was given and a replacement sent to the table. No questions asked. Bread basket is plentiful with an assortment of warm breads. Nice pours for cocktails. A bit pricey, but worth the cost of the dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Valentines Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Maybe a day to avoid going out - as always the service and food was excellent; just had to wait for our table
Great Lobster Bisque (with lot's of Lobster in it) / Shrimp Cocktail and excellent Filet Mignon's - best of class
We will be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Meeting High Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Took my wife here for valentine's day.. Made an Opentable reservation ~3 weeks in advance, expecting top notch service. Love the complimentary valet aswell. We walk in and there are people everywhere! waiting in the bar, tables packed, this is a big night for these guys.. certainly putting a strain on any restaurant to deliver consistent, top notch service under pressure of a full load of people. As we belly up to the bar.. that first martini was fantastic. Its always great to have a quiet dinner away from screaming children but you want it to be good quality drinks and food. We sat down within 15mins of our reservation time. I had the surf and turf (go big or go home, right?) and my wife had the tuna (which was a huge, beautiful cut). The staff is very well trained and overall this place delivered in the most extreme environment!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for celebrations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I went here to celebrate our engagement. It was my first time here and it was worth the wait. The food was delicious and the service was spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.