We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, not great, but quite nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
47 Boylston Street, Newton, MA 02467
(617) 916-5413
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cottage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 203 Restaurants in Newton
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hammond Parkway
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice, not great, but quite nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time eating here, first lunch and now dinner. Pleasant dining room and the noise was not bad. As noted in another review, there seemed to be an older crowd. Service was efficient and friendly. I had the large Maine lobster Cobb salad. Very nicely presented, very fresh greens, large hunk of blue cheeses and decent amount of lobster. A good choice. My husband had the ribs which were nicely dry with a good smokey flavor. One of our friends had the chicken piccata which he enjoyed. The only not quite up to it was our friends' steak tips. The presentation looked thrown together and the tips varied in their level of doneness from very rare to almost well done. She finished it, but found it disappointing. All in all, a pleasant experience, not mind blowing, but good

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    51
    25
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Decent meal, friendly efficient service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I had the fish tacos. My dinner companion had steak and fries. We shared a goat cheese salad. All our food was good. Not amazing, but solid. One thing we noticed about this restaurant is that it seems to attract an older crowd. Nice clean atmosphere and friendly efficient service. A solid option if you're shopping at Chestnut Hill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Basic food in a light airy setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The restaurant is well lit and located, but the food is uninventive and uninspiring. A typical suburban mainstay where you can meet friends and get a decent bite.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

overpriced. portions con to shrink. food is good . mahi mahi fish tacos are good. nice interior.

service is good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly and consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We take my elderly mother-in-law here. Easy access and a menu that covers all of our tastes. The decor is bland, and it has the feel of a place that caters to families and the elderly, but the menu offers unexpected creativity, and the quality has been consistently good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.