We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmstead Table

Farmstead Table
71 Union St., Newton, MA 02459
617-928-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Farmstead Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 228 Restaurants in Newton
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Across from the Newton Centre stop on the D line
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a wonderful evening here, and the food was ok - just not as memorable as I hoped it would be. My fish was a tad over cooked and too dry. The rhubarb tart was delish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“good food, nice place, but not stellar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We'd come back. Hamburger was tasty, fries a little limp. Nice atmosphere, good service. Chicken sandwich was also good but a bit salty.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, if you have the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food is delicious, and imaginative, prepared with care. Service is very friendly, and the ambiance is lovely, but it will take you a fair bit of time to get through dinner - don't go if you are in any kind of rush. The popovers are deservedly popular, and the rest of the dishes we've had are consistently high quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We've had three dinners here and each time was great in every aspect. Interesting and really delicious food, attentive service, good wine choice, and a relief to not be in a loud, under lit restaurant, simple but sophisticated setting with good background music - all together a lovely atmosphere. How fortunate we are that Farmstead Table opened in Newton Centre.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant a real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Farmstead Table is an amazing restaurant . The food, service and ambiance is wonderful. We go often and every time we go we want to go back again, and we do. We tend to order the fish, but have had the beef, lamb and spatzle. The popover safe amazing, so order them at the beginning. The breads and desserts are made from scratch on promise. I am a white wine lover and have tried many of the wines and they are all wonderful. The wait staff and owners are warm and caring and really welcome you when you arrive and throughout your meal. We cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. It is a real gem on the heart of newton centre. Great restaurant and meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmstead Table also viewed

 

Been to Farmstead Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmstead Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.