We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place, Great Pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Hara's Food & Spirits

O'Hara's Food & Spirits
1185 Walnut St, Newton, MA 02461-1240
(617) 965-6785
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 228 Restaurants in Newton
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Casual Pub Dining, delicious food. and the pizza is delish! Be prepared to wait for a table at times...but, a line means it's a great place to eat!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    54
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Helpful Owner, Tasty Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Found this bar as heard it was going to show a Football match i wanted to watch whilst in Boston. The owner happily put the game on for me. Grabbed a burger whilst I watched and was surprised how fresh and tasty it was given I thought I was just in a standard Irish Bar.

If I am back in Boston, I would def head back here for lunch again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CONVENIENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Large menu something for everyone and an easy walk from Village B & B. Recently opened for Sunday breakfast and lunch

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good food, crowded on Sat at 5pm - wait for table with kids not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I previously reviewed O’Hara’s in August 2011. Went for dinner at 5 pm on an October (2012) Saturday – 4 adults & 2 young (3 & 6 y.o.) children. We had to wait 25 minutes to get a table. That was not great with the children – they were anxious and the waiting area surrounds the bar. They did NOT stay still. However once we were seated the service was excellent and there was a wide food selection- all of it reasonably priced (I was the grandfather- payer of the check, so I was happy with that!). The meals were served quickly, the food was good, and everyone liked their meals – including the two children who had chicken fingers. I had pan–seared haddock; the other adults had chicken dishes (pot pie, & a pasta dish) and a steak. All were happy with the meals. The restaurant was noisy and certainly crowded. When we left about 6:30 pm the waiting line was very long. A suggestion, go early if a Saturday or go on another night if you do not like crowds and waiting. I rate it a “4” based on quality and price of food; I would give it a “3” based on wait times and atmosphere for eating

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal - great hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had 2 meals at O'Hara's while we were staying at the Needham Sheraton. It was a short drive from the hotel, but well worth it. Our first night I thoroughly enjoyed the Haddock O'Hara which was served with a side of squash. The second evening I had a Chicken and Asparagus dish which was also very delicious. The restaurant was very busy both evenings and has a pub atmosphere. Our waitresses were very friendly and attentive and offered suggestions for our meal, our drinks and added some local attractions information to the conversation as well. On our first evening we enjoyed meeting one of the owners who explained to us the expansion they have planned, the second location they operate and really made us feel welcome in the restauarant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Hara's Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to O'Hara's Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Hara's Food & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.