We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Sea Foods - Chestnut Hill

Legal Sea Foods - Chestnut Hill
43 Boylston Street, The Street Chestnut Hill, Newton, MA 02467
+1 617-277-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods - Chestnut Hill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 228 Restaurants in Newton
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 9 and Hammond Street
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish. One of our first restaurants and still a popular lure, we are located on Route 9 in the Chestnut Hill Shopping Center. We are still keeping things fresh at our bar, our open dining room and in our take-out counter and Fish Market. Legal Sea Foods has long proven that a consistent, high quality dining experience never goes out of style. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there’s no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker. We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Boston Phoenix, 2009) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Slow service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Sunday lunch at Chestnut Hill Legal Seafood. Four family members had clam chowder which was excellent. Bread - outstanding. Anna's baked scrod lunch was great. Bluefish excellent. However we did not want or expect a 1 hour and 20 minute lunch!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    42
    31
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
roatan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Skip the fried clams and the chocolate mouse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for dinner with my family and we could have had fried clams at howard johnsons and had a better meal with better value. The chocolate mouse dessert was horrifying. Thank goodness our waitress was excellent. The spicy fish and chips was good and the crab cakes were good. But legal is not the quality it used to be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recently had lunch for a team event at Legal Sea Foods in Chestnut Hill. First and foremost the service was outstanding. Everyone on the staff was extremely helpful, prompt and professional. The food was fantastic across the board, I have always enjoyed this chains food and the quality is always top notch, particularly at this location.

It was a fantastic place for a team lunch, we had a private dining room off to the side allowing everyone to eat together, talk and have a great time. Would definitely recommend !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Better than some of their other locations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I reviewed the Braintree unit last year. It was pretty poor. This one is (or was) their flagship location.
Portions are large, service was excellent, food is average, and prices are somewhat high. We have scores and scores of seafood places in the Greater Boston area that compare very favorably and in many cases outshine Legal Seafood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Way overrated--this location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Server went from efficient when we arrived to AWOL when it got busy ,
Nutty Salmon did not taste especially fresh or flavorful. The same dish at Copley
Legal's is consistently excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods - Chestnut Hill also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods - Chestnut Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legal Sea Foods - Chestnut Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.